Anaheim II 450 Supercross Results 2014

January 18, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Two Two Motorsports’ Chad Reed brought the crowd at Angel Stadium to its feet during the final laps of the 450 SX race in Anaheim, passing Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart for the lead and taking his first win of the 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series. Red Bull KTM’s Ken Rozcen trailed Stewart for the final step on the podium.

Off the start, Reed wasn’t an apparent contender for the win. Roczen’s teammate, Ryan Dungey, scored the holeshot followed by Stewart, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and Roczen. Reed settled into fifth during the opening lap while Dungey worked to stretch his lead on the field. Stewart didn’t give the KTM rider much breathing room though and held close, meanwhile behind the two front-runners Roczen pushed past RV for third-place. Reed stayed well within reach of Roczen and RV, but didn’t make any moves during the initial laps.

The Australian rider’s steady strategy began to pay off when Dungey washed out the front as the race reached its mid-point. Dungey fell back to sixth, handing the lead to Stewart and second to Roczen, with RV and Reed following.

Villopoto turned up the jets soon after Dungey’s crash, giving Roczen plenty of pressure before making the pass for second-place with 10 laps remaining. The defending Supercross champ and current points leader then set to reeling in Stewart. After four laps RV was within striking distance but while trying to make the pass he made contact with Stewart’s machine and went down. The Kawasaki ace was able to recover in fifth, but was unable to make up the ground lost after his off.

At this point, Stewart maintained the lead with Roczen in second and Reed in third. Reed upped the pace during the final laps, passing Roczen with four left on the board and one lap later he had caught up to Stewart. Stewart held off the Kawasaki rider briefly but Reed was on another level, making the pass with two laps to go and immediately building a multi-second lead over JS7. Reed held easily through the final lap for the win.

JGRMX’s Justin Brayton was steady and consistent throughout the race and finished fourth. Villopoto crossed the line in fifth followed by Dungey. KTM’s Dungey battled to make up ground right to the finish, attempting a pass on RV just before the line which took both riders down. They were able to get up quickly and hold position.’s Weston Peick finished seventh followed by RCH Suzuki’s Josh Hill in eighth. BTO Sports’ Andrew Short finished ninth with RV’s teammate, Jake Weimer, rounding out the top-10.

It was a bad night for Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia, who got hung up mid-pack after a bad start. He pushed into the top-seven during the race, but then slipped back in the ranks before the finish, ultimately landing in 11th.

The title battle is close between the top-five riders. Roczen moves back into the points lead ahead of Villopoto, who is
one point adrift of the top-spot. Reed and Dungey are tied three points behind Roczen while Brayton sits fifth, five points behind the German rider. Stewart is sixth, owing to a disappointing opening round performance while Barcia sits seventh.

Anaheim II 450 Supercross Results 2014
1. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
2. James Stewart (Suzuki)
3. Ken Roczen (KTM)
4. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
5. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
6. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
7. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
8. Josh Hill (Suzuki)
9. Andrew Short (KTM)
10. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
11. Justin Barcia (Honda)
12. Wil Hahn (Honda)
13. Ivan Tedesco (KTM)
14. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
15. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)

450 Supercross Points 2014
1. Ken Roczen, 60
2. Ryan Villopoto, 59
3. Chad Reed, 57
4. Ryan Dungey, 57
5. Justin Brayton, 55
6. James Stewart, 44
7. Justin Barcia, 42
8. Andrew Short, 38
9. Wil Hahn, 30
10. Broc Tickle, 26