St. Louis 450 Supercross Results 2014

March 29, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart scored his third consecutive win of the 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season in St. Louis. Current series points leader Ryan Villopoto of Monster Energy Kawasaki finished in second followed by Team Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia in third.

Smartop’s Mike Alessi scored the holeshot but quickly slipped to second as RV pushed to the front. Barcia trailed the Suzuki rider followed by Stewart and JGRMX’s Justin Brayton. Stewart moved past Barcia in the opening laps and quickly made it ahead of Alessi as well. Barcia did the same soon after, as did a handful of other riders as Alessi dropped down to 12th by the finish.

RV was beginning to stretch a gap on the field before Stewart made it to second-place, but then Bubba started reeling-in the defending Supercross champion. A small mistake by Villopoto just after the half-way point allowed Stewart to move ahead. Fom there JS7 put more than two seconds between himself and RV before the finish.

Behind, Barcia was out of reach of the leaders followed by Brayton and Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen. Brayton, Roczen and Roczen’s teammate, Ryan Dungey, stayed in close quarters during the latter portion of the race but on the final lap Dungey and Brayton went down, leaving Dungey to finish ninth and Brayton to take 10th.

Dungey and Brayton’s late off allowed Barcia’s newly returned teammate, Trey Canard, to rocket up to fifth-place just before the finish in his first event of the 2014 season. Also returned from injury, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac, trailed Canard in sixth.

St. Louis 450 Supercross Results 2014
1. James Stewart (Suzuki)
2. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
3. Justin Barcia (Honda)
4. Ken Roczen (KTM)
5. Trey Canard (Honda)
6. Eli Tomac (Honda)
7. Josh Hill (Suzuki)
8. Andrew Short (KTM)
9. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
10. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
11. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
12. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
13. Chris Blose (Honda)
14. Jimmy Albertson (Honda)
15. Cody Gilmore (Kawasaki)
16. Ben Lamay (Yamaha)
17. Nick Schmidt (Honda)
18. Ronnie Stewart (Suzuki)
19. Killian Rusk (Yamaha)
20. Tevin Tapia (Suzuki)
21. Augie Lieber (Suzuki)
22. Weston Peick (Suzuki)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto, 268
2. Ryan Dungey, 233
3. James Stewart, 232
4. Ken Roczen, 215
5. Justin Brayton, 196
6. Justin Barcia, 176
7. Andrew Short, 166
8. Broc Tickle, 126
9. Wil Hahn, 122
10. Chad Reed, 111

2014 Supercross Season Photos

Bubba earned the 450 SX checkers in Detroit after a strong start gave him the early lead. 450s off the line in Indianapolis. Indianapolis 450 SX podium with Ryan Dungey  center  in first  Eli Tomac  left  in second and Cole Seely  right  in third.