Indiana 450 Motocross Results 2014

August 16, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen took the inaugural Thor Indiana National overall win with a 1-2 result, managing extremely muddy and slick conditions to extend his series points lead to 20 over his teammate, Ryan Dungey. Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard finished second going 3-1 while Dungey made the overall podium with a 2-9 result.

Moto 1

Roczen claimed the top-step in Moto 1 with a nearly flawless performance in very difficult conditions. Dungey kept the title battle alive with his second-place result while Canard finished in third.

The German rider let it all hang out off the start, sliding sideways through the first corner in an effort to get to the front of the pack. He gained the early lead and immediately started to build a gap on the field while riders behind struggled to keep their bikes upright. Dungey had a close call entering the initial corner, getting pushed wide into a mound of mud and nearly going over the handlebars. He lost touch with the front runners but got back into the mix within the top-10, fighting up the ranks to the runner-up spot before half the race had passed.

Canard fared better than Dungey initially, pushing past Lewis Long Racing’s Mitchell Oldenburg to take second-place during the opening lap. The Oklahoma native kept up a spirited pace as he and Roczen pushed away from the competition, but then Canard fell victim to conditions, getting stuck in the mud. At that point Dungey was pacing in third and while Canard struggled to get back in action, #5 passed easily into the runner-up spot. From there Roczen, Dungey and Canard held position to the checkers.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac wove his way through the field during the initial stages, arriving in fifth to battle with Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Brett Metcalfe. During the second-half of the competition Tomac found a way past the Australian rider for fourth-place. Metcalfe held to fifth while BTO Sports’ Matt Goerke took sixth. TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed finished in seventh followed by Goerke’s teammate, Andrew Short, in eighth.

Moto 2

Canard notched his second win of the year in Moto 2, beating out Roczen by a sizable 23 second margin at the checkers. Rockstar KTM’s Ryan Sipes made his first podium appearance of the year in third.

The Oklahoma native proved that the advantage of getting to the front early in such muddy conditions is no small matter, taking the lead and immediately stretching out ahead of the field. Roczen gave chase but never seriously challenged for the front through the moto. Sipes was in podium position during the initial stages as well, remaining steady despite some late race pressure from Short, who finished fourth.

Dungey had a frustrating second moto, getting caught well outside the top-10 during the opening laps. He battled up the ranks throughout, getting as high as eighth mid-moto, but dropping to ninth by the checkers.

JGRMX’s Josh Grant grabbed fifth-place ahead of Reed in sixth. RCH Racing’s Weston Peick finished seventh followed by Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Fredrik Noren in eighth. Tomac, like Dungey, got a terrible start and spent the remainder of the moto trying to fight as far up the ranks as possible, making it to 10th by the finish.

Roczen came to Indiana with just seven points advantage over Dungey in second, but leaves 20 points ahead. Canard sits third followed by Metcalfe in fourth and Tomac in fifth.

Indiana 450 Motocross Results 2014
1. Ken Roczen (KTM) 1-2
2. Trey Canard (Honda) 3-1
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 2-9
4. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 10-3
5. Andrew Short (KTM) 8-4
6. Chad Reed (Kawasaki) 7-6
7. Eli Tomac (Honda) 4-10
8. Josh Grant (Yamaha) 12-5
9. Fredrik Noren (Honda) 9-8
10. Matt Goerke (KTM) 6-11
11. Weston Peick (Suzuki) 11-7
12. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki) 5-13
13. Ben Lamay (Yamaha) 13-12
14. Kellian Rusk (Yamaha) 15-14
15. Shane Sewell (KTM) 16-16

450 Motocross Championship Points 2014
1. Ken Roczen, 494
2. Ryan Dungey, 474
3. Trey Canard, 418
4. Brett Metcalfe, 304
5. Eli Tomac, 281
6. Andrew Short, 278
7. Weston Peick, 268
8. Josh Grant, 243
9. James Stewart, 226
10. Chad Reed, 185


Facebook comments