AMA Flat Track Springfield Mile II Results 2014

September 2, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Zanotti Racing’s Kenny Coolbeth Jr. took his fourth AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National win of 2014 at the Springfield Mile II. Villa-Esparza’s Bryan Smith finished a close second followed by Rogers Racing’s Jared Mees in third.

Smith led the way through the opening lap, but faced serious pressure from the likes of Coolbeth, Mees, Ramspur Winery’s Jake Johnson, Hot Shot Motors’ Jake Shoemaker and Dons Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles. Positions changed hands through nearly every turn of the 25-lap contest, though Smith did prevail as the rider with the most laps led. Coming into the final rotation Smith maintained his position at the head of the pack, with Coolbeth and Mees chasing close behind in second and third. Smith defended his place through Turns 1 and 2 but on entry to Turn 3 Coolbeth whipped around the outside and slotted into first as they throttled down the final straight. Smith pushed his Kawi hard in an attempt to draft past but came up 0.010 seconds short at the line.

“Springfield is tough,” Coolbeth said. “Everybody goes fast here, to get a win is huge. We had an up-and-down year, but when we’re good, we’re good. So I’ll take it.”

Shoemaker finished the race in fourth ahead of Wiles in fifth. Johnson slipped back in the ranks and missed a top-five result by a slim 0.003 seconds, ending the day in sixth. H_D of Wausau’s Willie McCoy finished in seventh followed by Coolbeth’s teammate, Stevie Bonsey, in eighth and Harley-Davidson’s Brad Baker in ninth.

Smith retains the overall GNC Combined points lead, with Mees trailing nine points back in second. Johnson sits third followed by Coolbeth in fourth and Wiles in fifth.

AMA Flat Track Expert Twins Springfield Mile II Results 2014
1. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (Harley-Davidson)
2. Bryan Smith (Kawasaki)
3. Jared Mees (Harley-Davidson)
4. Jake Shoemaker (Kawasaki)
5. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki)
6. Jake Johnson (Kawasaki)
7. Willie McCoy (Harley-Davidson)
8. Stevie Bonsey (Harley-Davidson)
9. Brad Baker (Harley-Davidson)
10. Brandon Robinson (Kawasaki)
11. Mikey Martin (Triumph)
12. Robert Pearson (KTM)
13. Sammy Halbert (Kawasaki)
14. Cory Texter (Kawasaki)
15. Wyatt Maguire (Kawasaki)
16. Shayna Texter (Triumph)
17. Scooter Vernon (Kawasaki)
18. Doug Lawrence (Harley-Davidson)

Pro Twins

Johnny Vintage Motorcycle’s Jarod Vanderkooi took the AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Twins win at the Springfield Mile II. B&B Racing’s Molly Terry scored second followed by Van Leeuwen Distributing’s Dalton Winkler in third.

Vanderkooi rocketed to the front off the line followed by Terry and Sylvester Farms’ Brandon Wilhelm in second and third. Vanderkooi held on to the top-spot through the opening laps but faced a challenge from Wilhelm half-way through. Terry remained close as well, but was forced to slow mid-race and dropped a bit off the pace of the front-runners. She rallied back and was soon in the battle for podium position again, challenging Wilhelm for second by Lap 9 of 12. On the penultimate lap Wilhelm ran into trouble and threw a frustrated hand up, dropping to the back of the pack with bike issues. Terry nearly lost her machine dodging Wilhelm, but remained upright and brought it home for second-place. The incident allowed Vanderkooi to stretch a comfortable gap in the final moments, finishing over two seconds ahead of his closest competition.

“It’s just awesome to be able to come out here and perform like I did the last two times,” Vanderkooi said. “I have a great bike behind me. I got a good start and pulled it off.”

Roy Miller’s Jamison Minor finished in fourth followed by The Lodge in Springfield’s Jeffery Lowery in fifth. F&S Worldwide’s Tyler Butts took sixth with Roy Built’s Ryan Varnes crossing the line in seventh.

AMA Flat Track Pro Twins Springfield Mile II Results 2014
1. Jarod Vanderkooi (Kawasaki)
2. Molly Terry (Harley-Davidson)
3. Dalton Winkler (Kawasaki)
4. Jamison Minor (Kawasaki)
5. Jeffery Lowery (Kawasaki)
6. Tyler Butts (Harley-Davidson)
7. Ryan Varnes (Kawasaki)
8. Macintosh McGrew (Honda)
9. Andrew Butler (Kawasaki)
10. J.R. Addison (Harley-Davidson)
11. Austin Helmholz (Kawasaki)
12. Levi Mayer (Suzuki)
13. Ryan Connelly (Harley-Davidson)
14. Brian McRoberts (Kawasaki)
15. Shawn McNary (Kawasaki)
16. Barry Benkert Jr. (Kawasaki)
17. Brandon Wilhelm (Harley-Davidson)
18. Curtis Vanderkooi (Suzuki)


Facebook comments