Atlanta 250 Supercross Results 2014

February 22, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Martin Davalos in the first round of the 250 SX East division in Dallas.
Martin Davalos put in a commanding run in Atlanta for his first ever 250 Supercross East race win.

Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos scored his first 250 SX East Monster Energy AMA Supercross win in Atlanta. Davalos’ teammate, Adam Cianciarulo, finishedin second followed by GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle in third.

Cianciarulo was fastest around the first turn, earning the holeshot, but Davalos quickly moved past and from there built a gap that stretched to over five seconds at one point. Cianciarulo began to cut the time down near the end of the race, but was unable to get close enough to challenge for the win.

“I am just so happy to be able to give this win to my team,” said Davalos. “There have been so many people that have supported me, and this feels great.”

Early on Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez challenged for podium position with Factory Metal Works’ Vince Friese, but then Rodriguez went down with 10 laps remaining. Friese slipped back in the ranks as well as Bogle and his teammate Blake Wharton charged up to third and fourth position, respectively.

Davalos’ teammate, Blake Baggett finished fifth after an impressive charge, moving up from outside the top-10 through the opening laps. Friese finished in sixth followed by Riverside Harley-Davidson’s James Decotis in seventh.

Cianciarulo remains the overall leader, but has Davalos close behind in second just two points back. Baggett sits third followed by Bogle in fourth.

Atlanta 250 Supercross Results 2014
1. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki)
2. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki)
3. Justin Bogle (Honda)
4. Blake Wharton (Honda)
5. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki)
6. Vince Friese (Honda)
7. James Decotis (Honda)
8. Cole Thompson (KTM)
9. Matt Lemoine (Kawasaki)
10. Mitchell Oldenburg (Honda)
11. Jesse Wentland (Honda)
12. Kyle Cunningham (Honda)
13. AJ Catanzaro (Honda)
14. Justin Starling (Honda)
15. Gannon Audette (Kawasaki)

250 SX East Championship Points 2014
1. Adam Cianciarulo, 47
2. Martin Davalos, 45
3. Blake Baggett, 38
4. Justin Bogle, 36
5. Vince Friese, 33
6. Blake Wharton, 32
7. Cole Thompson, 28
8. Kyle Cunningham, 22
9. Mitchell Oldenburg, 22
10. James Decotis, 20


Facebook comments