Glen Helen 250 Motocross Results 2015

Byron Wilson | May 24, 2015
Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin topped the overall 250 motocross podium at Glen Helen Raceway thanks to two consecutive moto wins. Musquin’s teammate, Justin Hill, ended in second position overall with a 2-5 result followed by Troy Lee Designs’ Jessy Nelson in third, going 4-4.Moto 1

Off the start it was Nelson to the front of the pack followed by Musquin and Savatgy. Last week’s overall winner, Yamalube Star Racing’s Jeremy Martin, was poised for another strong showing after taking the Bud Light Fastest Qualifier honors, but a mechanical issue left him and his team scrambling at the start of Moto 1. Martin was frantically trying to get the bike to turn over as the gate prepared to drop and by the time it finally got going he was faced with a fight through the field to salvage points. At the end of Lap 1 he paced back in 24th position. As the race wore on, he continued to rise in the ranks, making it to fifth by the checkers.

Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo had a turn of bad luck at the start of the race as well. As the riders came off the line and began to bunch together on the approach to the opening turn, Cianciarulo made contact with a few of the competitors around him and dropped to the ground. The incident left him running in 32nd after Lap 1, but he too fought through the field and made it to 12th by the finish.

Out front, Nelson held steady in the lead for much of the first half of the race. He faced heavy pressure from Musquin though, and mid-way through the moto lost the lead position to the French rider. From there Musuqin was able to build a gap between himself and the field, crossing the line more than six seconds ahead of his closest competition.

Nelson remained the runner-up for a few laps but near the end of the race dropped back a bit further, first losing position to Hill and then Savatgy. At the finish it was Musquin, Hill and Savatgy taking the one, two and three positions with Nelson trailing in fourth.

GEICO Honda’s Matt Bisceglia finished in sixth followed by’s Kyle Peters in seventh and Martin’s teammate, Aaron Plessinger in eighth.

Moto 2

Musquin nabbed the holeshot in Moto 2 but had Nelson and’s Alex Martin fighting him hard for position. The order recorded after Lap 1 had Martin in first, Nelson second and Musquin third. The following lap saw Musquin push past both riders for the lead, and from there he started to distance himself from the field for the win.

The start was not so good for Jeremy Martin, turning an already frustrating day even more difficult. He was in a strong position near the head of the pack through the opening turns, but then got clipped by Nelson and went down. The incident brought down Bisceglia and GEICO Honda’s Jordan Smith as well, and Martin was left helpless as the field flew past, trying to get his bike upright to return to the race. He was left with much the same task as he’d had in Moto 1, battling through the field in order to salvage points. He put in another remarkable performance too, fighting from near the back of the pack to finish sixth.

Alex Martin ended the moto in second-place followed by Nelson’s teammate, Shane Mcelrath, in third. Mcelrath settled in the top-five off the start and slowly worked his way up the ranks, taking the final podium position near the end of the race. Nelson crossed the line in fourth.

Hill finished fifth followed by Jeremy Martin and Savatgy in sixth and seventh. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christopher Alldredge took eighth.

Musquin leaves Glen Helen with the outright points lead over Jeremy Martin. Alex Martin sits third followed by Savatgy in fourth and Hill in fifth.

Glen Helen 250 Motocross Overall Results 2015
1. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 1-1
2. Justin Hill (KTM) 2-5
3. Jessy Nelson (KTM) 4-4
4. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki) 3-7
5. Alex Martin (Yamaha) 11-2
6. Shane Mcelrath (KTM) 9-3
7. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 5-6
8. Matt Bisceglia (Honda) 6-11
9. Kyle Peters (Honda) 7-12
10. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki) 12-10
11. RJ Hampshire (Honda) 16-9
12. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM) 10-15
13. Jordon Smith (Honda) 14-14
14. Christopher Alldredge (Kawasaki) 21-8
15. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha) 8-23

250 Motocross Championship Points 2015
1. Marvin Musquin, 97
2. Jeremy Martin, 78
3. Alex Martin, 65
4. Joey Savatgy, 58
5. Justin Hill, 52
6. Christopher Alldredge, 49
7. Jessy Nelson, 46
8. Matt Bisceglia, 45
9. Shane Mcelrath, 44
10. Adam Cianciarulo, 42


Byron Wilson

Associate Editor | Articles | Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.