Loretta Lynn Motocross – Tuesday 2014

July 30, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

The first day of racing at Loretta Lynn’s 2014 Amateur Motocross Nationals was packed with competition, with heated battle between rising stars in the Open Pro Sport class down to riders less than 10 years old in the 85 class. Opening the way was College B/C (16-24), which saw Stone Edler work his way to the front of the pack through the opening laps and finish a commanding 10-seconds ahead of second-place finisher, Salvatore Colangelo. Junior (25+) came next, which KTM rider Ricky Renner absolutely dominated, crossing the line nearly one minute ahead of his closest competition.

Prior to intermission, the 450B Limited class saw Yamaha rider Lorenzo Locurcio fishing ahead of Chase Marquier and Benny Bloss in second and third, respectively, before Open Pro Sport took to the track. Honda’s RJ Hampshire proved to be a force after a strong start set him at the head of the pack through Lap 1. He held there as Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger fought to make-up time through the remainder of the race, but Hampshire’s early string of fast laps gave him a wide gap by the checkers.

The two riders battled again in the 250 A class during the afternoon, with Hampshire leading Plessinger by just a few seconds mid race. Plessinger missed out on a late push for the win, however, after crashing and taking a DNF instead. Kawasaki pilot Christopher Alldredge slipped into the runner-up spot during the final laps, followed by Honda’s Marshal Weltin in third.

The Women’s class also battled during the afternoon, with current Women’s Motocross Championship points leader Mackenzie Tricker taking a photo-finish victory ahead of Yamaha’s Kaitlyn Morrow. Tricker faced pressure from Morrow throughout the nine-lap contest and on the final lap Morrow made a huge push in search of the checkers, coming across the line a slim 0.037 seconds off the top-step.

Top-three results from all the opening day motos are included below.

85 (9-11)
1. Pierce Brown (KTM)
2. Stilez Robertson (Kawasaki)
3. Ethan Mann (KTM)

Two-Stroke B/C (16+)
1. Timmy Badour (KTM)
2. Bennett Mantooth (Yamaha)
3. Carlen Gardner (Yamaha)

Senior (45+)
1. Tony Lorusso (Suzuki)
2. Scott Sheak (Kawasaki)
3. John Grewe (Kawasaki)

Masters (50+)
1. Earl May (Kawasaki)
2. Rodney Smith (Suzuki)
3. Bart Newman (Honda)

Women (14+)
1. Mackenzie Tricker (Yamaha)
2. Kaitlyn Morrow (Yamaha)
3. Hannah Hodges (Suzuki)

Mini Sr 1 (12-13)
1. Garrett Marchbanks (Kawasaki)
2. Brock Papi (KTM)
3. Justin Rodbell (KTM)

Vet B/C (30+)
1. Chad Murphy (Kawasaki)
2. Reid Edwards (Kawasaki)
3. Matt Preslar (Kawasaki)

250 B
1. Mitchell Harrison (Kawasaki)
2. Tristian Charboneau (Yamaha)
3. Lorenzo Locurcio (Yamaha)

250 A
1. RJ Hampshire (Honda)
2. Christopher Alldredge (Kawasaki)
3. Marshal Weltin (Honda)

Girls Sr (12-16)
1. Hannah Hodges (Suzuki)
2. Gracie Van Horn (Kawasaki)
3. Danielle Grigoletti (Yamaha)

Girls Jr (9-13)
1. Jordan Jarvis (Yamaha)
2. Jamie Astudillo (KTM)
3. Karly Morgan (Yamaha)

Schoolboy 1 (12-16) B/C
1. Luke Purther (KTM)
2. Jon Ames (Yamaha)
3. Justin Cooper (Yamaha)

College B/C (16-24)
1. Stone Edler (Honda)
2. Salvatore Colangelo (Honda)
3. Carson Tickle (Yamaha)

Junior (25+)
1. Ricky Renner (KTM)
2. Robbie Reynard (Yamaha)
3. James Povolny Jr. (KTM)

Mini Sr 2 (12-14)
1. Garrett Marchbanks (Kawasaki)
2. Chase Sexton (Yamaha)
3. Lance Kobusch (Kawasaki)

85 (9-11) Limited
1. Stilez Robertson (Kawasaki)
2. Dilan Schwartz (Kawasaki)
3. Justin Cokinos (KTM)

Vet (35+)
1. Robbie Reynard (Yamaha)
2. James Povolny Jr. (KTM)
3. James Evans (Kawasaki)

Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C
1. Mitchell Harrison (Kawasaki)
2. Jon Ames (Yamaha)
3. Mark Worth (Kawasaki)

65 (10-11) Limited
1. Joshua Varize (KTM)
2. Maximus Vohland (KTM)
3. Jeremy Ryan (KTM)

65 (7-9) Limited
1. Matthew Leblanc (KTM)
2. Hunter Yoder (KTM)
3. Nicholas Romano (KTM)

450 B Limited
1. Lorenzo Locurcio (Yamaha)
2. Chase Marquier (Honda)
3. Benny Bloss (Yamaha)

Open Pro Sport
1. RJ Hampshire (Honda)
2. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha)
3. Colt Nichols (Kawasaki)

Super Mini 1 (12-15)
1. Sean Cantrell (Kawasaki)
2. Chase Sexton (Yamaha)
3. Tanner Stack (Kawasaki)


Facebook comments