Oakland 450 Supercross Results 2016

MotorcycleUSA Staff | January 31, 2016

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey made it three in a row in Oakland, leading all 20 laps of the 450 SX main event. RCH Racing Suzuki’s Ken Roczen took second-place, his best finish of the year so far, trailed by Dungey’s teammate, Marvin Musquin in third. The podium marks Musquin’s first top-three finish since moving to the premier class full time at the start of the season.

Ryan Dungey 2016 Supercross

Dungey ripped off the line to take the lead with Musquin following close in second-place. Roczen sat third with Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart trailing in fourth, Stewart making his return to action after missing the opening rounds as he recovered from a concussion sustained in the opening event in Anaheim.

On Lap 3, Roczen started hounding Musquin for the runner-up spot, but the French rider held his ground, not allowing the Suzuki past. Musquin was able to defend his position for a few more laps, but on Lap 5 Roczen made a move stick and took the number two spot. Dungey continued to lead and his string of 10 consecutive laps in the 53-second range were unparalleled. Roczen and Musquin were able to stay a few seconds from the leader in the first half of the race, but Dungey’s consistency made him impossible to catch, much less overtake.

“It feels great to get another win,” said Dungey in a team press release. “Being out front early allows me to ride my own race and stay focused. I am really happy for my teammate Marvin tonight. This is a big step for him to get his first podium of his 450 career. We train really hard together and I’m happy for him and the team to have us both on the podium.”

The action behind the top three was much livelier. Stewart started dropping back in the ranks about five laps in, facing heavy pressure from Honda HRC’s Cole Seely and Factory Yamaha’s Chad Reed. Seely and Reed had a nice fight after that, the two staying close and vying for position to the checkers. Rockstar Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson joined the fray later on as well, after recovering from outside the top-10 during the initial laps. Anderson was riding full out and in the final laps was able to dispatch both Reed and Seely to claim fourth-place.

Reed held his ground against Seely for fifth, the Honda rider crossing the line in sixth. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac finished in seventh, another bad start setting him outside the top-10 in the early laps. Jake Weimer, who is now aboard an RCH Racing Suzuki in place of the injured Broc Tickle, ended the night in eighth followed by BTO Sports’ Justin Brayton in ninth and Tomac’s teammate, Wil Hahn, in 10th.

Stewart ended up pulling out of the race just before mid-point. In a team press release issued later, Yoshimura Suzuki team manager Mike Webb explained that Stewart was fighting with blurred vision after a few laps in the main, prompting his decision to exit the race. His teammate, Blake Baggett, also returning from injury, finished the night in 15th.

Dungey maintains his lead in the series, 22 points ahead of Anderson in second. Reed is third, mathematically tied with Anderson at 75, but the Husqvarna’s opening round win gives him the edge. Roczen is fourth, two points behind Reed and Anderson followed by Seely in fifth.

Oakland 450 Supercross Results 2016
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
3. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
4. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
5. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
6. Cole Seely (Honda)
7. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
8. Jake Weimer (Suzuki)
9. Justin Brayton (KTM)
10. Wil Hahn (Kawasaki)
11. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
12. Davi Millsaps (KTM)
13. Mike Alessi (Honda)
14. Christophe Pourcel (Husqvarna)
15. Blake Baggett (Suzuki)
16. Vince Friese (Honda)
17. Lawson Bopping (Yamaha)
18. Nicholas Schmidt (Suzuki)
19. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
20. Cade Clason (Honda)
21. Adam Enticknap (Honda)
22. James Stewart (Suzuki)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2016
1. Ryan Dungey, 97
2. Jason Anderson, 75
3. Chad Reed, 75
4. Ken Roczen, 73
5. Cole Seely, 70
6. Eli Tomac, 68
7. Marvin Musquin, 51
8. Justin Brayton, 47
9. Jake Weimer, 46
10. Davi Millsaps, 45