AMA Flat Track Indy Mile Results 2014

August 10, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Zanotti Racing’s Kenny Coolbeth Jr. took his third win of the 2014 AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Championship at the Indy Mile. Villa-Esparza’s Bryan Smith finished in second followed by Rogers Racing’s Jared Mees in third.

Smith got the jump off the start, settling into the lead through the opening turn. Ramspur Winery’s Jake Johnson pushed past Smith the following lap while Mees and Coolbeth kept close in third and fourth. Coolbeth started his drive up the ranks during the initial laps, slipping to second on Lap 3 and passing Johnson for the lead on Lap 4. Once out front, the Haley-Davidson rider could not be caught, opening a multi-second gap on the field through the remainder of the competition.

“This is great for us,” said Coolbeth. “I feel so comfortable with my bike and my team right now. They are putting so much effort into my program every single day and it feels so good for it to pay off here tonight. Smith has the whole package, there is no denying that, but tonight we had it.”

Positions shuffled numerous times in the battle for second, with Smith falling as far back as sixth mid-race. Mees, Johnson and Harley-Davidson’s Brad Baker traded punches throughout and were finally joined again by Smith during the latter stages of the race. The final laps saw Smith and Mees break away from Johnson and Baker, who finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Don’s Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles finished close on the heels of Baker in sixth, followed by Coolbeth’s teammate, Stevie Bonsey, in seventh.

Mees retains the overall GNC points lead with Smith trailing in second, a single point back. Johnson is third followed by Coolbeth and South East H-D’s Sammy Halbert in fifth.

AMA Flat Track GNC Expert Twins Indy Mile Results 2014
1. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (Harley-Davidson)
2. Bryan Smith (Kawasaki)
3. Jared Mees (Harley-Davidson)
4. Jake Johnson (Ducati)
5. Brad Baker (Harley-Davidson)
6. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki)
7. Stevie Bonsey (Harley-Davidson)
8. Briar Bauman (Kawasaki)
9. Jake Shoemaker (Kawasaki)
10. Robert Pearson (Kawasaki)
11. Cory Texter (Kawasaki)
12. Mikey Martin (Triumph)
13. Doug Lawrence (Harley-Davidson)
14. Jeffrey Carver Jr. (Harley-Davidson)
15. Sammy Halbert (Kawasaki)
16. Nichole Mees (Harley-Davidson)
17. Brandon Robinson (Kawasaki)
18. Steve Murray (Harley-Davidson)

Pro Singles

Johnny’s Vintage Motorcycle’s Jarod Vanderkooi took the top-step in AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles at the Indy Mile, beating Parkingson Brothers Racing’s Kyle Johnson in a photo finish. Southland Racing’s Nick Armstrong rounded out the podium.

Vanderkooi and Johnson were close down to the final lap, with Vanderkooi opting to hold to second until just before the checkers. Vanderkooi then made use of a draft-pass move to challenge for the front, with the two riders crossing the line at the exact same time, according to timing screens.

“All my friends and family are here, I’m about three hours from home,” Vanderkooi said. “Everybody came out, my uncles, aunts, everybody. And it’s the legendary Indy Mile, it’s awesome.”

Bob Weirbach Race Team’s Ryan Foster finished in fourth followed by Englehart Racing’s Jeffery Lowery in fifth and Bromley Brothers’ Dan Bromley in sixth.

Johnson moves back into the points lead, dropping TJ Burnett Farms’ Davis Fisher to second. KTM’s Ryan Wells is third while Vanderkooi sits fourth.

AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles Indy Mile Results 2014
1. Jarod Vanderkooi (Honda)
2. Kyle Johnson (Honda)
3. Nick Armstrong (Honda)
4. Ryan Foster (Honda)
5. Jeffery Lowery (Honda)
6. Dan Bromley (KTM)
7. Brandon Wilhelm (Honda)
8. Nick McFadden (Honda)
9. Bronson Bauman (Honda)
10. Jace Castles (Yamaha)
11. Cole Anderson (Honda)
12. Andrew Butler (Honda)
13. Tyler Butts (Honda)
14. Dan McRoberts (Honda)
15. Macintosh McGrew (Honda)
16. Davis Fisher (Honda)
17. Jamison Minor (Honda)
18. Ryan Wells (KTM)


Facebook comments