World Superbike Imola Superpole Results 2015

MotorcycleUSA Staff | May 9, 2015 Racing Ducati’s Davide Giugliano marked his return to the 2015 World Superbike Championship with pole position at Imola. Kawasaki’s Tom Sykes will start from second on the grid followed by his teammate, Jonathan Rea, in third.

Giugliano was fastest leading into SP2, having posted the quickest time in practice earlier in the day. He came out swinging in the Superpole session as well, running to the top of the timesheet mid-way through SP2. After riders switched to qualifying rubber, it was Giuliano’s teammate, Chaz Davies, who took over position at the head of the pack. But with less than two minutes remaining in the session Giugliano answered back, posting what would be the best lap of the day. The Kawasaki duo pushed to the end to move ahead of Giugliano, but fell just short.

Davies ended in fourth-position ahead of Aprilia Racing’s Leon Haslam in fifth. Haslam had an off early in SP2 which cost him valuable time, but luckily both he and the bike were in good enough shape to continue. Haslam’s teammate, Jordi Torres, starts from sixth on the grid followed by BARNI Racing’s Leandro Mercado in seventh.

Further down the ranks, MV Agusta’s Leon Camier earned a spot in SP2 through SP1, but an issue with his machine in the first session made it impossible for him to log a lap in SP2. Defending champion Sylvain Guintoli was unable to make it out of SP1 and will start from 15th on the grid while his teammate Michael van der Mark qualified ninth overall.

World Superbike Imola Superpole Results 2015
1. Davide Giugliano (Ducati) 1’46.382
2. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’46.466
3. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) 1’46.503
4. Chaz Davies (Ducati) 1’46.672
5. Leon Haslam (Aprilia) 1’46.854
6. Jordi Torres (Aprilia) 1’47.394
7. Leandro Mercado (Ducati) 1’47.628
8. Ayrton Badovini (BMW) 1’48.147
9. Michael van der Mark (Honda) 1’48.225
10. David Salom (Kawasaki) 1’48.524
11. Alex Lowes (Suzuki) 1’48.730
12. Leon Camier (MV Agusta)
13. Michel Fabrizio (Ducati) 1’48.148
14. Matteo Baiocco (Ducati) 1’48.174
15. Sylvain Guintoli (Honda) 1’48.567
16. Roman Ramos (Kawasaki) 1’49.685
17. Randy de Puniet (Suzuki) 1’50.378
18. Santiago Barragan (Kawasaki) 1’51.398
19. Christophe Ponsson (Kawasaki) 1’51.786
20. Imre Toth (BMW) 1’52.580
21. Gabor Rizmayer (BMW) 1’53.813