Multiple Awards Handed Out at Glen Helen 2014

May 30, 2014
Courtesy of MX Sports Pro Racing
This season, MX Sports Pro Racing and Alli Sports, a division of the NBC Sports Group, will once again acknowledge riders for their spectacular efforts at each round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. Through partnerships with series sponsors, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is pleased to welcome back the Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program and the Holeshot Awards, in addition to the popular Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award.

The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program is designed to present a unique challenge for the 2014 season. The Oakley Bomb program will provide a different twist by recognizing the rider who sets the fastest lap of practice in both the 250 and 450 Classes. Each rider will receive special Oakley Bomb trophy, specially designed by the brand.

As the season wears on, the total number of Oakley Bomb awards a rider receives will be tallied into a final season total. The competitor with the most awards at season’s end will be presented with an Elite Oakley Time Bomb II Swiss Automatic Watch.

The 12-round Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship kicked off last Saturday, May 24, in San Bernardino, California with the Red Bull Glen Helen National. En route to capturing the first victory of the season in the 450 Class, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey laid down the fastest lap of timed practice with a time of 2:13.644. Dungey’s fast lap earned the Minnesota native his first Oakley Bomb Award of this season.

Frenchmen Christophe Pourcel made his return to the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship aboard a Valli Motorsports/Yamaha in the 250 Class, where he laid down the fastest lap in the 250 Class to earn his first-ever Oakley Bomb Award with a fast lap of 2:15.518.

The Holeshot Award is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season and it awards $500 to the rider who gets the holeshot of each moto – in both the 450 Class and 250 Class – at every round of the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Unlike previous years, the Holeshot Award is not tracked through points over the course of the season, but a total of $2,000 will be up for grabs at each event between the two classes, thanks to

Toyota/JGRMX/Yamaha’s Josh Grant earned the $500 Holeshot Award in Moto 1 of the 450 Class, where he went on to capture the very first victory of the season at Glen Helen. In Moto 2, it was Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen who secured the holehsot, taking home an extra $500 courtesy of

When it comes to the $500 Holeshot Awards in the 250 Class, it was a GEICO Honda sweep as Zach Bell captured the holeshot in Moto 1, followed by his teammate Justin Bogle, who captured the Moto 2 holeshot. Each rider was awarded $500 from for their achievement.

The RC Hard Charger Award is entering its sixth season in 2014. Named after Ricky Carmichael, the most winning motocross rider of all time, the award recognizes the one competitor at each of the 12 rounds of the championship who overtakes the highest number of his fellow racers in any of the four championship motos between the 250 and 450 Classes.

The award is a testament to “The Greatest of All Time” or “The GOAT” and his never-give-up attitude over the span of a career that warranted 10 Lucas Oil Motocross titles and 102 wins – two feats that will likely never be duplicated. All recipients of the RC Hard Charger Award are given a custom-designed trophy.

After a popular and exciting win in the first 450 Class moto in front of his hometown crowd, Toyota/JGRMX/Yamaha rider Josh Grant did not get off to a good start in the second moto. He crashed on the first lap and had to ride into the mechanics’ area briefly for an adjustment before re-entering the race. At that point, Grant was in 37th place. Thirty minutes later, the 10-year veteran of professional racing reached 15th place in the order, passing 22 riders along the way.

As a result of his efforts to recover from his early misfortune, Grant ended up fifth overall on the day with his 1-15 moto scores. He also earns this week’s Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award as the competitor who passed the most riders over the course of a moto at the Red Bull Glen Helen National.

Honorable mention goes to GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle, who went from 29th place to ninth-place in the second 250 Class moto, passing twenty riders along the way.

Round 2 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship heads to Sacramento, California for the GoPro Hangtown Motocross Classic on Saturday, May 31.

For tickets and additional information, please visit and LIKE the Pro Motocross Facebook page and follow @ProMotocross on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive content and additional information on the latest Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship news.

MX Sports Pro Racing
MX Sports Pro Racing manages and produces the world’s most prestigious professional motocross series – the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The industry leader in off road power sport event production and management, its mission is to showcase the sport of professional motocross competition at events throughout the United States. Through its various racing properties, partnerships and affiliates, MX Sports Pro Racing organizes events for thousands of action sports athletes each year and attracts millions of motorsports spectators. Visit

Alli Sports
Alli Sports is a media, event and branded content company that specializes in action, adventure, and adrenaline based sports. Alli Properties include the Dew Tour, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, the Red Bull Signature Series and World of Adventure Sports presented by Go Pro. Alli Sports is a division of the NBC Sports Group. More information can be found at

AMA Pro Racing
AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines. Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at  

Lucas Oil Products
Based in Corona, Calif., Lucas Oil Products, Inc is the world leader of High Performance Lubricants and Problem Solving Additives and produces and markets 272 unique formulations in thirty four countries around the globe and is growing country by country, market by market every year. Through innovative product research and development, along with progressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top-selling additive line in the American truck-stop industry. Lucas Oil is involved in an array of motorsports sponsorships, including the “Official Motor Oil of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.” Visit:

MAVTV is a television network with its roots deep in the automotive world. With an unparalleled line-up of motorsports events and exclusive automotive reality shows, MAVTV is the answer for motor-heads from all walks of life. But MAVTV is much more than a motorsports destination, with original action/adventure programming, live MMA and an unbelievable library of blockbuster movies – MAVTV is a network the whole family can enjoy. A network by the people and for the people, made in America and American Real. Visit:


Facebook comments