San Diego 450 Supercross Results 2014

February 8, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart scored his first 450 SX win of the 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Season in San Diego. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto took second followed by Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen in third.

BTO KTM’s Andrew Short took the holeshot, but was quickly dispatched by Stewart and Villopoto as the two pushed to the front. Bubba faced serious pressure from the defending Supercross champion throughout the race, but Villopoto was never able to make a pass attempt stick. Stewart led all 20 laps of the race and finished just over one second ahead of RV.

While Stewart and Villopoto built a gap on the field out front, the battle for third-place was heated between Two Two Motorsports’ Chad Reed, Roczen and Roczen’s teammate, Ryan Dungey.

Reed was riding well once again and he moved past the Red Bull KTM riders into third during the opening laps. He remained in podium position until the race reached mid-point and then Roczen made a move past for third position. Reed held close through the latter portion of the contest but then made contact with Roczen on the final lap, resulting in a hard crash for Reed and 12th-place finish. Dungey ended the night in fourth.

Fly Racing’s Weston Peick put in a notable performance, slicing through the pack from outside the top-10 early on to finish fifth. He was trailed by Team Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia in sixth and GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac in seventh.

Villopoto holds on to his points lead, now nine points ahead of Roczen, who moves into second. Reed drops to third overall and is now followed by Stewart in fourth.

San Diego 450 Supercross Results 2014
1. James Stewart (Suzuki)
2. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
3. Ken Roczen (KTM)
4. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
5. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
6. Justin Barcia (Honda)
7. Eli Tomac (Honda)
8. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
9. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
10. Andrew Short (KTM)
11. Josh Hill (Suzuki)
12. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
13. Ivan Tedesco (KTM)
14. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
15. Matt Goerke (KTM)

450 Supercross Points 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto, 126
2. Ken Roczen, 117
3. Chad Reed, 111
4. James Stewart, 105
5. Justin Brayton, 98
6. Ryan Dungey, 94
7. Justin Barcia, 89
8. Andrew Short, 72
9. Weston Peick, 53
10. Wil Hahn, 52