AMA SportBike Barber Race 1 Results 2014

June 21, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamahalube Westby Racing’s Dane Westby scored his first AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike win of the year in Race 1 at Barber Motorsports Park. The Honda ace prevailed on top after a long battle with second-place finisher JD Beach of Yamaha Extended Service. Latus Motors Triumph’s Bobby Fong staged an impressive come-from-behind performance to finish third.

Off the start, Beach’s teammate, Garrett Gerloff, and’s Jake Lewis took hold of the front with Fong and RoadRace Factory’s Jake Gagne trailing close in third and fourth. Gerloff was starting to pull away from the field slightly when Fong tucked the front in Museum corner, hitting the tarmac hard and leaving his bike in the race line, forcing officials to red flag proceedings.

Fong was shaken but not seriously injured and returned his bike to the pits where his crew scrambled to ready the machine for the restart. Since he caused the red flag, the Triumph rider lined up at the back of the grid and was faced with a race-long battle up the ranks.

When the race got back underway, Lewis and Gerloff ran out to the lead once again followed by Gagne and Riders Discount’s Danny Eslick, Westby and Beach. The race was hardly a lap old when Gerloff and Gagne ran into trouble, both riders going down in Turn 13. The two riders and their machines had slid completely off track so the race continued, with Westby taking full advantage of the shake-up to assume the lead.

Subsequent laps saw Westby, Lewis and Beach run away from the field, keeping right on top of one another as the contest reached the latter stages. Behind the front-runners, Fong was making up significant ground, settling into fifth-place by Lap 6. He had a small gap to close to catch fourth-placed rider Benny Solis of Team H35, which he finally did during the closing laps.

The lead pack, meanwhile, started heating up as Beach began to seek a way past Westby for the lead. Lewis was similarly hungry from third, though during an attempt to dive inside for second Lewis made a mistake and was forced to stand the bike up, running off track briefly. He was able to return to competition, but had lost significant ground on the leaders.

Westby and Beach continued to battle for the lead to the final lap, swapping position a handful of times before the checkers. Westby had just a little more speed in Race 1 though, outpacing the Y.E.S. rider by three-tenths at the line.
Solis held for fourth followed by Eslick in fifth and D&D Cycles’ Steve Rapp in sixth. GEICO Motorcycle’s Jake Zemke scored seventh with GN Gonzalez Racing’s Blake Young in eighth and Lewis in ninth.

Gagne retains the points lead despite his unfortunate luck in Race 1, staying ahead of Eslick by six points. Beach is third overall followed by Lewis and Westby in fourth and fifth, respectively.

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Barber Race 1 Results 2014
1. Dane Westby (Yamaha)
2. JD Beach (Yamaha)
3. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
4. Benny Solis (Yamaha)
5. Danny Eslick (Triumph)
6. Steve Rapp (Triumph)
7. Jake Zemke (Honda)
8. Blake Yong (Yamaha)
9. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
10. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
11. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha)
12. Michael Barnes (MV Agusta)
13. Tucker Lancaster (Yamaha)
14. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
15. Elena Myers (Triumph)

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Championship Points 2014
1. Jake Gagne, 100
2. Danny Eslick, 94
3. JD Beach, 85
4. Jake Lewis, 79
5. Dane Westby, 69
6. Garrett Gerloff, 66
7. Kyle Wyman, 59
8. Jake Zemke, 55
9. Benny Solis, 54
10. Tomas Puerta, 54


Facebook comments