AMA SuperSport Daytona Race 1 Results 2014

March 14, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Corey Alexander
Corey Alexander starts the 2014 AMA Pro SuperSport season with a win in Race 1 in Daytona.

Celtic Racing’s Corey Alexander took the top step in AMA Pro SuperSport Race 1 at Daytona. Alexander’s teammate, Wyatt Farris, prevailed in a heated battle with a number of other riders to take second followed by Houston Superbikes’ Dustin Dominguez in third.

The start of the opening SuperSport race of 2014 was delayed when a rider went down in the chicane during the sighting lap. Once the track was all clear Alexander, starting from pole position, ran out to the lead through the opening turns. The Suzuki enjoyed a gap on the field by the end of Lap 1, which by the end of the race had grown to more than seven seconds.

The battle for second, however, was spirited as Farris and Hayden Gillim battled with Cody Wyman, Mar Del Racing’s Mark Miller Jr., D&D Cycles’ Miles Thornton and others for the runner-up position. Dominguez worked his way through the field and by mid-race was fully engaged in the fight for podium position.

During the latter portion of the contest Gillim, Dominguez and Farris managed to hold the rest of the contenders back until the final laps when Gillim fell back in the ranks to seventh as others drafted past.

Wyman edged ahead of the competition to take fourth, followed closely by’s Armando Ferrer in fifth and Thornton in sixth.

AMA Pro SuperSport Daytona Race 1 Results 2014
1. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
2. Wyatt Farris (Suzuki)
3. Dustin Dominguez (Yamaha)
4. Cody Wyman (Suzuki)
5. Armando Ferrer (Yamaha)
6. Miles Thornton (Triumph)
7. Hayden Gillim (Suzuki)
8. Jason Aguilar (Yamaha)
9. Mark Miller Jr. (Yamaha)
10. Andre Ochs (Yamaha)
11. Mario Alverez (Yamaha)
12. JC Camacho (Yamaha)
13. Erick Sanchez (Yamaha)
14. Kaleb De Keyrel (Yamaha)
15. Felipe MacLean (Yamaha)


Facebook comments