Thunder Valley 250 Motocross Results 2014

June 7, 2014
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett spoiled Jeremy Martin’s perfect season with a Moto 2 win and the overall 250 MX victory at Thunder Valley. Baggett’s success, however, did not come until Martin extended his winning streak to five in the opening moto. The Star Yamaha rider claiming third in the overall, after mistakes relegated Martin to sixth in Moto 2. Rounding out the overall podium was Honda’s Justin Bogle, as the most consistent 250 rider thanks to a 3-2 result.



Martin had to work for his Moto 1 victory at Thunder Valley, with Honda’s Jessy Nelson seizing the early lead. Nelson grabbed the holeshot and marked out an impressive opening to the race, building a lead ahead of the Star Yamaha duo of Cooper Webb and Martin.

Martin managed to get around his teammate, and then got to work on the leader. Nelson lost ground to his pursuer, and then went down. The mistake cost his several positions as he fell out of the top five.

Now running in the lead Martin cruised to the Moto 1 checkers. Martin was chased his teammate, Webb, but the latter rider crashed – surrendering his runner-up spot and an -eventual ninth-place finish.

Nelson, meanwhile, remounted and got back in the running. Nelson managed to get around several riders and back in the podium hunt. Nelson recovered to finish second, one spot ahead of Honda’s Bogle. Baggett could only manage a fourth-place result in the opener, with Jason Anderson rounding out the top five.

Thunder Valley 250 Moto 1 Results:
1. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha)
2. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
3. Justin Bogle (Honda)
4. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki)
5. Jason Anderson (KTM)
6. Zach Bell (Honda)
7. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
8. Cole Seely (Honda)
9. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
10. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)
11. Christophe Pourcel
12. Joey Savatgy (KTM)
13. Matt Bisceglia (Honda)
14. Kyle Cunningham (Honda)
15. Kyle Peters (Honda)
16. Brady Kiesel (Honda)
17. Jacob Baumert (Kawasaki)
18. Jackson Richardson (Honda)
19. Cole Martinez (Kawasaki)
20. Dakota Alix (KTM)



In the second moto Baggett to his first outdoor win of 2014. The 2012 250 MX champ benefited from poor performances from the usually reliable Star Yamaha duo., with Martin and Webb finishing a respective sixth and seventh.

The early Moto 2 leader was Zach Bell, who notched the holeshot follow by Jason Anderson and Christophe Pourcel. Bell would drop back, however, yielding the front position to the French rider, who led until Baggett worked up through the top five riders to take the lead.

Once in the front Baggett was unmatched and motored on to victory. The battle for second was between Pourcel and Bogle, with the GEICO Honda rider eventually sticking a pass on the Yamaha for his eventual second-place finish. Pourcel retained third at the finish, but placed seventh overall with an 11th-place result in the opening race. The KTM duo of Marvin Musquin and Jason Anderson held fourth and fifth, respectively.

The Yamahas were not a factor in the second moto podium results. Martin had to battle his teammate and Anderson for a top-five result, but then fell and relinquished position to place sixth and miss out on the Thunder Valley overall with his 1-6 result.
Despite the relatively poor Moto 2 results, Martin still commands an impressive points lead in the championship, with a 26-point cushion on the nearest rival, his teammate Webb. Pourcel sits third in the points, down 47 to Martin with Baggett 49 back in fourth.

Thunder Valley 250 Moto 2 Results:
1. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki)
2. Justin Bogle (Honda)
3. Christophe Pourcel (Yamaha)
4. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
5. Jason Anderson (KTM)
6. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha)
7. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
8. Cole Seely (Honda)
9. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
10. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)
11. Matt Bisceglia (Honda)
12. Matt Lemoine (Kawasaki)
13. Joey Savatgy (KTM)
14. Kyle Cunningham (Honda)
15. Dillan Epstein (Honda)
16. Alex Martin (Yamaha)
17. Brady Kiesel (Honda)
18. Jacob Baumert (Kawasaki)
19. Zack Williams (Honda)
20. Cole Martinez (Kawasaki)

Thunder Valley 250 Motocross Overall Results:
1. Blake Baggett (4-1)
2. Justin Bogle (3-2)
3. Jeremy Martin (1-6)
4. Jessy Nelson (2-9)
5. Marvin Musquin (7-4)
6. Jason Anderson (5-5)
7. Christophe Pourcel (11-3)
8. Cooper Webb (9-7)
9. Cole Seely (8-8)
10. Justin Hill (10-10)

2014 250 Motocross Point Standings:
1. Jeremy Martin, 140
2. Cooper Webb, 114
3. Christophe Pourcel, 93
4. Blake Baggett, 91
5. Justin Bogle, 90
6. Jessy Nelson, 85
7. Marvin Musquin, 82
8. Jason Anderson, 81
9. Justin Hill, 65
10. Matt Bisceglia, 63

2014 AMA Motocross Photos 

GEICO Honda rider Zach Bell at Thunder Valley. KTMs Marvin Musquin  still on the mend from knee surgery  logged a 7-4 result at Thunder Valley. Justin Bgle took second in the 250 overall with his 3-2 result at Thunder Valley.

Facebook comments