Daytona 450 Supercross Results 2014

March 8, 2014
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto extended his Supercross points lead with a dominating victory at Daytona. The reigning Supercross champ cruised in the 20-lap main event, followed by the KTM duo of Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey. Suzuki’s Broc Tickle took fourth with KTM’s Andrew Short rounding out the top five.

Kawasaki rider Dean Wilson, claimed the Daytona holeshot, but Villopoto soon moved up to the front. The opening laps proved problematic for couple riders, as holeshot specialist Mike Alessi went down in the first corner. Meanwhile James Stewart was immediately knocked out of contention as the Yoshimura Suzuki rider and Dallas SX winner was hindered with bike issues – eventually pulling in.

RV didn’t need any extra help at the front and opened up a comfortable gap on Wilson, who would soon be harried by Dungey. As the KTM ace worked on tracking down the second-place Kawasaki rider, his teammate Roczen started to work up through the field, picking past Tickle and was soon trailing Dungey.

Villopoto enjoyed a large enough lead that he could survive a momentary get-off with seven to go, and still keep a clear advantage. As Villopoto checked out the battle for the final rostrum spots looked to be a three-way scrap between Wilson and the two KTMs. The KX rider fended off the orange brigade for much of the race, but with five to go the KaTooMs got the better of Wilson.


The impressive Roczen made his way around Dungey for the runner-up spot as the laps wound down. As for Wilson, the Kawasaki rider began to fade and dropped down in the ranks. After the KTMs got past, he was overtaken by Tickle, Short and eventually Honda’s Wil Hahn. Wilson would go on to finish seventh.

At the checkers Villopoto was more than 12 seconds up on Roczen, who was himself ahead of Dungey by four seconds. With the win Villopoto goes up 28 points on Dungey, with Roczen closing the gap on his teammate to only one point.

Daytona 450 Supercross Results 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
4. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
5. Andrew Short (KTM)
6. Wil Hahn (Honda)
7. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)
8. Matt Goerke (KTM)
9. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
10. Josh Grant (Yamaha)

450 SX Championship Points 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto, 209
2. Ryan Dungey, 181
3. Ken Roczen, 180
4. James Stewart, 157
5. Justin Brayton, 155
6. Andrew Short, 125
7. Justin Barcia, 118
8. Chad Reed, 111
9. Broc Tickle, 111
10. Wil Hahn, 108

2014 Supercross Season Photos

Dean Wilson rode for Two Two Motorsports as fill-in for Chad Reed in Indianapolis and finished 10th. Ken Roczen was making great headway after a pile-up off the start left him near the back of the pack  but then a hard crash gave him a DNF in Indianapolis. Ryan Dungey  5  managed to avoid an early pile up  putting him in prime position to battle for the lead.


Facebook comments