DiSalvo and Myers to Apex Mfg AMA Team

March 7, 2014
Courtesy of Triumph Motorcycles
Richard Harris’ Apex Manufacturing / Sportbike Track Time AMA Pro Road Racing team is expanding as Daytona 200 winner Jason DiSalvo joins Elena Myers for the 2014 Daytona SportBike season. The duo’s first race as teammates on their Castrol/Triumph Daytona 675Rs is the prestigious Daytona 200 at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, March 15.

DiSalvo, a native of Batavia, New York, won the Daytona 200 in 2011. Myers, of Discovery Bay, California, is the first woman to win a professional motorsports event of any kind at Daytona International Speedway.

“It would be huge to get another Daytona 200 victory,” said DiSalvo. “Our pre-season testing’s going well and Richard and I have a lot of experience working together through Sportbike Track Time and Speed Academy. We’re going to be a very strong team this year.”

Team owner Richard Harris will serve as crew chief for DiSalvo while veteran crew chief and Speed Academy co-owner Brian Stokes will be crew chief for Myers.

“I can’t wait to hit the high banks of Daytona,” said Myers. “It’s super cool that Jason is joining the team. Getting to know everyone through Sportbike Track Time and Speed Academy track day weekends is incredible. We’ve become a big family. It’s an amazing experience.”

“Our team came together out of some very special circumstances hosting motorcycle track days,” said Harris. “Now we’re blending the camaraderie and fun of track day weekends with the high level of technical expertise needed to be competitive in pro racing. We hope that will be evident both on the race track and with everyone who participates in our track day weekends.”

Team sponsors include Castrol, Apex Mfg., Sportbike Track Time, Triumph, GE Capital, FreedomRoad Financial, Lucky Brand, Arai, Alpinestars, DynoJet, Galfer, Hanshaw Racing Engines, Hindel, and Pilot.

Follow Richard Harris on Facebook.com/ApexMfg or Facebook.com/SportbikeTrackTime and on Twitter @ApexMfg or @SBTrackTime.

Follow Jason DiSalvo on Facebook.com/JasonDiSalvo40 and on Twitter @DiSalvo40.

Follow Elena Myers on Facebook.com/ElenaMyers21 and on Twitter @ElenaMyers21.


Facebook comments