Glen Helen 250 Motocross Results 2014

May 24, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamalube Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin made an impressive start to his 2014 250 Motocross campaign, sweeping the Glen Helen ranks with a perfect 1-1 result. The Yamaha rider was followed by fellow YZ250F racer Cooper Webb, who notched a 2-2 finish at the season opener. Cole Seeley’s consistent 4-4 byline nabbed the final step on the overall podium.

Martin scored a decisive victory in 250 Moto 1 at Glen Helen, taking his first professional Nationals win by more than 15 seconds ahead of Star Racing Yamaha’s Webb. Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Jason Anderson rounded out the Moto 1 podium.

Martin slipped into second-place off the start behind GEICO Honda’s Zach Bell, who scored the holetshot. The Yamaha ace wasted little time though, and was ahead of Bell before the end of the first lap. From there Martin was untouchable, stretching a gap on the field throughout.

Webb was well outside the top-three during the initial stages but battled through the ranks and challenged Troy Lee Designs’ Cole Seely during the final minutes for second-place. Anderson also made a move on Seely as time wound down, nabbing podium position just before the checkers.

Seely crossed the line in fourth ahead of GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle in fifth and Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson in sixth. Valli Yamaha’s Christophe Pourcel finished seventh in his first race in over a year, beating Wilson’s teammate, Blake Baggett, who took eighth.

Martin was in command again off the start in Moto 2, heading out front through the opening turns. The contest was red-flagged though following a big pileup which saw Martin’s teammate, Anthony Rodriguez, go down hard. He was able to walk away from the incident, but was visibly shaken and required assistance to get off track.

On the restart, Bogle scored the holeshot but Martin was once again close to the front. The Yamaha rider blasted by Bogle mid-way through the first lap and staged a repeat of his Moto 1 performance. Except this time, Martin stretched a gap on the field over 21 seconds by the finish. Webb trailed in the runner-up spot a second time followed by Baggett in third.

As Martin ran away with the moto, Bogle attempted to hold on in second but suffered an off which set him well behind the front runners. Baggett and Pourcel slotted into second and third, respectively after Bogle’s misfortune. Wilson and Webb were in the mix as well, but Webb was able to push past Deano in the opening minutes, and soon after did the same to Pourcel as well. Webb stayed steady in third until the latter stages, but eventually made the pass on Baggett for second.

Wilson and Pourcel battled for much of the race, but then Wilson suffered a big crash which left him hurt. There’s no word yet on the extent of his injuries, but the Kawasaki rider was unable to get to his feel quickly and had to scoot himself out of the path of bikes coming down the hill. His teammate, Justin Hill, also suffered a crash, but was able to return and finish the moto in 11th. Bell and Anderson both also suffered late race crashes which took them out of competition.

Seely finished in fourth followed by Pourcel in fifth. Seely’s teammate, Jessy Nelson, took sixth followed by Matt Bisceglia in seventh and Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin in eighth.

Martin gave Yamaha its first MX race win in the 250 class in 10 years at Glen Helen, and leaves with the overall victory. Webb finishes in second overall.

Glen Helen 250 Motocross Overall Results 2014
1. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 1-1
2. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 2-2
3. Cole Seely (Honda) 4-4
4. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 8-3
5. Christophe Pourcel (Yamaha) 7-5
6. Justin Bogle (Honda) 5-9
7. Matt Bisceglia (Honda) 11-7
8. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 10-8
9. Jessy Nelson (Honda) 15-6
10. Jason Anderson (KTM) 3-31 
11. Kyle Cunningham (Honda) 14-12
12. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) 6-33
13. Valentin Teillet (Kawasaki) 12-16
14. Matt Lemoine (Kawasaki) 13-17
15. Zach Osborne (Honda) 9-37

AMA Motocross 250 Championship Points 2014
1. Jeremy Martin, 50
2. Cooper Webb, 44
3. Cole Seely, 36
4. Blake Baggett, 33
5. Christophe Pourcel, 30
6. Justin Bogle, 28
7. Matt Bisceglia, 24
8. Marvin Musquin, 24
9. Jessy Nelson, 21
10. Jason Anderson, 20


Facebook comments