Daytona 200 Results 2014

March 15, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Riders Discount Racing’s Danny Eslick made history in the 2014 Daytona 200, giving Triumph its first D200 win since Gary Nixon achieved the feat in 1967. RoadRace Factory’s Jake Gagne trailed in second-place followed by’s Jake Lewis in third.

Eslick was in the groove early on, having scored pole position for the 73rd running of the Daytona 200 the previous day. He wasted no time once the race was underway, taking the lead in the opening laps followed by Yamaha Extended Service’s Garrett Gerloff, Lewis, Castrol Triumph’s Jason DiSalvo and a number of other contenders.

Racing was aggressive in the laps leading up to the first pit, with the top-nine riders swapping position numerous times. Yamahlube Westby Racing’s Dane Westby enjoyed stints at the front, as did Gagne’s teammate, Tomas Puerta, Gerloff and others but Eslick was determined, never letting any rider spend much time in the lead position. Puerta’s hopes of a win were cut short after 15 laps when his bike malfunctioned. He rejoined later but lost ample time getting his machine back to the pits for repair.

Westby and Gerloff were some of the first to pit, Gagne followed soon after but Eslick held off until the 21st lap. The Triumph rider was able to quickly regain the lead after his stop, joining a four-rider lead group comprised of himself, Westby, Gagne and DiSalvo.

Gerloff had a brief off mid-race, putting him outside reach of the win and then later in the contest DiSalvo and Westby had a nasty spill entering Turn 1. Westby was trying to hold the number-two position but carried too much speed into the corner and ended up flying over the bars and sliding into an airfence. DiSalvo was trailing close behind in third and in an attempt to avoid Westby grabbed too much brake and went off as well.

Eslick and Gagne were left to battle for the win but after the second pit the two were no longer in head-to-head competition on track and Eslick managed to keep a consistently fast pace to the checkers. Lewis was more than half a minute behind the leader at the line.

“It’s awesome,” Eslick said. “I’ve gotten the pole before. My very first 200 I got fourth. There’s been a lot of hard work and a lot of years have passed by to get this victory. It means a lot. This is one of the biggest races in the world. Obviously the biggest one I’ve ever won. Laguna Seca was pretty special a couple of years ago. But anything involved with Daytona is pretty incredible. This trophy is going to sit up loud and proud right in the middle of my house.” 

Latus Motors’ Bobby Fong finished in fourth followed by Gerloff in fifth. Kyle Wyman finished in sixth with Profile Racing’s Luke Stapleford in seventh. GEICO Motorcycle’s Jake Zemke took eighth with Inotherm Racing’s Bostjan Skubic and D&D Cycles’ Steve Rapp taking ninth and 10th respectively.

Newcomer to the SportBike class, M4’s Joe Roberts, earned 11th followed by 2012 Daytona 200 winner Joey Pascarella of BP Racing in 12th.

MPH Racing’s Melissa Paris finished 27th and DiSalvo’s teammate, Elena Myers, took 29th.

AMA Pro Racing has uploaded the full 2014 Daytona 200 race to its YouTube page. Video of the event is included below.

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Daytona 200 Results 2014
1. Danny Eslick (Triumph)
2. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
3. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
4. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
5. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
6. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha)
7. Luke Stapleford (Triumph)
8. Jake Zemke (Honda)
9. Bostjan Skubic (Yamaha)
10. Steve Rapp (Triumph)
11. Joe Roberts (Honda)
12. Joey Pascarella (Yamaha)
13. Luke Mossey (Yamaha)
14. Fernando Amantini (Yamaha)
15. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)
16. Benny Solis (Honda)
17. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
18. Eric Pinson (Yamaha)
19. Frank Babuska (Suzuki)
20. Chad Lewin (Yamaha)

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Points 2014
1. Danny Eslick, 60
2. Jake Lewis, 42
3. Garrett Gerloff, 41
4. Jake Gagne, 40
5. Jason DiSalvo, 36
6. Dane Westby, 32 
7. JD Beach, 28
8. Bobby Fong, 27
9. Luke Stapleford, 26
10. Kyle Wyman, 23


Facebook comments