Arai Mountain Nationals Superbike Results 2014

May 26, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes took the race win in the third and final round of the 2014 GEICO Motorcycle Superbike Shootout at the Arai Mountain Nationals in Utah. With the victory at Miller Motorsports Park, Hayes clinched the 2014 Superbike Shootout Championship. ADR Motorsports’ David Anthony finished 12 seconds behind the Mississippi native in second-place followed by M4 Motorcycle Road Racing’s Chris Ulrich in third.

Hayes’ teammate, Cameron Beaubier, winner of the previous round at Sonoma, started from pole position and took the early lead. Hayes was right on his tail though and the two swapped position out front during the initial laps. Beaubier claimed the upper-hand for the first portion of the race, stretching a gap on his teammate of more than three seconds, but then Beaubier lost the front and went down. Hayes assumed the lead after his teammate’s spill and proceeded unchallenged to the checkers.

“Cameron was in front of me,” said Hayes afterward. “And I was trying to figure out what I needed to do to stay with him because he rides so well. I saw him tip over, and I feel really bad for him. This was his championship to win, and I’m sorry that it ended like that for him. But, I was happy that I was able to pick up the pieces for the team and get this victory and championship for our entire Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha crew. It’s really cool to win this first Superbike Shootout championship. I’ve enjoyed racing in this series, and it’s been great to see the fans come out to see us race.”

KTM/HMC’s Chris Fillmore, who was third-fastest in qualifying, also suffered an off during the race while lapping in podium position. Anthony capitalized on Beauber and Fillmore’s crashes, moving from fourth to second-place, as did Ulrich, who jumped up to third. Fillmore was able to remount and finish the competition, regaining fifth position by the finish behind BMW rider Marcel Irnie in fourth. Beaubier also tried to reenter the fray, but damage to his machine forced him to pit for repairs and left him in 14th by the end.

Suzuki rider Oleg Pinykh took sixth ahead of BMW pilot Michael Bradshaw in seventh. Daytona Anderson rode his GSX-R1000 to eighth-place ahead of ADR Motorsports’ Johnny Rock Page in ninth and Orange Construction Racing’s Matthew Orange in 10th.

After three races, Hayes amassed 61 points, finishing 14 ahead of Beaubier, who takes second in the championship. Anthony finished third overall ahead of Yoshimura Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas in fourth and Fillmore in fifth.

RaceFuelZ Pro Superbike Arai Mountain Nationals Results 2014
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. David Anthony (Suzuki)
3. Chris Ulrich (Honda)
4. Marcel Irnie (BMW)
5. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
6. Oleg Pianykh (Suzuki)
7. Michael Bradshaw (BMW)
8. Daytona Anderson (Suzuki)
9. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)
10. Matthew Orange (BMW)
11. Joy Higa (Suzuki)
12. Erik Posnieks (BMW)
13. Ryan Brand (BMW)
14. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
15. Peter deGraaf (Suzuki)
16. Kevin Dolan (Suzuki)
17. Jesse Sherstan (Suzuki)

GEICO Motorcycle Superbike Shootout Championship Points 2014
1. Josh Hayes, 61
2. Cameron Beauber, 47
3. David Anthony, 44
4. Martin Cardenas, 41
5. Chris Fillmore, 31
6. Chris Ulrich, 30
7. Roger Hayden, 24
8. Marcel Irnie, 19
9. Daytona Anderson, 18
10. Chris Clark, 17


Facebook comments