Pike’s Peak Hill Climb Results 2014

June 30, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Kawasaki ZX-10R pilot Jeremy Toye was the fastest motorcycle in the 92nd Pike’s Peak Hill Climb, finishing with a time of 9:58.687. Toye’s run comes within six seconds of the current motorcycle record set by Carlin Dunne on a Ducati Multistrada in 2012. In addition to earning Toye “Rookie of the Year” and “King of the Hill” honors at Pike’s Peak, the Kawasaki pilot’s win also ends Ducati’s dominance on the hill after a four-year streak.

“Our team worked hard to get the bike ready after our get-off in qualifying, but the Ninja ZX-10R ran great”, said Toye. “Race day conditions were extremely slippery, but we had the setup and big horsepower to get the win.”

Ducati claimed the next four finishing positions, with Lambert Fabrice taking second on a 2009 1098R and motojournalist Don Canet scoring third on a 2014 Multistrada 1200 Pikes Peak Special. Micky Dymond crossed the line in fourth, also on a ’14 Multistrata 1200, followed by Bruno Langlois on a 2013 Panigale.

In the Middleweight division, Eric Piscione finished fastest on a 2013 Ducati Streetfighter, followed by Jeff Grace (click here to see a wild video caught on Grace’s bike camera during practice) on a 2014 Triumph Daytona 675R. Cal Collins earned the top-spot in the Lightweight class on a 2011 Honda CRF450R, completing the course in just under 11 minutes. Codie Vahsholtz took second in Lightweight aboard his 2005 KTM SMR.

In the Electric Modified class, Jeremiah Johnson outpaced Yoshihiro Kishimoto on a 2013 Brutus E-motorcycle, while in the Electric Production (which had just one rider in 2014) Jeff Clark finished the course in 11:59.814 on a 2013 Zero FX.

Elsewhere in the field, Isle of Man TT star Guy Martin made his Pike’s Peak debut, riding in the UTV/Exhibition class on a custom Martek. Martin was fastest in the class despite a technical issue.

Sadly, Middleweight class rider Bobby Goodin lost his life after finishing fourth in his division. He was ejected from his bike after losing control in the gravel parking lot and later succumbed to injuries sustained in the crash. His passing is only the fifth in the 92-year history of the race and the first motorcycle fatality since 1982.

Pike’s Peak Open Results 2014
1. Jeremy Toye (Kawasaki) 9:58.687
2. Lambert Fabrice (Ducati) 10:04.401
3. Don Canet (Ducati) 10:10.101
4. Micky Dymond (Ducati) 10:11.319
5. Bruno Langlois (Ducati) 10:14.480

Pike’s Peak Middleweight Results 2014
1. Eric Piscione (Ducati) 10:46.159
2. Jeff Grace (Triumph) 10:55.668
3. Joseph Toner (Kawasaki) 10:58.466
4. Bobby Goodin (Triumph) 11:07.114
5. Zachary Jacobs (Honda) 11:11.885

Pike’s Peak Lightweight Results 2014
1. Cal Collins (Honda) 10:58.203
2. Codie Vahsholtz (KTM) 11:02.054
3. Travis Newbold (Honda) 11:04.296
4. Joseph Toner (Aprilia) 11:11.086
5. Daniel Berendes (Honda) 11:21.877

Pike’s Peak Vintage Results 2014
1. Mark Shim (Triumph) 12:58.519
2. Lloyd Hale (Yamaha) 13:27.685
3. Michael Valdez (Yamaha) 14:04.146

Pike’s Peak UTV/Exhibition Results 2014
1. Guy Martin (Martek) 11:32.558
2. Yasuo Arai (Kawasaki) 11:33.613
3. Masahiro Takano (Kawasaki) 11:48.644
4. Mike Ryan (Triumph) 13:46.884

Pike’s Peak Sidecar Results 2014
1. Masahito Watanabe (Kumano Motorsport) 23:50.080

Pike’s Peak 250 Results 2014
1. Matt Meinert (Honda) 12:09.513
2. Jimi Heyder (Heyder/Suzuki) 13:01.223
3. Steve Mageors (Suzuki) 15:04.726

Pike’s Peak Electric Production Results 2014
1. Jeff Clark (Zero) 11:59.814

Pike’s Peak Electric Modified Results 2014
1. Jeremiah Johnson (Brutus) 12:20.448
2. Yoshihiro Kishimoto (MIRAI) 13:36.654