Flat Track Calistoga Half-Mile Results 2014

September 29, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Harley-Davidson’s Brad Baker, the defending Grand National Champion, took his first AMA Flat Track win of 2014 at the Calistoga Half-Mile. Rogers Racing’s Jared Mees trailed in second-place followed by Ramspur Winery’s Jake Johnson in third.

The start was delayed for a period after Dons Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles broke a chain on the sight lap, dropping a line of oil on the track in the process. Officials cleaned the section of track and riders were soon ready for action, with Mees rocketing to the front through the opening turns. He was followed by South East H-D’s Sammy Halbert, Johnson, Zanotti Racing’s Kenny Coolbeth Jr. and Baker during the initial stages. Baker began to rise up the ranks, getting into a battle with Halbert and Johnson for second by Lap 6.

Villa-Esparza’s Bryan Smith pushed his way into the mix as well, but after nine laps his bike began to smoke. He continued to turn laps and fight for podium position, but a few rotations after his mechanical troubles began officials gave Smith the black flag. Smith kept on racing however, finishing the contest physically in second-place but being dropped to the back of the pack in the official results.

Baker, meanwhile, continued to push up the field, passing Johnson and Mees halfway through the race for the lead. He held steady at the front after that, getting a little breathing room after some lappers held up Mees and Johnson during the latter stages.

“It’s been an up-and-down season for both me and the team,” said Baker. “We knew we had what it took and it was just lining all the pieces together. I finally got by (Mees) and was able to pick off my own pace. I got by Jake at the end and I just came into my own and starting putting down consistent laps. It feels amazing putting this Harley-Davidson XR750 on top of the box.”

Halbert lost ground on the front runners toward the end, finishing fourth. Coolbeth was three additional seconds behind Halbert in fifth followed by Lawrence Racing’ Doug Lawrence in sixth. USC Kawasaki’s Jake Shoemaker finished in seventh trailed by Dan Dafner’s Jeffrey Carver Jr. in eighth and TJ Burnett Farms’ Brandon Robinson in ninth. Wiles made it to the finish after repairing his machine early on, taking 10th.

Smith came into the round with a nine point advantage atop the GNC Championship points list, but leaves in second overall, 13 adrift of the new leader, Mees. Johnson sits third followed by Coolbeth in fourth and Baker in fifth.

AMA Flat Track GNC Expert Twins Calistoga Results 2014
1. Brad Baker (Harley-Davidson)
2. Jared Mees (Harley-Davidson)
3. Jake Johnson (Harley-Davidson)
4. Sammy Halbert (Harley-Davidson)
5. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (Harley-Davidson)
6. Doug Lawrence (Harley-Davidson)
7. Jake Shoemaker (Kawasaki)
8. Jeffrey Carver Jr. (Harley-Davidson)
9. Brandon Robinson (Kawasaki)
10. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki)
11. Ronnie Jones (Harley-Davidson)
12. Wyatt Maguire (Suzuki)
13. Chad Cose (Kawasaki)
14. Mike Rush (Suzuki)
15. Nichole Mees (Harley-Davidson)

Pro Singles

TJ Burnett Farms’ Davis Fisher claimed the first AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles win of his career at the Calistoga Half-Mile. Johnny’s Vintage Motorcycle’s Jarod Vanderkooi finished in second followed by Thresher Communications’ Ryan Foster in third.

Fisher had speed from the start, running out to the front through the first turns. He and the rest of the field were immediately called back with a red flag, however, as a number of riders got tangled in a pile-up just after the green light. Two riders were unable to return after the incident, Honda rider Molly Terry and points leader Kyle Johnson of Parkinson Brothers Racing.

Riders collected themselves in the hot box until the restart, and Fisher took to the front once again when the contest was back underway. The race had hardly started when another red flag was flown, this time because Johnson’s teammate, J.R. Addison and Ride Motorsports’ Cole Fredrickson had crashed. Both were unharmed and able to return to the grid.

The second restart saw Rod Lake Racing’s Bronson Bauman throttle to the front, but Fisher was right there in second-place and within the first lap Fisher had passed for the lead. Fisher pushed to build a gap through subsequent laps, but Vanderkooi was flying and quickly closed up to Fisher’s rear tire. The final stages saw the two riders battle hard, Vanderkooi attempting inside moves and high-line passes through nearly every turn. The fight ended when Vanderkooi got out wide near the end and nearly high-sided his bike, giving Fisher plenty of breathing room through the final laps.

“It feels great, I feel like I broke through the wall and I can start moving forward,” said Fisher. “If I can maybe win Pomona that would be awesome.”

“I kept going harder and harder, gaining momentum on Davis,” said Vanderkooi. “But I got too high, it was a little slick up there, and I about high sided down the back straightaway. It scared me for a minute, I thought I was going down. But awesome ride for Davis.”

Josh Chisum’s Ryan Kearns took fourth ahead of Bauman in fifth and Bromley Brothers Racing’s Dan Bromley in sixth.

Despite taking a DNF for the round, Johnson maintains the points lead with one round to go. Fisher is within striking distance of taking the title though, six points adrift in second-place. KTM’s Ryan Wells is third followed by Bauman in fourth and Vanderkooi in fifth.

AMA Flat Track Pro Singles Calistoga Half-Mile Results 2014
1. Davis Fisher (Honda)
2. Jarod Vanderkooi (Honda)
3. Ryan Foster (Honda)
4. Ryan Kearns (Yamaha)
5. Bronson Bauman (Honda)
6. Dan Bromley (KTM)
7. Jeffery Lowery (Honda)
8. Nick Armstrong (Honda)
9. Kolby Carlile (KTM)
10. Cole Fredrickson (Honda)
11. Cole Anderson (Honda)
12. J.R. Addison (Honda)
13. Ryan Wells (KTM)
14. Austin Helmholz (Honda)
15. James Monaco (Honda)
16. Austin Scaggs (Honda)
17. Kyle Johnson (Honda)
18. Molly Terry (Honda)