Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra Review

Tuesday, January 18, 2011


Videos Our Sponsor
Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra - Long Term Test Video
Click to view video
See the 2011 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra in action in the Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra - Long Term Test Video.
The beauty of motorcycling nowadays is there’s a genre of motorcycle for every type of riding you could ever dream of. But when it comes to cruising across the open road and soaking up the scenery with premium levels of comfort, you’ll be hard pressed to find a better two-wheeled companion than the Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra (read more about it in the 2011 Harley Road Glide Ultra First Ride). The Road Glide Ultra is the newest member in The Motor Company’s 2011 cruiser line-up. It’s based off the classically styled Road Glide Custom with added touring equipment for longer hauls. Having wished to discover what this Harley’s like to live with day-in and day-out, we spent the last few months racking up miles on it throughout the American Southwest.

One of the Road Glide Ultra’s biggest attributes is its versatility. It proved to be a true companion during commuting missions around town during the week not to mention a respectable touring platform in order to escape the concrete jungle on the weekend.
 
In spite of its fully-fueled 888-pound curb weight and jumbo-jet exterior dimensions, Harley’s touring bikes aren’t nearly as cumbersome as assumed based on their size. Here in California, where it is legal to split traffic lanes, the big Road Glide Ultra cuts through traffic adequately. Safety wise, its dazzling Cool Blue Pearl paint, bright tri-line fender LED taillights and rumbling exhaust note work in unison—grabbing the attention of folks behind the wheel of their cars, which makes it safer to maneuver through traffic.

Tearing up the corners aboard the 11 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Custom.
Waheed rode the Road Glide Ultra out to the motocross track to race two-stroke Yamaha dirt bikes at Glen Helen Raceway.
After riding the Road Glide Ultra to the track we raced Yamaha YZ two-stroke dirt bikes at Glen Helen Raceway.
Harley-Davidsons Road Glide Ultra garners attention at the fuel pump. We achieved an average of 36.9 mpg  which is pretty good for a bike that weighs 888 lbs.
(Top) Tearing up the corners aboard the ’11 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Custom. (Center) Waheed rode the Road Glide Ultra out to the motocross track to race two-stroke Yamaha dirt bikes at Glen Helen Raceway. (Below) Harley-Davidsons Road Glide Ultra garners attention at the fuel pump. We achieved an average of 36.9 mpg, which is pretty good for a bike that weighs 888 lbs.
Although it’s portly at stoplights, when in motion it feels as if a few hundred pounds of metal evaporated. Sure it can’t slice through traffic with the outrageous speed of a street bike, but considering its size, amenities and high levels of coziness, the Road Glide Ultra is a very friendly bike to run as your daily driver especially when you consider its storage capabilities.

There are a total of three color-matched hard cases that you can use to store gear: one atop the rear fender and two on each side. When properly latched the cases are sealed against rain which ensure your cargo will always be dry. The cases offer plenty of room for helmet, computer, briefcase, gym bag or most anything else that typically needed during the work week commute. Each of the containers is lockable which will ensure your personals will be safe.

As expected, in touring-trim this Road Glide delivers a fantastic ride. It glides across pavement like a hovercraft. Rough pavement and big potholes indeed disturb the chassis but when you’re rolling across relatively smooth freeway pavement it becomes clear that this is a motorcycle that you can ride 16 hours a day. When ridden really aggressively things can get intimidating but it delivers such a smooth ride during normal riding conditions that we could defiantly live with it. Another notable plus is its ridiculously comfortable seat and general ergonomics/seating position.

Power wise the 103 cubic inch Twin Cam V-Twin engine pumps out adequate power output but we still wish it was stronger. It jumps off the line much quicker than all but a respectable sports car driver, though considering its engine size, Harley still has a ways to go in terms of outright power production. Don’t get us wrong, you can still spin the rear tire away from stop signs and get sideways on loose surfaces and it has enough power to attain triple digit speeds as long as you can find a long enough rode. But when I yank on the twist grip on a big-bore motorcycle I want a stronger power rush and this Harley doesn’t deliver.

While the transmission functions perfectly—engaging each and every time the gear shift lever is pressed with a reassuring audible clunk, the clutch doesn’t offer any feel and we wish the bike had one more cog in the Six-Speed Cruise Drive transmission in order to reduce engine rpm during top gear high-speed cruising. Even still we recorded a 36.9 mpg average which is excellent considering how fast the engine is spinning and how much air the bike is pushing at high speeds.

During weekend rides its cargo capabilities also pay off on short weekend trips. Having wished to escape the hustle and bustle of Orange County, California life, we rode out to Phoenix, Arizona for a quick weekend getaway. On the way out of town we hit Glen Helen Raceway to race dirt bikes aboard our ‘11 Yamaha YZ125 two-stroke. My friend, Nick was generous enough to haul out my bike, helmet and riding boots, while the rest of my riding gear I toted along with me.
The Road Glide Ultra is equipped a topcase with 2.26 cubic-feet of storage which is perfect for storing a helmet or two.
The Road Glide Ultra is equipped a topcase with 2.26 cubic-feet of storage which is perfect for storing a helmet or two.

