Arai Pacific Nationals Sportbike Results 2014

May 5, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamaha Extended Service’s Garrett Gerloff took the win in the Arai Pacific Nationals Dynojet Pro Sportbike race at Sonoma Raceway, beating Latus Motors Triumph’s Bobby Fong. Tuned Racing’s Bryce Prince rounded out the podium.

Gerloff started Round 2 of the 2014 GEICO Motorcycle Superbike Shootout from pole position, but didn’t move into the lead until mid-way through the race. The Yamaha ace held there until the final laps but then Fong turned on the heat and made a pass for the front with just a few laps remaining. Gerloff maintained position in second until the penultimate lap and then retaliated. From there Gerloff closed the door on Fong, posting his fastest lap of the race for the win.

Gerloff’s teammate, JD Beach, took fourth ahead of CM Motorsports’ Chad Lewin in fifth and his teammate, Michael Gilbert, in sixth. Triumph rider Thomas Montano took seventh followed by Stephen Rue in eighth.

Halfway through the race GEICO Motorcycle’s Jake Zemke was in contention for podium position, battling with M4 Sportbike’s Joe Roberts and Team H35’s Benny Solis. Zemke lost control of his Honda, however, and while attempting to evade the incident Roberts and Solis went down as well.

“It was unfortunate for the GEICO Motorcycle team,” said Zemke. “We were definitely looking at the podium this weekend. I guess we’ll just have to roll on to Utah and Miller Motorsports Park, take that momentum, and go forward.”

“I’m just a little bruised,” said Roberts. “I was running a good race and I thought I had a better pace than some of the guys in front of me and I was looking for someone to make a mistake and then take advantage. Coming out of Turn 3A, Jake Zemke got on the gas too hard and had a high-side. I checked up and lost the front trying to avoid him and another rider ran into me. It’s a big bummer because it is the closest we’ve been to the front yet. To crash isn’t great but we’re getting closer and battling for the lead and so there’s some positive, too.”

Arai Pacific Nationals Dynojet Pro Sportbike Results 2014
1. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
2. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
3. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
4. JD Beach (Yamaha)
5. Chad Lewin (Yamaha)
6. Michael Gilbert (Yamaha)
7. Thomas Montano (Triumph)
8. Stephen Rue (Honda)
9. Jason Catching (Suzuki)
10. Darren James (Yamaha)
11. Roi Holster (Yamaha)
12. Jason Aguilar (Yamaha)
13. Jake Zemke (Honda)
14. Joe Roberts (Honda)
15. Benny Solis Jr. (Yamaha)
16. Michael Barnes (MV Agusta)
17. David Christensen (Yamaha)
18. Mario Alvarez II (Yamaha)
19. Erick Sanchez (Yamaha)
20. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)


Facebook comments