AMA SportBike Mid-Ohio Race 2 Results 2014

July 20, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Castrol Triumph’s Jason DiSalvo grabbed his first AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike win of the season in Race 2 at Mid-Ohio. RoadRace Factory’s Jake Gagne finished in second followed by Yamaha Extended Service’s Garrett Gerloff in third.

Gagne took hold of the front after a great start followed by DiSalvo,’s Jake Lewis, Gerloff, Y.E.S. rider JD Beach and Yamalube Westby Racing’s Dane Westby in sixth. Positions changed hands throughout the opening laps, with Lewis passing DiSalvo into second and Westby making moves up the ranks as well. The race was halted by a red flag before long when Westby crashed. His bike emitted a small puff of smoke just before the incident and two riders behind him crashed in the same spot, forcing officials to clean the area before letting riders back on track.

Gagne got a strong start once again when the contest got underway the second time, followed by Lewis, DiSalvo, Beach and Gerloff. Positions held steady for a period, but eight laps in DiSalvo made his first move up the ranks to second past Lewis. Gagne and DiSalvo then started to stretch a gap on Lewis and Gerloff, who’d taken fourth away from Beach. The battle for third was ended when Gerloff pushed hard inside, bumping Lewis wide and setting the Race 1 winner too far back to close the gap before the checkers.

Out front, DiSalvo had taken the lead from Gagne and was looking strong, blocking any lines Gagne may have tried to regain the front. Gagne tried hard again on the final lap but to no avail.

Lewis crossed the line in fourth followed by DiSalvo’s teammate, Bobby Fong, in fifth. GN Gonzales Racing’s Blake Young took sixth ahead of Millennium Technologies’ Kyle Wyman in seventh. Beach dropped back to eighth by the finish, ahead of Gagne’s teammate, Tomas Puerta in ninth and Westby in 10th.

Gagne leaves Mid-Ohio with the outright points lead in the championship, seven ahead of Lewis in second. Eslick sits third followed by Beach in fourth and Westby in fifth.

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Mid-Ohio Race 2 Results 2014
1. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
2. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
3. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
4. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
5. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
6. Blake Young (Yamaha)
7. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha)
8. JD Beach (Yamaha)
9. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
10. Dane Westby (Yamaha)
11. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
12. Elena Myers (Triumph)
13. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)
14. Joe Roberts (Honda)
15. Danny Eslick (Triumph)

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Championship Points 2014
1. Jake Gagne, 189
2. Jake Lewis, 182
3. Danny Eslick, 157
4. JD Beach, 154
5. Dane Westby, 142
6. Garrett Gerloff, 120
7. Jason DiSalvo, 111
8. Kyle Wyman, 98
9. Blake Young, 93
10. Jake Zemke, 91


Facebook comments