AMA SuperBike Mid-Ohio Race 1 Results 2014

July 20, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

After the first day’s AMA Pro Road Racing schedule at Mid-Ohio was cancelled due to unstable weather conditions, AMA Pro SuperBike riders kicked off a packed Sunday with a battle between Monster Energy Graves Yamaha teammates Cameron Beaubier and Josh Hayes. Beaubier prevailed in the Race 1 battle, nabbing his third win of the season. Hayes finished two-tenths back in second-place followed by Yoshimura Suzuki’s Roger Hayden in third.

Hayes got to the head of the pack off the start, followed closely by Hayden, Beaubier and Hayden’s teammate, Martin Cardenas in fourth. The Mississippi native held the front through the first five laps but Beaubier was determined to break his teammate’s win streak, moving up to second on Lap 2 and getting ahead of Hayes by Lap 6. From there Hayes held close and fought to find a way back to the front, but Beaubier held steady on his way to his first race win since Round 2 at Road America.

Cardenas lost sight of the front runners as the race progressed, finishing a lonely fourth ahead of KTM/HMC Racing’s Chris Fillmore. Cardenas’ teammate, Chris Clark, trailed in sixth followed by ADR Motorsports’ David Anthony in seventh and Foremost Insurance/Pegram Racing’s Larry Pegram in eighth.

Hayes retains the overall points lead after the first of two races at the Mid-Ohio course, sitting 35 points ahead of Beaubier in second. Hayden is an additional 10 back in third followed by Anthony in fourth and Clark in fifth.

AMA Pro SuperBike Mid-Ohio Race 1 Results 2014
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
5. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
6. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
7. David Anthony (Suzuki)
8. Larry Pegram (EBR)
9. Chris Ulrich (Honda)
10. Frankie Babuska (Suzuki)
11. Cory West (EBR)
12. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha)
13. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
14. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)
15. Matthew Orange (BMW)

AMA Pro SuperBike Championship Points 2014
1. Josh Hayes, 200
2. Cameron Beaubier, 165
3. Roger Hayden, 155
4. David Anthony, 145
5. Chris Clark, 132
6. Martin Cardenas, 126
7. Chris Fillmore, 101
8. Cory West, 89
9. Bernat Martinez, 70
10. Larry Pegram, 63


Facebook comments