Glen Helen 450 Motocross Results 2015

MotorcycleUSA Staff | May 24, 2015
GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac swept the 450 motocross round at Glen Helen, maintaining a perfect record in the class through the first two stops of the 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. JGRMX’s Justin Barcia had a strong showing, placing second overall with a 2-4 result. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey rounded out the overall podium, going 6-2.Moto 1

Barcia was quickest off the line in Moto 1, taking the holeshot, and in the early going faced a challenge from teammate Phil Nicoletti. Barcia lost the lead to Nicoletti in the opening rotation, but regained the front on Lap 2. Behind, Dungey held steady in third followed by TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed in fourth and Tomac in fifth.

Dungey didn’t wait long before getting himself into the fight for the lead, moving to second-place on Lap 2 and taking the front for Lap 3. Tomac was moving up the ranks as well, slipping into second-place by Lap 4 and dropping Barcia back to third. The Honda ace kept the pressure on Dungey for a number of laps but was then given an easy opening when Dungey’s bike stalled. Tomac zipped by while Dungey worked to get the bike fired again. At that point, Dungey had enough of a gap to third that he avoided losing any position. Later, however, a second stall would cost Dungey a number of spots, dropping the KTM ace back to sixth by the checkers.

Tomac went unchallenged to the finish after taking the lead. When Dungey’s bike stalled a second time, Barcia moved back into the runner-up spot, where he’d finish. Nicoletti was still in the hunt as well and slipped up to finish third in the moto followed by Reed in fourth and JGRMX’s Weston Peick in fifth.

Trailing Dungey in seventh was Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Baggett. RCH Racing’s Ken Roczen finished in eighth, having to recover from early contact with Rockstar Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson. The incident left both riders’ machines tangled for a period and cost Roczen huge amounts of time, the Suzuki ace placing back in 37th through Lap 1. Anderson didn’t fare nearly as well, his race ending soon after the trouble, leaving him 38th.

Moto 2

Tomac got a fantastic start in Moto 2, taking the holeshot and early lead. Dungey, Barcia and Roczen trailed, but none were able to mount a serious challenge to the Honda rider. Tomac went on to lead every lap and finished with a 23 second advantage over his closest competition at the checkers.

“I had a good battle with Dungey in the first moto,” said Tomac. “We went bar-to-bar for quite a few laps there. He had one mistake and stalled, and I was able to take full advantage of that and ride away and finish it off.

“Second moto, I finally got a holeshot. It was amazing. I’ve been working on my starts so much, so I was really happy to do that and it put me out front right away. From there I was able to stay clean and just ride. I actually had a lot of fun and enjoyed the race.

“Being healthy and strong is crucial in motocross because the motos are so long. You don’t hit that 20-minute wall when your body is fit and not beat up. Last year I had little dings and nicks and it felt like I was always chasing.”

Dungey slotted into second position early on and remained there to the finish as well. Roczen got through the start without any issue and claimed third-place during the opening rotation, where he’d remain to the finish. Barcia did the same in fourth.

Anderson finished fifth followed by Peick in sixth and Baggett in seventh. Reed finished eighth ahead of Team Honda’s Cole Seely in ninth and Rockstar Husqvarna’s Christophe Pourcel in 10th.

Tomac’s four moto wins give him a full 100 points through the first two rounds and the series lead. Dungey is second, 19 behind the Honda ace, followed by Peick in third, Baggett in fourth and Barcia in fifth.

Glen Helen 450 Motocross Results 2015
1. Eli Tomac (Honda) 1-1
2. Justin Barcia (Yamaha) 2-4
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 6-2
4. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) 8-3
5. Weston Peick (Yamaha) 5-6
6. Chad Reed (Kawasaki) 4-8
7. Blake Baggett (Suzuki) 7-7
8. Christophe Pourcel (Husqvarna) 9-10
9. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha) 3-21
10. Cole Seely (Honda) 14-9
11. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) 38-5
12. Fredrik Noren (Honda) 13-13
13. Broc Tickle (Suzuki) 12-15
14. Thomas Hahn (Honda) 15-14
15. Wil Hahn (Kawasaki) 11-18

450 Motocross Championship Points 2015
1. Eli Tomac, 100
2. Ryan Dungey, 81
3. Weston Peick, 64
4. Blake Baggett, 61
5. Justin Barcia, 58
6. Ken Roczen, 51
7. Jason Anderson, 50
8. Christophe Pourcel, 48
9. Chad Reed, 46
10. Broc Tickle,