Thunder Valley 450 Motocross Results 2014

June 7, 2014
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Red Bull KTM rider Ken Roczen extended his AMA 450 Motocross championship points lead over teammate Ryan Dungey with a 2-1 result at Thunder Valley. Roczen was denied the Moto 1 victory by James Stewart, who took third after in Moto 2 for a second-place in the overall. Meanwhile, Ryan Dungey claimed the final spot on the overall rostrum, with his 4-2 result.



The opening moto saw JGR Yamaha’s Josh Grant dash out to snare the holeshot. But the Glen Helen Moto 1 victor wouldn’t hold the front position for long, as Stewart charged into the lead early. It’s a position Stewart held throughout the race, although Dungey managed to maneuver up through the ranks and challenge the Yoshimura ace.

As Dungey challenged Stewart at the front, Roczen was busy getting himself into podium position. The German had to battle past Grant and Muscle Milk Honda’s Trey Canard, but then settled into third and set his sights on the leaders.

Roczen managed to catch his teammate and challenge for the runner-up position. Stewart moved ahead while the factory KTMs dueled, but once Roczen got past he gained ground on the Suzuki. Although Roczen closed in, Stewart managed to retain his lead and held on for the victory.

Having ceded second to his teammate, Dungey appeared destined for the final podium step. However, Mr. Consistency had an unexpected fall in the closing laps, allowing Canard to breeze by for third. Dungey would remount to finish fourth, with Grant rounding out the top five.

James Stewart claimed the Moto 1 victory at Thunder Valley.

Thunder Valley 450 Moto 1 Results:
1. James Stewart (Suzuki)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Trey Canard (Honda)
4. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
5. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
6. Andrew Short (KTM)
7. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
9. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki)
10. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
11. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
12. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
13. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
14. Matt Goerke (KTM)
15. Killy Rusk (Yamaha)
16. Fredrik Noren (KTM)
17. Tommy Weeck (Honda)
18. Nick Schmidt (Honda)
19. Jimmy Albertson (Honda)
20. Cade Clason (Honda)


Roczen wouldn’t be denied the Moto 2 victory, but had to work his way by some fast starters in the opening laps. This time Canard claimed the holeshot, followed by Grant and Dungey, with Roczen fourth. However, the German soon dispatched the two in front, leading to a battle with Canard for the early lead.

Fighting for the front spot, Canard would eventually give way to Roczen and then yield position to Dungey as well. With Canard out of the way, Dungey attempted to chase down his teammate but couldn’t catch the front-runner – as the two turned laps en route to an eventual 1-2 factory KTM finish.


The final podium spot was up for grabs between Canard and Stewart, but the Moto 1 winner managed to get around the Honda rider for third. Having battled for the moto win early, Canard would have to settle for fourth in Moto 2 and the overall with his 3-4 finish. Meanwhile, Stewart claimed second overall with his 1-3 result.

Ryan Villopoto’s factory Kawasaki fill-in, Brett Metcalfe, recovered from a lackluster ninth-place Moto 1 result to round out the top five in Moto 2. The fast-starting Josh Grant rode his way to sixth in the second moto, earning fifth in the overall with his (5-6) byline.

Roczen’s overall victory give him a 12 point lead over Dungey in the 450 Motocross standings and 30 point advantage over the third-placed Stewart. Canard, who logged a consistent 3–4 result is one point behind Stewart.

Thunder Valley 450 Moto 2 Results:

Ken Roczen claimed the overall 450 Motocross win at Thunder Valley MX with his 2-1 result.

1. Ken Roczen (KTM)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. James Stewart (Suzuki)
4. Trey Canard (Honda)
5. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki)
6. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
7. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
8. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
9. Andrew Short (KTM)
10. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
11. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
12. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
13. Ben Lamay (Yamaha)
14. Fredrik Noren (KTM)
15. Killy Rusk (Yamaha)
16. Matt Goerke (KTM)
17. Evgeny Mikhaylov (KTM)
18. Tommy Weeck (Honda)
19. Sean Hackley (KTM)
20. Noah McConahy (Honda)

Thunder Valley 450 Class Overall Results:
1. Ken Roczen (2-1)
2. James Stewart (1-3)
3. Ryan Dungey (4-2)
4. Trey Canard (3-4)
5. Josh Grant (5-6)
6. Brett Metcalfe (9-5)
7. Malcolm Stewart (7-8)
8. Andrew Short (6-9)
9. Weston peick (10-7)
10. Jake Weimer (8-12)

2014 450 Motocross Point Standings:
1. Ken Roczen, 141
2. Ryan Dungey, 129
3. James Stewart, 111
4. Trey Canard, 110
5. Brett Metcalfe, 89
6. Malcolm Stewart, 78
7. Weston Peick, 77
8. Josh Grant, 74
9. Jake Weimer, 74
10. Chad Reed, 61

2014 AMA Motocross Photos 

James Stewart sits 30 points adrift of Roczen in the 2014 AMA Motocross points after Round 3. KTMs Marvin Musquin  still on the mend from knee surgery  logged a 7-4 result at Thunder Valley. James Stewart claimed the runner-up result at Thunder Valley with his 1-3 finish.