AMA Flat Track Peoria TT Results 2014

August 18, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Don’s Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles notched his 10th-consecutive Peoria TT win in 2014, beating second-place finisher Jared Mees of Montgomeryville Cycle by 1.8 seconds. Ramspur Winer’s Jake Johnson rounded out the podium.

Wiles turned his front-row position to an early lead as riders rounded the opening turn, but got called back immediately after Fredricktown Yamaha’s Sammy Halbert took a spill. The red flag remained out for a while as Halbert collected himself, but the downtime played no role in Wiles’ determination, the Kawasaki ace ripping to the front once the green light went on a second time.

Mees slotted into the number-two spot during the opening rotation and challenged Wiles for much of the 25-lap race. Though he came within striking distance a number of times, Mees never found a way past Wiles and by the end Wiles had stretched a comfortable gap for the win.

“It feels amazing to be able to win 10 in a row here at the Peoria TT,” said Wiles. “This place means so much to me. The race atmosphere, the fans here are always awesome in Peoria. If you haven’t seen this race, you’re missing a little piece of American history. … With the history I’ve had here, it means so much to me.

“”I couldn’t be more happy with this main event. There’s so many people that helped me to get to where I am. I knew it was going to be tough. … I just find a good pace, I knew I didn’t have to go any harder than I was. I was just kind of maintaining. … Thankfully, it was enough today.”

Behind the front-runners positions shuffled, with Brothers Power Sports’ Brad Baker losing ground during the initial laps with some hard landings off the jump. Johnson slipped past into third the first time Baker bobbled while Rod Lake Racing’s Briar Bauman and Zanotti Racing’s Stevie Bonsey found lines past later in the contest to finish fourth and fifth, respectively. Baker held to sixth followed by Villa-Esparza’s Bryan Smith in seventh.

Mees’ second-place result was good enough to stretch his GNC Combined points lead further over Smith, now up to nine points. Johnson sits third followed by Kenny Coolbeth Jr. in fourth and Wiles in fifth.

AMA Pro Flat Track Expert Singles Peoria TT Results 2014
1. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki)
2. Jared Mees (Honda)
3. Jake Johnson (Honda)
4. Briar Bauman (Honda)
5. Stevie Bonsey (Honda)
6. Brad Baker (Honda)
7. Bryan Smith (Kawasaki)
8. Robert Pearson (Kawasaki)
9. Shaun Russell (Honda)
10. Mike Rush (Honda)
11. JD Beach (Yamaha)
12. Michael Kirkness (Kawasaki)
13. Dustin Crow (Yamaha)
14. Jake Shoemaker (Honda)
15. Jeffrey Carver Jr. (Honda)
16. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (Honda)
17. Chad Cose (Honda)
18. Justin Hittle (Honda)
19. Sammy Halbert (Yamaha)

Pro Singles

Ride Motorsports’ Jacob Lehman took his first AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles race win of 2014 at the Peoria TT. Rod Lake Racing’s Briar Bauman finished in second-place followed by KTM’s Ryan Wells in third.

Series points leader Kyle Johnson of Parkinson Brothers Racing led off the start, trailed by Lehman, Bauman and Wells through the opening lap. The second time around, however, Walter Racing’s Kevin Walter and Catalyst Reaction’s Cole Crowley went down forcing officials to red-flag the event.

Johnson and Lehman throttled off the line a second time for the number one and two spots, respectively, once action was back underway. Bauman got caught a few positions back but battled his way up the ranks to assume third-place once again as the 16-lap race reached mid-point. Johnson was holding steady at the front, keeping comfortable space between himself and Lehman, when disaster struck. Coming out of Turn 2 Johnson lost the front end and went down, allowing Lehman to speed past. Johnson was uninjured and quickly remounted further back in the pack, but took an even more severe spill in the final turn of the same lap, forcing officials to red flag the race a second time. Johnson’s second fall forced him to pull out of the race entirely.

Riders lined-up in staggered formation for restart number two, and Lehman rocketed to the head of the pack entering the first corner. Bauman was hot on his heels though, staying there until the final moments. Bauman came around the final corner of the last lap within inches of Lehman’s rear tire, and just before the line Bauman tried to swing out and throttle past, coming up short by just 0.057 seconds.

Gearfactor’s Jace Castles finished in fourth followed by RLJ Racing’s Justin Jones in fifth and Beal’s Sheet Metal’s Jayson Beal in sixth. Bromley Brothers KTM’s Dan Bromley took seventh with Rekluse’s Ben Lowe and GP Sports’ Rodney Spender Jr. finishing eighth and ninth, respectively.

Despite Johnson’s misfortune in Peoria, he retains the overall Pro Singles points lead as the series heads to Colonial Downs. Davis Fisher sits second while Wells is third followed by Bauman in fourth and Bromley in fifth.

AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles Peoria TT Results 2014
1. Jacob Lehman (Honda)
2. Bronson Bauman (Honda)
3. Ryan Wells (KTM)
4. Jace Castles (Yamaha)
5. Justin Jones (Honda)
6. Jayson Beal (Honda)
7. Dan Bromley (KTM)
8. Ben Lowe (Honda)
9. Rodney Spencer Jr. (Honda)
10. Jeffrey Lowrey (Honda)
11. Richard Ivey III (Yamaha)
12. Joe Bromley (KTM)
13. Macintosh McGrew (Honda)
14. Kole King (Honda)
15. Molly Terry (Hoonda)
16. Kyle Johnson (Honda)
17. Kevin Walter (KTM)
18. Cole Crowley (Honda)