Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Results 2015

MotorcycleUSA Staff | June 29, 2015

Honda’s Jeff Tigert became King of the Mountain in 2015 after finishing as the fastest motorcycle in the 93rd running of the Pike’s Peak International Hill Climb. Travis Newbold finished second-place in the Heavyweight division and overall among the motorcycle competitors aboard his Ronin, nearly 16 seconds behind Tigert’s winning 10:02:735 run. Kawasaki pilot Bruno Langlois finished third in the Heavyweight class and third-fastest motorcycle overall.

Jeff Tigert Pikes Peak 2015

The motorcycle classes were first to run and riders began to attack the course at 8 a.m. with clear sunny skies overhead. The Vintage competitors were up first followed by the Pike’s Peak 250 and Exhibition classes. This included Project 156 rider Don Canet and the Roland Sands Design Victory prototype motorcycle. Road temperatures were still slightly cool at that early hour and Canet was unable to bring the Victory to the top, suffering an off in the upper section of the course. Luckily, Canet was unharmed in the incident.

Entries were modest for the classes leaving first thing, with four riders in the Vintage and Exhibition classes and just two in the 250 class. Keith Speir claimed victory for the Vintage division with a 1969 Triumph C&J while in the 250s it was Nick Robinson onboard a Honda CRF250R. The Exhibition winner was David Johansen aboard a KTM 450.

Electric Production and Electric Modified classes ran next, and Zero dominated the production division, all three entries coming from the California-based marque. Jeff Clark’s 12:06:346 was the winning time for the Production class. The Modified division featured two competitors, Yoshihiro Kishimoto riding a MIRAI and the Ohio State Buckeye Current machine. Kishimoto prevailed in the head-to-head battle, beating the Buckeyes by nearly 14 seconds.

The Lightweights were up after that and Codie Vahsholtz took the top-prize aboard his KTM SMR. Joseph Connor Toner finished second in the class followed by Honda CRF450R rider Darryl Lujan in third. JD Mosley’s Triumph Daytona 675 rocketed him to victory in the Middleweight class, beating second-place finisher Joseph Toner by around one and a half seconds. Kristipher Lillegard finished third.

Then the Heavyweights were off and Tigert was heavily favored after finishing fastest in qualifying as well as the earlier practice sessions through the bottom sections of the hill. Tigert faced a set-back during his effort to better his initial qualifying time, hitting the inside white line in the second sector and going down. His bike slide off the edge of the hill and came to a rest on a log. The team was faced with an evening of repair work after the Friday incident, but were able to get the machine dialed and ready for Sunday’s race without issue.

When the dust settled and the times were logged, TIgert had finished well ahead of any of the competitors in the class and was seventh-fastest overall among motorcycles and cars combined. This is Tigert’s second time to the Colorado mountain, the Honda ace taking the top-spot in 2013 in the 450 class with a record-setting run. Motorcycle USA had the privilege of following along with Tigert and his crew from Thursday through the race on Sunday and will present a more in-depth account of the Honda rider’s experience at this year’s Pikes Peak in a forthcoming article.

Not long after the motorcycle classes reached the top, a thunder/lightning/hail/snow storm moved through the area, forcing officials to halt proceedings and then shorten the race for a number of cars and the ATV classes. Luckily the weather passed and riders were eventually able to get down the mountain safely.

This year’s Pike’s Peak was not without serious incident however, with Carl Sorensen losing his life after an incident in Thursday’s practice. Tigert dedicated his King of the Mountain win to Sorensen, his family, friends and crew.

Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Results 2015

1. Jeffrey Tigert (Honda) 10:02:735
2. Travis Newbold (Ronin) 10:18:514
3. Bruno Langlois (Kawasaki) 10:19:738
4. Jamie Robinson (Ducati) 10:30:453
5. Ray Thornton (BMW) 10:35:234
6. Stefan Dolipski (BMW) 11:14:226
7. Fabrice Miguet (VOXAN) 14:58:898

1. JD Mosley (Triumph) 10:48:839
2. Joseph Toner (Kawasaki) 10:50:209
3 Kristipher Lillegard (MV Agusta) 10:52:055
4. Jeff Grace (Triumph) 10:57:159
5. Zachary Jacobs (Honda) 10:57:484
6. Michael Henao (Ducati) 10:57:704
7. Shane Scott (Ducati) 11:10:185
8. Greg Chicoine (Kawasaki) 11:14:271
9. Jose Guedez (Ducati) 11:25:027
10. Adam Bauer (Kawasaki) 11:25:613
11. Ryan Warren (Triumph) 12:00:353
12. Dan Elders (Suzuki) 12:03:811
13. Cody Steggell (Suzuki) 12:05:483
14. Scott Yenzer (KTM) 12:52:275
15. Colin Barton (Kawasaki) 13:36:424
16. Neal Catling (Ducati) 17:03:201

1. Codie Vahsholtz (KTM) 10:50:421
2. Joseph Connor Toner (Aprilia) 11:03:058
3. Darryl Lujan (Honda) 11:38:282
4. David Mobley (Yamaha) 11:48:866
5. Jason Doody (Yamaha) 12:00:952
6. Brian Osborne (Aprilia) 12:02:132
7. Jim Cole (Yamaha0 12:20:238
8. Jude Monica (Cannondale) 12:24:600
9. Robert Laird (Honda) 12:25:096
10. Robert Gehring (Yamaha) 12:33:493
11. Shihab Alireza (Honda) 12:44:902
12. Mark Bartle (Yamaha) 12:50:572
13. Tom Specht (Honda) 12:56:352
14. Doug Chestnutt (Yamah) 13:32:194
15. Edgar Escobar (Honda) 14:13:220

1. Yoshihiro Kishimoto (MIRAI) 10:58:861
2. Joe Prussiano (Buckeye Current) 11:12:756

1. Jeff Clark (Zero) 12:06:346
2. Nathan Barker (Zero) 12:37:161
3. Brandon Miller (Zero) 13:10:894

Pikes Peak 250
1. Nick Robinson (Honda) 12:37:000
2. Elisabeth Deeter (Kawasaki) 12:57:047

Pikes Peak Vintage Motorcycle
1. Keith Speir (Triumph) 12:42:333
2. Mark Shim (Triumph) 13:31:387
3. David Rutherford (BSA Trackmaster) 13:39:416
4. Christophe Marquis (Yamaha) 16:06:498

1. David Johansen (KTM) 11:16:555
2. Yasuo Arai (Kawasaki) 11:18:667

PPC Sidecar
1. Wade Boyd (Suzuki)
2. Masahito Watanabe (KUMANO Motorsport)