Utah 250 Motocross Results 2014

August 23, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamalube Star Racing’s Jeremy Martin secured the 2014 Nationals title at the previous round in Indiana, but staged an aggressive performance at Miller Motorsports Park anyway, going 1-1 in dominant fashion. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett’s 3-3 result was good enough to get him second overall, while Martin’s teammate, Cooper Webb, took third with a 2-4 finish.

Moto 1

Webb and Martin tore around the opening turn, with Webb scoring the holeshot and Martin following in second. The teammates lapped in that order for a number of rotations, but Martin was tenacious, eventually passing Webb and stretching a 14-second gap on the field by the checkers.

Baggett would work his way up to third, weaving his way through the pack after a bad start left him back in 10th during the first two laps. The Kawasaki ace made quick work of the riders ahead, reaching the final podium spot on Lap 6.

Fourth-place finisher, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, was outside the top-five as well during the initial stages, but cut up the field to pace in third for a brief period before Baggett arrived to take the spot for himself.

Newcomer to the pro ranks, Bagget’s teammate Christopher Alldredge, took fifth-place ahead of GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle and Zach Osborne in sixth and seventh, respectively. Rockstar Energy Racing’s Joey Savatgy finished in eighth followed by Osborne’s teammate RJ Hampshire, who, like Alldredge, is fresh from the Amateur ranks.

Moto 2

Savatgy was chasing a better result and ripped the holeshot in Moto 2, but Martin was there again in second and within the opening turns this year’s title winner was at the head of the pack. No one had a chance after that, with Martin opening up a 19-second gap on the field by the checkers.

Behind, positions changed hands between Savatgy, Bogle, Webb, Baggett, Musquin and Wilson. Savatgy and Musquin held to the number two and three spots early on, but Bogle was on a charge and mid-race the Honda rider had moved into the runner-up spot, where he’d hold to the checkers. Savatgy dropped outside the top-five as the race progressed, while Baggett and Webb ascended the ranks.

Entering the round, Baggett held second overall by just two points ahead of Webb. After Webb’s Moto 1 performance the two riders were all tied up. Webb maintained an early advantage over Baggett but the Kawasaki rider was on a mission and eventually made it past Webb after a tough battle. Baggett would go on to finish third with Webb trailing in fourth, restoring the two-point differential and giving Baggett second overall in this year’s championship.

Musquin’s early moto strength waned and he slipped back to fifth-place by the finish, followed by Wilson in sixth and Savatgy in seventh. Alldredge put in another strong performance, taking eighth, with Osborne trailing in ninth and Troy Lee Designs’ Shane McElrath rounding out the top-10.

Martin’s stellar performance in the finale brings his moto-win total to 10 for 2014. He finishes 79 points ahead of Baggett in second, 81 points ahead of Webb in third. Musquin ends the year in fourth while Bogle finishes fifth.

Utah 250 Motocross Results 2014
1. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 1-1
2. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 3-3
3. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 2-4
4. Justin Bogle (Honda) 6-2
5. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 4-5
6. Christopher Alldredge (Kawasaki) 5-8
7. Joey Savatgy (KTM) 8-7
8. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) 10-6
9. Zach Osborne (Honda) 7-9
10. RJ Hampshire (Honda) 9-11
11. Shane McElrath (Honda) 12-10
12. Cole Seely (Honda) 14-12
13. Alex Martin (Yamaha) 13-13
14. Jessy Nelson (Honda) 11-17
15. Nick Gaines (Kawasaki) 17-14

250 Motocross Championship Points 2014
1. Jeremy Martin, 500
2. Blake Baggett, 421
3. Cooper Webb, 418
4. Marvin Musquin, 408
5. Justin Bogle, 368
6. Christophe Pourcel, 355
7. Jason Anderson, 276
8. Cole Seely, 260
9. Jessy Nelson, 252
10. Dean Wilson, 230


Facebook comments