AMA SuperSport Barber Race 1 Results 2014

June 21, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

TOBC Racing’s Hayden GIllim scored the AMA Pro SuperSport Race 1 win at Barber Motorsports Park, decimating the field with a commanding performance from start to finish. Houston Superbikes’ Dustin Dominguez finished in second followed by De Keyrel Racing’s Kaleb De Keyrel in third.

Gillim throttled off the start to the front in the opening lap and by the end of the first rotation had built a multiple bike-length gap on the field which he stretched throughout the contest. Behind, Dominguez grabbed second from Celtic Racing’s Cory Alexander in the opening laps, where he’d hold until late in the race where he faced heavy pressure from De Keyrel. The two swapped position a number of times and the battle raged down to the final lap, but Dominguez made a decisive move a few turns before the line and held for the runner-up spot.

D&D Cycles’ Miles Thornton finished in fourth ahead of Gillim’s teammate, Curtis Murray, in fifth. Escalante Racing’s Richie Escalante took sixth followed by Alexander’s teammate, Wyatt Farris, in seventh and House of Pain Designs’ JC Camacho in eighth. Alexander suffered some trouble during the race and fell back in the pack, finishing in 13th.

Alexander retains the overall points lead however, thanks to his dominant start to the season. Gillim sits second followed by Dominguez in third and Farris in fourth.

AMA Pro SuperSport Barber Race 1 Results 2014
1. Hayden Gillim (Suzuki)
2. Dustin Dominguez (Yamaha)
3. Kaleb De Keyrel (Yamaha)
4. Miles Thornton (Triumph)
5. Curtis Murray (Suzuki)
6. Richie Escalante (Yamaha)
7. Wyatt Farris (Suzuki)
8. JC Camacho (Yamaha)
9. Tim Hunt (Yamaha)
10. Jason Aguilar (Yamaha)
11. Andre Ochs (Yamaha)
12. Cody Wyman (Suzuki)
13. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
14. Joey Giannotto (Yamaha)
15. Conner Blevins (Kawasaki)

AMA Pro SuperSport Championship Points 2014
1. Corey Alexander, 123
2. Hayden Gillim, 116
3. Dustin Dominguez, 99
4. Wyatt Farris, 98
5. Jason Aguilar, 72
6. Kaleb De Keyrel, 71
7. JC Camacho, 64
8. Cody Wyman, 62
9. Erick Sanchez, 45
10. Miles Thornton, 43


Facebook comments