Atlanta I 450 Supercross Results 2015

February 21, 2015
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.
More than a year since his last race win, Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed made the top step once again with a commanding performance in Atlanta. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey finished in second position followed by Team Honda’s Trey Canard in third.Reed blasted to the front of the pack through the opening turns, building a small gap on the field within the first lap. JGRMX’s Phil Nicoletti, riding in place of the injured Justin Barcia, slotted into second place after a great start, followed by teammate Weston Peick in third and Dungey in fourth.

Nicoletti was unable to hold the number two spot very long as Peick found a line past on the second lap. Dungey dispatched Nicoletti a few turns later. Reed, meanwhile, was stretching his advantage, which was up to just about two seconds by Lap 3. Peick kept the throttle pinned during the intial laps and was one of the fastest riders on track during the early stages, making it tough for Dungey to close in for the runner-up spot.

Further back, RCH Suzuki’s Ken Roczen was fighting his way up the ranks from outside the top-10. GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac pushed to improve on his sixth-place position, while Canard trailed in seventh. Of these three riders, only one would remain upright all the way to the end.

Tomac was first to hit the dirt, grabbing too much brake on entry to the tight final turn on Lap 5, losing the front and going down hard. He was able to walk away, but was pretty scratched up. Three laps later Roczen suffered an epic crash, flying off his bike in the whoops and landing on a tough block, narrowly avoiding getting hit by his bike in the process. This was Roczen’s second gnarly crash of the day, the Suzuki rider smashing into a wall during practice after running off track.

Reed continued to hold sway at the front and Dungey moved ahead of Peick to pursue the Kawasaki ace from second. Peick held to third for a period, but Canard proved too fast, passing into podium position halfway through the race.

The second half of the race saw Dungey close in on Reed, but he never came close enough to battle for the lead. Canard was unable to contend for a better position either, crossing the line more than three seconds adrift of Reed.

“The start made all the difference tonight,” said Reed. “With the pace that the top guys are running, you have to be up front from the get-go. The track started to break down pretty quickly, but my bike was great and I was able to find lines that worked as the dirt deteriorated.”

Canard’s teammate, Cole Seely, trailed by a wide margin in fourth while Peick slipped back to finish in fifth. Roczen’s teammate, Broc Tickle grabbed sixth-place followed by Rockstar Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson in seventh. Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Baggett took eighth with BTO Sports’ Andrew Short trailing in ninth and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Josh Grant rounding out the top-10.

Dungey extends his points lead to 25 over the new second-placed rider, Canard. Roczen remounted after his off and powered up to 18th, taking three points for the night. He drops to third overall followed by Tomac, who was only able to score one point in Atlanta, in fourth.

Atlanta I 450 Supercross Results 2015
1. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Trey Canard (Honda)
4. Cole Seely (Honda)
5. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
6. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
7. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
8. Blake Baggett (Suzuki)
9. Andrew Short (KTM)
10. Josh Grant (Kawasaki)
11. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
12. Davi Millsaps (Kawasaki)
13. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
14. Josh Hill (Yamaha)
15. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
16. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
17. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
18. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
19. Zack Freeberg (Yamaha)
20. Eli Tomac (Honda)
21. Ronnie Stewart (Suzuki)
22. Cade Clason (Honda)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2015
1. Ryan Dungey, 174
2. Trey Canard, 149
3. Ken Roczen, 143
4. Eli Tomac, 115
5. Jason Anderson, 114
6. Cole Seely, 111
7. Chad Reed, 110
8. Blake Baggett, 99
9. Andrew Short, 94
10. Broc Tickle, 78