Oakland 250 Supercross Results 2016

MotorcycleUSA Staff | January 31, 2016

Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy took the 250 SX West checkers in Oakland, giving him his first career Supercross victory. CycleTrader Yamaha’s Colt Nichols made his first ever SX podium appearance in second-place followed by GEICO Honda’s Christian Craig in third.

Joey Savatgy 2016 Supercross

Just after the gate drop, with Craig leading the field and Yamalube Star Racing’s Cooper Webb chasing in second, it seemed likely to be another winning night for the Yamaha ace. It was Webb’s best start so far this season, and after his previous performances coming from outside the top-five to claim the checkers, he was well positioned be a commanding figure yet again. And on Lap 4 Craig had an off, the front of his bike washing out mid-corner, making the move to the lead as simple as could be for Webb.

Savatgy slotted into third-place during the opening laps and hadn’t allowed Webb to get away, keeping the Yamaha in sight, with Webb’s teammate Alex Martin following in fourth and Rockstar Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne in fifth. When Webb took over the front, Savatgy was still on his heels with Martin keeping close in third.

GEICO Honda’s Jordon Smith moved up the ranks in the early going but on Lap 8 crashed out of the top-five, helping Nichols continue his advance through the field, the Yamaha ace clawing his way up from ninth after the opening lap. Craig, who had remounted and continued racing after his earlier incident, was right behind Nichols in fifth.

As the race reached mid-point, Martin suffered a hard crash after clipping a tuff block, giving Nichols third-place and Craig fourth. At the front, Webb was ticking-off laps with Savatgy close but not quite close enough to mount a challenge for the lead. Then, with three laps remaining, Webb slowed to a stop in the middle of the track with a mechanical issue. He tried kicking it back to life numerous times to no avail, pushing the bike off track and ending his win streak in the class. Afterward, Webb told reporters on the scene that the issue turned out to be vapor lock.

Savatgy rolled to the lead after Webb’s misfortune. Nichols and Craig followed to round out the podium while Troy Lee Designs’ Mitchell Oldenburg took his best result so far this season in fourth. Osborne crossed the line in fifth followed by Ride365’s Kyle Peters in sixth and Team Blue Buffalo’s Michael Leib in seventh. Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki’s Kyle Cunningham claimed eighth.

Webb managed to salvage a single point for the night after solving his vapor lock issue and rolling across the line in 21st. He loses the overall lead in the series to Savatgy, the Kawasaki rider now two points ahead of Webb. Osborne is third, his consistency so far this year keeping him well within reach of the title, just five points off the leader. Nichols is fourth followed by Craig in fifth.

Oakland 250 Supercross Results 2016
1. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
2. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
3. Christian Craig (Honda)
4. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM)
5. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
6. Kyle Peters (Honda)
7. Michael Leib (Yamaha)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)
9. Jimmy Decotis (Honda)
10. Cole Thompson (KTM)
11. Jordon Smith (Honda)
12. Dillan Epstein (Kawasaki)
13. Hayden Mellross (Yamaha)
14. Scott Champion (Yamhaa)
15. Zach Commans (KTM)
16. Thomas Do (Honda)
17. Fredrik Noren (Honda)
18. Killian Auberson (Suzuki)
19. Trevor Reis (Yamaha)
20. Chris Alldredge (Kawasaki)
21. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
22. Alex Martin (Yamaha)

250 SX West Championship Points 2016
1. Joey Savatgy, 78
2. Cooper Webb, 76
3. Zach Osborne, 73
4. Colt Nichols, 65
5. Christian Craig, 62
6. Jordon Smith, 61
7. Jimmy Decotis, 59
8. Kyle Peters, 51
9. Mitchell Oldenburg, 48
10. Kyle Cunningham, 41