World Superbike Laguna Seca Superpole 2014

July 12, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Kawasaki Racing’s Tom Sykes decimated the World Superbike lap record at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, earning his fourth pole position of the season. The 2013 pole-winner, Sylvain Guintoli of Aprilia Racing, finished second-fastest followed by Ducati’s Chaz Davies in third.

Guintoli was quick from the start and spent a brief period at the top after switching over to qualifying tires during the second-half of the session. Sykes got his bearings early and then went back to the pits, staying there until a majority of riders completed their tire swaps and then he came out swinging. Once he got heat into his qualifiers it took just one rotation to best the previous lap record, making him the only World Superbike rider to dip into the 1’21s at the California circuit.

Davies’ teammate, Davide Giugliano, was quick through SP2, finishing fourth-fastest. He’s joined on the second row by Guintoli’s teammate, Marco Melandri and Voltcom Suzuki’s Eugene Laverty in fifth and sixth, respectively. Pata Honda’s Leon Haslam heads the third row followed by Sykes’ teammate, Loris Baz, in eighth and Red Devils Roma’s Toni Elias in ninth.

Haslam’s teammate, Jonathan Rea, qualified 10th, losing out on the final minutes of the session after crashing his CBR1000RR just before reaching the finish line. Rea was uninjured in the incident and quickly rejoined the other riders on track. Laverty’s teammate, Alex Lowes, finished in 11th followed by Althea Racing’s Niccolo Canepa, the fastest EVO qualifier for this round, in 12th.

There are a few more American riders in the mix this round with two wild card entries, Foremost Insurance EBR’s Larry Pegram and GEICO Honda’s Chris Ulrich, challenging the World Superbike field alongside regular competitors from Team Hero EBR, Aaron Yates and Geoff May. May qualified fastest amongst the Americans in 22nd, with Pegram trailing in 23rd. Yates and Ulrich will start from 25th and 26th, respectively.

World Superbike Laguna Seca Superpole Results 2014
1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’21.811
2. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia) 1’22.339
3. Chaz Davies (Ducati) 1’22.384
4. Davide Giugliano (Ducati) 1’22.422
5. Marco Melandri (Aprilia) 1’22.704
6. Eugene Laverty (Suzuki) 1’22.725
7. Leon Haslam (Honda) 1’23.181
8. Loris Baz (Kawasaki) 1’223.242
9. Toni Elias (Aprilia) 1’23.358
10. Jonathan Rea (Honda) 1’23.501
11. Alex Lowes (Suzuki) 1’23.562
12. Niccolo Canepa (Ducati) 1’23.924
13. Sylvain Barrier (BMW) 1’23.840
14. Christian Iddon (Bimota) 1’24.024
15. David Salom (Kawasaki) 1’24.227
16. Ayrton Badovini (Bimota) 1’24.301
17. Bryan Staring (Kawasaki) 1’24.986
18. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki) 1’25.021
19. Leon Camier (MV Agusta) 1’25.157
20. Alessandro Andreozzi (Kawasaki) 1’25.383
21. Jeremy Guarnoni (Kawasaki) 1’26.080
22. Geoff May (EBR) 1’26.087
23. Larry Pegram (EBR) 1’26.302
24. Gabor Rizmayer (BMW) 1’26.506
25. Aaron Yates (EBR) 1’26.999
26. Chris Ulrich (Honda) 1’27.169
27. Peter Sebestyen (BMW) 1’27.226


Facebook comments