World Superport Assen Results 2014

April 28, 2014
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Dutch rider Michael Van der Mark celebrated his first career Supersport victory with a win before his home crowd at Assen. The Pata Honda rider cruised to the checkers, followed by Kawasaki’s Florian Marino and MV Agusta’s Jules Cluzel.

Reigning Supersport champ Keenan Sofuoglu snagged holeshot to open the Assen contest, followed by fellow Kaweasaki rider Marino with Van der Mark running the first lap in third and followed by CIA Insurance Honda’s Jack Kennedy.


Van der Mark had the Kawasakis in his sights and charged into second on the first corner on Lap 2. The Honda rider darted inside of Marino, leaving Sofuoglu ahead. But Sofuoglu made a mistake, running wide and dropping down to sixth on Lap 3.

Up front Van der Mark ran unchallenged, with Marino holding second ahead of Kennedy. Van der Mark’s teammate, Lorenzo Zanetti, was fourth with MV Agusta’s Cluzel rounding out the top five.

Sofuoglu recovered to lead the pack battling for third, and by Lap 5 was looking to move up and catch the front two. In the second half of the race, the Turkish rider reeled in Marino as Van der Mark lapped comfortably up front before the home crowd.

Trailing Sofuoglu, eventually Cluzel moved ahead for the fourth-place position, with Kennedy having lowsided out of from contention. However, Cluzel was promoted up to the podium spot as Sofuoglu pulled off the racing line with technical issues to his Ninja.


Van der Mark was uncatchable up front, with Marino well behind in second. Cluzel held off Yamaha’s Kev Coughlan for third – with Van der Mark’s Pata Honda teammate, Zanetti, rounding out the top five.

The victory improved Van der Mark’s title hopes, now sitting second overall and only four points adrift of the leader, Marino. Coughlin is five points back, with Cluzel eight points behind the leader. Sofuoglu’s DNF is a terrible blow to his title defense, dropping him to seventh overall and 24 points behind Marino.

2014 World Supersport Assen Results:
1. Michael van der Mark (Honda)
2. Florian Marino (Kawasaki)
3. Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta)
4. Kev Coghlan (Yamaha)
5. Lorenzo Zanetti (Honda)
6. Roberto Rolfo (Kawasaki)
7. Roberto Tamburini (Kawasaki)
8. Raffaele De Rosa (Honda)
9. Patrick Jacobson (Kawasaki)
10. Kevin Wahr (Yamaha)

2014 World Supersport Championship Points:
1. Florian Marino, 49
2. Michael van der Mark, 45
3. Kev Coghlan, 44
4. Jules Cluzel, 41
5. Raffaele De Rosa, 34
6. Roberto Rolfo, 29
7. Kenan Sofuoglu, 25
8. Lorenzo Zanetti, 24
9. Roberto Rolfo, 19
10. Kevin Wahr, 16



Facebook comments