High Point 450 Motocross Results 2014

June 14, 2014
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

James Stewart swept the High Point 450 Moto round to earn his first overall of the 2014 AMA Motocross Championship. Stewart gained ground on points leader Ken Roczen, as the KTM rider placed second overall with a 2-3 result. Honda’s Trey Canard rounded out the overall podium with a 4-2 finish. Meanwhile, KTM’s Ryan Dungey lost ground to his teammate in the title chase, as late moto mistakes cost him positions and a 3-4 byline.



Stewart sped on to a Moto 1 victory, but first had to deal with an old rival, Chad Reed. The TwoTwo Motorsports rider grabbed the holeshot and led the opening lap with Stewart in tow. But the Suzuki rider dispatched Reedy on Lap 2 and was uncatchable from there.

Reed held onto second for much of the first half, until Canard worked his way up through the ranks and moved into second. The factory KTM duo of Roczen and Dungey had worse starts, and had to battle forward. Eventually Dungey, then Roczen, got by Reed and made their way up to challenge Canard.

Stewart continued his drive to the line unchallenged, while the KTMs and lone Honda sorted out the remaining rostrum spots. Roczen would capitalize on mistakes by Dungey and Canard to claim second. Canard’s error proved costliest, denying the CRF pilot a podium spot and fourth-place result. Meanwhile, Reed would round out the top five.

2014 High Point 450 Moto 1 Results:
1. James Stewart (Suzuki)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
4. Trey Canard (Honda)
5. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
6. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
7. Andrew Short (KTM)
8. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
9. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki)
10. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
11. Ryan Sipes (KTM)
12. Ben Lamay (Yamaha)
13. Matt Goerke (KTM)
14. Fredrik Noren (KTM)
15. Kellian Rusk (Yamaha)
16. Cade Clason (Honda)
17. Evgeny Mikhaylov (KTM)
18. Ronnie Stewart (Suzuki)
19. Kevin Rookstool (KTM)
20. Joey Peters (Yamaha)


The second moto played out similar to the opening race. Reed once again shot out to the holeshot, but this time Stewart got around immediately. Canard, Roczen and Dungey also got around the Aussie on the opening lap as the front-running quartet set the pace.

While Canard attempted to challenge Stewart, the Suzuki rider retained position. The battle then developed for the final two podium spots amongst the familiar Moto 1 contenders. The KTM duo caught Canard and tussled for position.

In the closing laps, Roczen gave up position to Canard and Dungey. But then Dungey went down, ceding back position to his teammate. Canard and Roczen attempted to catch Stewart on the final lap, cutting down the deficit to a few seconds at the line. The Honda rider took second, with Roczen third and Dungey fourth.

The 1-1 sweep by Stewart moves him to third in the championship, six behind Dungey and 22 behind Roczen. The points leader’s solid 2-3 result actually extends his cushion at the top of the championship, as he finished one spot ahead of his teammate in each moto.

2014 High Point 450 Moto 2 Results:
1. James Stewart (Suzuki)
2. Trey Canard (Honda)
3. Ken Roczen (KTM)
4. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
5. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
6. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
7. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki)
8. Andrew Short (KTM)
9. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
10. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
11. Matt Goerke (KTM)
12. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
13. Fredrik Noren (KTM)
14. Ben Lamay (Yamaha)
15. Ryan Sipes (KTM)
16. Killy Rusk (Yamaha)
17. Evgeny Mikhaylov (KTM)
18. Cade Clason (Honda)
19. Kevin Rookstool (KTM)
20. Noah McConahy (Honda)

2014 High Point 450 Motcross Overall Results:
1. James Stewart (1-1)
2. Ken Roczen (2-3)
3. Trey Canard (4-2)
4. Ryan Dungey (3-4)
5. Josh Grant (6-6)
6. Weston Peick (10-5)
7. Andrew Short (7-8)
8. Chad Reed (5-10)
9. Brett Metcalfe (9-7)
10. Phil Nicoletti (8-12)

2014 450 Motocross Point Standings:
1. Ken Roczen, 183
2. Ryan Dungey, 167
3. James Stewart, 161
4. Trey Canard, 150
5. Brett Metcalfe, 115
6. Josh Grant, 104
7. Weston Peick, 104
8. Malcolm Stewart, 90
9. Chad Reed, 88
10. Andrew Short, 74 


Facebook comments