AMA Flat Track Castle Rock TT Results 2014

August 4, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Don’s Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles notched his 25th career GNC victory in the Expert Singles main event at the 2014 Castle Rock TT. Cascio Rush Racing’s Mike Rush finished in second-place followed by Brothers Power Sports’ Brad Baker in third.

Rush was fastest off the start and held the lead through the first half of the race but had Baker and Wiles holding close in second and third during the initial laps. As the contest progressed, Rush opened a slight gap on the filed while Baker and Wiles battled for the runner-up spot. About 10 laps in Baker throttled hard out of a turn and his rear tire went wobbly, giving Wiles the opening he needed to slip by on the inside line in the next turn. From there Wiles pushed ahead to close-in on Rush out front, catching the California native by Lap 13. Rush maintained a strong defense through a number of laps but Wiles was hungry for the win, setting himself up for a decisive bump pass on Lap 18. Once out front, Wiles was uncatchable, stretching a four-plus second gap on Rush by the checkers.

“I passed Mikey (Rush) once and he passed me back,” said Wiles. “I tell you what, I like coming here. This crowd is great here they make you feel so good. They are so hardcore. It’s awesome and it’s an honor to be able to win the Castle Rock TT. There’s been times that we’ve been really far away here but we had something going tonight. I have to give a special thanks to my team for getting my bike ready. This was actually my backup bike coming into today. We planned on riding a different bike tonight but it’s funny how things work out. This means so much to be. I’ve gotten smoked here a lot so it just feels so good to me.”

Baker remained steady in third, but had plenty of pressure from behind as Montgomeryville Cycle Center’s Jared Mees and Van’s Yamaha’s JD Beach gave chase to the line. Baker got the final step by no more than a tire-length, leaving Mees to settle for fourth. Beach took fifth while Carver’s BBQ’s Jeffrey Carver Jr. finished in fifth.

The points battle remains close, with Mees retaking the top-spot from Villa-Esparza’s Bryan Smith, now in second. Ramspur Winery’s Jake Johnson sits third followed by Sammy Halbert in fourth and Kenny Coolbeth Jr. in fifth.

AMA Pro Flat Track GNC Expert Singles Castle Rock TT Results 2014
1. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki)
2. Mike Rush (Honda)
3. Brad Baker (Honda)
4. Jared Mees (Honda)
5. JD Beach (Yamaha)
6. Jeffrey Carver Jr. (Honda)
7. Jake Johnson (Honda)
8. Sammy Halbert (Yamaha)
9. Stevie Bonsey (Honda)
10. Bryan Smith (Kawasaki)
11. Briar Bauman (Honda)
12. Jethro Halbert (Yamaha)
13. Wyatt Maguire (Honda)
14. Brandon Robinson (Kawasaki)
15. Scott Baker (Honda)
16. Eric Beers (Yamaha)
17. Cory Texter (Honda)
18. Robert Pearson (Kawasaki)
19. Mikey Martin (Honda)

Pro Singles

For the second-year in a row, Motorcycle-Superstore’s Dominic Colindres earned the top-step in AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles at the Castle Rock TT. TJ Burnett Farms’ Davis Fisher finished in second followed by Bromley Brothers KTM Racing’s Dan Bromley in third.

Colindres was in the zone from the start, leading the field into Turn 1 and stretching a comfortable gap through the opening laps. Bromley and Fisher settled into second and third, respectively, but would swap places during the initial laps and hold there to the checkers.

“It was a perfect night,” said Colindres. “We rolled my motorcycle off the truck today and didn’t change a thing. I felt great all day and came out first in practice and set the fastest time. I can’t thank my dad and mom enough for all of their support and for sticking with me through all these races.”

Ride Motorsports’ Cole Frederickson challenged Bromley hard during the latter stages for third-place, but ended five-tenths behind in fourth-place. GP Sports’ Rodney Spencer Jr. finished fifth ahead of Josh Chisum Racing’s Ryan Kearns in sixth.

Fisher takes over the Pro Singles points lead, thanks in part to former points leader Kyle Johnson’s disappointing 14th-place result at Castle Rock. KTM’s Ryan Wells sits third.

AMA Flat Track Pro Singles Castle Rock TT Results 2014
1. Dominic Colindres (Honda)
2. Davis Fisher (Honda)
3. Dan Bromley (KTM)
4. Cole Fredrickson (Honda)
5. Rodney Spencer Jr. (Honda)
6. Ryan Kearns (Honda)
7. Jarod Vanderkooi (Honda)
8. Hunter Taylor (Honda)
9. Bronson Bauman (Honda)
10. Ryan Wells (KTM)
11. Wyatt Anderson (Suzuki)
12. Jake Burton (Yamaha)
13. James Monaco (Honda)
14. Kyle Johnson (Honda)
15. Joe Bromley (KTM)
16. Ryan Foster (Honda)
17. Cole Crowley (Honda)
18. Jacob Lehmann (Honda)