Houston 450 Supercross Results 2014

April 5, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto took his fourth win of the year in Houston, beating Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia by over 13 seconds at the checkers. Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen rounded out the podium.

A pile-up off the start claimed a number of riders, such as JGRMX’s Josh Grant and Motosport.com’s Weston Peick, as well as Roczen’s teammate, Ryan Dungey. Villopoto ran to the head of the pack without issue however, scoring the holeshot followed by Barcia, Roczen and Barcia’s teammate, Trey Canard.

Running order remained steady out front as RV stretched out his lead over the course of the race.

“It was awesome tonight considering everything we had to overcome,” said Villopoto. “With the start the way it was, I don’t think I could have asked for anything more and it made my life easy. The track was tough, but our Kawasaki was able to handle everything.”

Barcia, Roczen and Canard were unchallenged as well. Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart moved past BTO Sports’ Andrew Short for fifth mid-race while Dungey, who had dropped to 18th after the early race pile-up, battled his way up the ranks to finish seventh.

Smartop’s Mike Alessi took eighth ahead of GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac in ninth and N-Fab’s Chris Blose in 10th.

Villopoto retains the points lead and Stewart moved ahead of Dungey for second overall. Roczen sits fourth followed by Barcia in fifth.

Houston 450 Supercross Results 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Justin Barcia (Honda)
3. Ken Roczen (KTM)
4. Trey Canard (Honda)
5. James Stewart (Suzuki)
6. Andrew Short (KTM)
7. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
8. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
9. Eli Tomac (Honda)
10. Chris Blose (Honda)
11. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
12. Josh Hill (Suzuki)
13. Nick Schmidt (Honda)
14. Cody Gilmore (Kawasaki)
15. James Decotis (Honda)
16. Ronnie Stewart (Suzuki)
17. Jimmy Albertson (Honda)
18. Kyle Regal (Honda)
19. Ben Lamay (Yamaha)
20. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
21. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
22. Vince Friese (Honda)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto, 293
2. James Stewart, 248
3. Ryan Dungey, 247
4. Ken Roczen, 235
5. Justin Barcia, 198
6. Justin Brayton, 196
7. Andrew Short, 181
8. Broc Tickle, 126
9. Wil Hahn, 122
10. Josh Hill, 112


Facebook comments