AMA SuperBike Daytona Race 2 Results 2014

March 15, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier scored his first AMA Pro SuperBike win in Race 2 at Daytona International Speedway. Yoshimura Suzuki’s Roger Hayden finished in second followed by his teammate, Martin Cardenas, in third.

Beaubier took the front in the opening turns, followed closely by Hayden, Monster Graves’ Josh Hayes and Cardenas. Hayes pushed past both Hayden and Beaubier the following lap for the lead, starting a back and forth battle that saw the four riders swap position numerous times over the 15-lap contest.

The battle continued until late in the contest when Hayes ran into a technical issue which forced him to pull out of the race line, resulting in a DNF for the Mississippi native.

Out front Beaubier and the Yoshimura Suzuki duo continued to fight for the front. Beaubier made a move into second-place during the final laps and held there until the final rotation, choosing to make use of the draft in the final turn to blow past Hayden for the win.

Hayden’s teammate, Chris Clark, prevailed in a battle with ADR Motorsports’ David Anthony and KTM’s Chris Fillmore to finish fourth. Anthony crossed the line in fifth while Fillmore finished sixth.

Beaubier leads the overall SuperBike points standings followed by Hayden, who sits second one point adrift of the leader. Clark is third followed by Anthony in fourth and Hayes in fifth.

AMA SuperBike Daytona Race 2 Results 2014
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
3. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
4. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
5. David Anthony (Suzuki)
6. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
7. Diego Pierluigi (Suzuki)
8. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
9. Cory West (EBR)
10. Chirs Ulrich (Honda)
11. Huntley Nash (Kawasaki)
12. Stefano Mesa (Kawasaki)
13. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha)
14. Reese Wacker (Suzuki)
15. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)

AMA SuperBike Points 2014
1. Cameron Beaubier, 51
2. Roger Hayden, 50
3. Chris Clark, 36
4. David Anthony, 32
5. Josh Hayes, 30
6. Martin Cardenas, 30
7. Chris Fillmore, 30
8. Diego Pierluigi, 28
9. Taylor Knapp, 26
10. Cory West, 24


Facebook comments