MotoGP Indianapolis Results 2015

MotorcycleUSA Staff | August 9, 2015

Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez maintained his perfect MotoGP record in the United States with the win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Movistar Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo finished in second-place followed by his teammate, Valentino Rossi, in third. The race win also gives Honda its 700th Grand Prix victory.

MotoGP Indianapolis 2015

Lorenzo got great drive off the line and held the inside line from third on the grid into Turn 1, taking the lead with Marquez and Pedrosa trialing in second and third. Ducati’s Andrea Iannone and Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith got ahead of Rossi, the current points leader getting squeezed outside the top-five in the opening turns. Rossi made quick work of Smith when the Tech 3 rider ran wide on Lap 1 and then got ahead of Iannone the following lap.

After the early shuffle, positions remained static for the bulk of the race. Marquez stalked Lorenzo, never letting the Mallorcan achieve a comfortable gap. Pedrosa lost touch with the front runners and ran a relatively lonely third for a period, but Rossi’s pace grew as the race progressed and with 13 laps remaining the Doctor was hounding Pedrosa’s rear tire.

The pace didn’t drop despite minute spots of rain at points on the track. As teams readied for a potential bike swap in the event of a downpour, Lorenzo continued to tick off fast, consistent laps with Marquez in tow. Rossi was still looking for his chance and with 10 laps to go, the Yamaha rider pushed into podium position during the early turns of the lap. Rossi would maintain position for a few laps after that but Pedrosa didn’t give up, retaliating five laps later.

Marquez and Lorenzo gassed it even more during the final rotations and with three laps remaining Marquez made his first move to the lead, getting the inside line entering Turn 1. The Repsol rider was able to make it stick and though Lorenzo would remain close to the end, he was never able to reclaim the lead.

MotoGP Indianapolis 2015

“The race went very well, but we were pretty much on the limit,” said Marquez. “The truth is that Jorge improved a lot during the race, and I didn’t think there would be so many laps in the 1’32s. Even towards the end of the race we did a 1’32.6, which is very fast! We used the strategy of attacking at the end, when there were three laps remaining, and I think it was ideal for taking victory at this circuit. I’m also very proud to have taken Honda’s 700th victory! This is a very special moment for all the team and I dedicate it to all of Honda.”

Rossi and Pedrosa were still swapping position down to the final lap, with Pedrosa claiming the number three spot entering Turn 1 for the last time. Rossi was able to gain the podium spot back later in the lap and remained steady there to the checkers.

Iannone slotted into fifth early and remained there to the finish followed by Smith in sixth. The fight for seventh between Smith’s teammate, Pol Espargaro and CWM LCR’s Cal Crutchlow went on for much of the race, the riders trading places a number of times but in the end the spot went to Espargaro with Crutchlow crossing in eighth. Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso clawed his way up to ninth after falling to last place on the opening lap as a result of running wide in the opening turns. Octo Pramac Racing’s Danilo Petrucci rounded out the top-10.

Rossi retains the overall points lead but Lorenzo has moved slightly closer in second, now just nine points behind. Marquez is up to third with a 56-point deficit to the leader followed by Iannone in fourth and Smith in fifth.

MotoGP Indianapolis Results 2015
1. Marc Marquez (Honda)
2. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
3. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)
4. Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
5. Andrea Iannone (Ducati)
6. Bradley Smith (Yamaha)
7. Pol Espargaro (Yamaha)
8. Cal Crutchlow (Honda)
9. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati)
10. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati)
11. Maverick Vinales (Suzuki)
12. Yonny Hernandez (Ducati)
13. Scott Redding (Honda)
14. Aleix Espargaro (Suzuki)
15. Hector Barbera (Ducati)
16. Nicky Hayden (Honda)
17. Mike di Meglio (Ducati)
18. Alvaro Bautista (Aprilia)
19. Eugene Laverty (Honda)
20. Stefan Bradl (Aprilia)
21. Alex de Angelis (ART)
22. Toni Elias (Honda)

MotoGP Championship Points 2015
1. Valentino Rossi, 195
2. Jorge Lorenzo, 186
3. Marc Marquez, 139
4. Andrea Iannone, 129
5. Bradley Smith, 97
6. Andrea Dovizioso, 94
7. Dani Pedrosa, 80
8. Cal Crutchlow, 74
9. Pol Espargaro, 73
10. Maverick Vinales, 62