Anaheim 1 250 Supercross Results 2016

MotorcycleUSA Staff | January 9, 2016

Yamalube Star Racing’s Cooper Webb reminded everyone why he’s got the number one on the front of his YZ250F in the opening round of the 2016 250 SX West series at Anaheim, taking the win in commanding fashion. Troy Lee Designs KTM’s Jessy Nelson finished in second-place followed by Rockstar Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne in third.

Cooper Webb 2015

Nelson got a great jump off the line and ran out to the early lead, opening a decent gap on the field in the initial turns. GEICO Honda’s Jordon Smith trailed in second followed by Webb’s teammate, Alex Martin, in third. Webb didn’t get a terrible start, but had some work to do in the opening laps. He pushed ahead of Martin into third on the second lap and held there for a few more rotations before advancing further.

Behind the front-runners, Rockstar Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne, GEICO Honda’s Christian Craig and Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy were waging battle for fourth with Martin. The order shifted dramatically when Craig hit the deck, his Honda’s front wheel catching Savatgy’s footpeg and grinding the Kawasaki to a halt. Decotis was behind the mess and took the opportunity to advance a few positions on his way to the top-three.

Meanwhile, Webb had hunted Smith down and made the pass into second-place. The Honda rider would later go down and loose his shot at the podium, ending the night in sixth.

With Webb in the runner up spot, Nelson had a potent threat on his hands. The Yamaha ace took just a few laps to close the multi-second lap to Nelson and it wasn’t long after Webb caught the KTM that Nelson opened the door for a pass. Nelson got a bit out of rhythm and Webb immediately pounced, taking hold of the inside line on a quick right-hander and claiming the lead with five laps remaining.

Once in the lead, Webb was unstoppable. He quickly opened a comfortable gap on Nelson and held steady to the checkers. Nelson had plenty of room behind him, and didn’t face any challenge for second in the final laps.

GEICO Honda’s Jimmy Decotis finished in fourth-place followed by Smith in fifth and Martin in sixth. CycleTrader Rock River Yamaha’s Colt Nichols took seventh with Savatgy trailing in eighth and Nelson’s teammate, Mitchell Oldenburg, in ninth.

Webb takes the full share of points in the opening round, with Nelson sitting second and Osborne in third.

Anaheim 1 250 Supercross Results 2016
1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
2. Jessy Nelson (KTM)
3. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
4. Jimmy Decotis (Honda)
5. Jordon Smith (Honda)
6. Alex Martin (Yamaha)
7. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
8. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
9. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM)
10. Kyle Peters (Honda)
11. Hayden Mellross (Yamaha)
12. Cole Martinez (Yamaha)
13. Mitchell Harrison (Yamaha)
14. Fredrik Noren (Honda)
15. Zach Bell (Yamaha)
16. Trevor Reis (Yamaha)
17. Christian Craig (Honda)
18. Cole Thompson (KTM)
19. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)
20. Maxime Despre (Kawasaki)
21. Chris Alldredge (Kawasaki)
22. Chris Howell (Husqvarna)

250 SX West Points 2016
1. Cooper Webb, 25
2. Jessy Nelson, 22
3. Zach Osborne, 20
4. Jimmy Decotis, 18
5. Jordon Smith, 16
6. Alex Martin, 15
7. Colt Nichols, 14
8. Joey Savatgy, 13
9. Mitchell Oldenburg, 12
10. Kyle Peters, 11