AMA Harley-Davidson Daytona Results 2014

March 14, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

KWR Millennium Technologies’ Kyle Wyman took the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson XR1200 race win in the 2014 season opener at Daytona. Josh Chisum Racing’s Tyler O’Hara finished in second followed by Folsom Harley-Davidson’s Gage McAllister in third.

Wyman was quick off the start but the lead pack quickly bunched together and positions swapped numerous times through the seven-lap contest. Fresh from earning pole position in the 2014 Daytona 200, Ruthless Racing’s Danny Eslick charged through the pack early on and set himself as a contender for the XR1200 win.

The Oklahoman tried to pull a gap on the field during the final lap to avoid getting passed in the draft of the final turn, but it wasn’t enough and Wyman edged ahead of the pack by a slim six-hundredths of a second for the win. O’Hara and McAllister both spent stints in the lead position during the race as well but were unable to surpass Wyman at the checkers.

Aerostar Global’s Nick Hansen finished fourth followed by Suburban Harley-Davidson’s Ben Carlson in fifth. OPR’s Eric Stump took sixth ahead of Eslick, who dropped from first to seventh as the lead gathered together just before the finish line.

Defending AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson XR1200 champion Steve Rapp qualified on pole but suffered issues mid-race and finished in 24th.

AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson XR1200 Daytona Results 2014
1. Kyle Wyman
2. Tyler O’Hara
3. Gage McAllister
4. Nick Hansen
5. Ben Carlson
6. Eric Stump
7. Danny Eslick
8. Hayden Schultz
9. Michael Barnes
10. Barrett Long

AMA Pro Harley-Davidson XR1200 Points 2014
1. Kyle Wyman, 30
2. Tyler O’Hara, 25
3. Gage McAllister, 21
4. Nick Hansen, 18
5. Ben Carlson, 16
6. Eric Stump, 15
7. Danny Eslick, 14
8. Hayden Schultz, 13
9. Michael Barnes, 12
10. Barrett Long, 11


Facebook comments