MotoGP Silverstone Qualifying Results 2015

MotorcycleUSA Staff | August 29, 2015

Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez scored his sixth pole position of the year at Silverstone, besting his previous lap record at the circuit twice over in the process. Movistar Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo will start from second on the grid followed by Marquez’s teammate, Dani Pedrosa, in third.

Marc Marquez Silverstone 2015

Marquez’s previous record at Silverstone of 2’00.691 was set back in 2013, but the Spaniard went better than that on his first fast lap of Qualifying 2 with a 2’00.564. Riders tried but came up short in attempts to push quicker than the Honda ace and then Marquez made an even bigger statement after swapping tires in the latter stages of the session, logging a 2’00.234 just before the finish.

Lorenzo separated the Repsol Honda duo when he moved up to second-place on his final quick lap of the day, setting a pace below the previous lap record as well. Pedrosa’s quickest attempt came early in the session, giving him his fourth front-row start of the year.

Lorenzo’s teammate, Valentino Rossi, had a decent run on his final fast lap, jumping from sixth up to fourth on the grid. Tech 3 Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro joins Rossi on the second row in fifth followed by teammate Bradley Smith in sixth.

Marc VDS’ Scott Redding qualified within the top-10 for only the second time this season in seventh. The last time the Honda rider managed such a feat came in Round 2 at Circuit of the Americas where he placed sixth. CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow was slightly behind his countryman in eighth followed by Ducati’s Andrea Iannone in ninth.

MotoGP Silverstone Qualifying Results 2015
1. Marc Marquez (Honda) 2’00.234
2. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 2’00.522
3. Dani Pedrosa (Honda) 2’00.716
4. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) 2’00.947
5. Pol Espargaro (Yamaha) 2’01.031
6. Bradley Smith (Yamaha) 2’01.140
7. Scott Redding (Honda) 2’01.329
8. Cal Crutchlow (Honda) 2’01.376
9. Andrea Iannone (Ducati) 2’01.874
10. Aleix Espargaro (Suzuki) 2’01.880
11. Yonny Hernandez (Ducati) 2’01.894
12. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 2’01.979
13. Maverick Vinales (Suzuki) 2’02.016
14. Stefan Bradl (Aprilia) 2’02.657
15. Loris Baz (Forward Yamaha) 2’02.677
16. Jack Miller (Honda) 2’02.697
17. Hector Barbera (Ducati) 2’02.784
18. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) 2’02.800
19. Eugene Laverty (Honda) 2’02.894
20. Alvaro Bautista (Aprilia) 2’02.908
21. Nicky Hayden (Honda) 2’02.946
22. Mike di Meglio (Ducati) 2’03.641
23. Claudio Corti (Forward Yamaha) 2’03.789
24. Karel Abraham (Honda) 2’04.133
25. Alex de Angelis (ART) 2’04.304