Some of the features that become absolutely invaluable when touring are the gigantic front fairing and windshield. They cocoon the rider from wind and road grime, which substantially reduces fatigue when you arrive at your destination. I’m also impressed with the way the cruise control works. Not only is it simple to use but it is so well calibrated that in a way it almost feels like the bike is in auto pilot mode when engaged. Our only complaint is that you can’t employ it at speeds over 90 mph. Another feature we wouldn’t want to live without is the four-speaker stereo system that allows you to listen to the radio, CDs or even plug-in your iPod.

All said and done we’ve logged over 2000 miles on our test bike since getting our hands on it two months ago. Aside from a flat rear tire, (repaired at no charge under warranty) we’ve had no mechanical emergencies. Make sure to stay tuned for next week’s big comparison where we pit the Road Glide Ultra against the Victory Vision to see which bike comes out on top.
Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra Photo
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
Recent Cruiser Reviews
2015 Indian Roadmaster Passenger Review
Perspectives from the pillion often get overlooked in touring motorcycle reviews, so we break down the 2015 Indian Roadmaster exclusively from a passenger's viewpoint.
Suzuki Boulevard C90T B.O.S.S. Quick Ride
A quick spin around Lake Mead reveals Suzuki’s Boulevard C90T cruiser a very capable and affordable bagger.
Road Glide Ultra Maintenance Costs
The 11 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Ultra retails for  23 059.
Months in Service / Accumulated Mileage: 2 / 2660
MSRP: $23,059
Aftermarket Accessories Cost: $0
Maintenance Costs with Tires: $0
Harley-Davidson San Diego Day Trippin'
Soaking up the California sunshine in La Jolla aboard Harley-Davidsons Road Glide Custom.
Sometimes the best places in life are right in your own backyard. Situated on the southernmost tip of the Golden State, “America’s Finest City” is a quick motorcycle ride away for most Southern Californians. It’s a coastal playground that encompasses the best of SoCal: Miles of gleaming sand in playful beach enclaves, a bustling downtown quarter that’s both modern and classic and a multitude of tempting attractions so diverse that choosing among them is enough to make your head spin...

Read the full review in the Harley-Davidson San Diego Day Trippin' feature.
Recent Project Bike Articles
Cheap Track Yamaha R6 Project - Part I
MotoUSA contributing editor Neale Bayly happens on a lightly crashed 2005 Yamaha R6 - an ideal platform upon which to build into an affordable, real-world trackday bike.
Dealer Locator

Login or sign up to comment.

Comments
Dusty   March 2, 2011 04:49 PM
Thanks Adam for wearing a helmet for this review. Almost every one of these bikes sold in the USA will have a rider who will refuse to wear one.


Rider -boring people ride boring motorcycles  January 26, 2011 07:29 PM
100k on my goldwing. Never realized just how boring this bike was till I bought my flht. This damn bike has heart and soul, something a goldwing will NEVER have. After 50k miles on my flht I now fully understand how the HD reaches inside you and captures the soul. Not everyone gets it, but for those who are picking up what I'm putting down, I raise my glass to you. BTW, even if the 2012 goldwing could fly I still would not give up my Harley!!!
scooter hater -PLEASE  January 26, 2011 07:01 PM
hey scoots


SHUTUUUUUUP!!!!!!!!!!!
bruce -2010 rg owner  January 26, 2011 11:06 AM
I have put 5000 miles on my road glide since july,Im used to crotch rockets, the rg doesnt go nearly as fast or lean as low in the turns, but thats why I went for a bagger,(cant afford the tickets any more) and the rg is great bike. holds the road(even in wind)handles the turns within reasonable legal speeds. over 40 mpg ive gotten 50 mpg dogging it on the highway.very comfortable
I hear people complain about the heat when parked..it wasnt meant to be parked with the motor running..ride it
Vibration..dont feel it when riding..ride it
Radio..listen to local stations or use the disc or the mp3 outlet
leaks..AMF doesnt build Harley anymore
Cost..well you got me there,but the people complaining probably drive hyundais and smoke $12 a pack cigarettes
bruce -2010 rg owner  January 26, 2011 11:04 AM
I have put 5000 miles on my road glide since july,Im used to crotch rockets, the rg doesnt go nearly as fast or lean as low in the turns, but thats why I went for a bagger,(cant afford the tickets any more) and the rg is great bike. holds the road(even in wind)handles the turns within reasonable legal speeds. over 40 mpg ive gotten 50 mpg dogging it on the highway.very comfortable
I hear people complain about the heat when parked..it wasnt meant to be parked with the motor running..ride it
Vibration..dont feel it when riding..ride it
Radio..listen to local stations or use the disc or the mp3 outlet
leaks..AMF doesnt build Harley anymore
Cost..well you got me there,but the people complaining probably drive hyundais and smoke $12 a pack cigarettes
VTTIMWHITE -Love my Road Glide  January 26, 2011 09:09 AM
This is an awesome bike, if you know what you've got. I love the sewing-machine precision of the Goldwings and BMWs. I don't have much first-hand experience with the Victory, but I am curious. As for the other touring bikes, I just don't care. I've owned zoom-splats and other Harleys, too. The Road Glide is my favorite. It's a big, air-cooled, twin-cylinder engine without counter-balancers. Actually DRIVING a bike this big, scraping the hard parts and heating up the rotors is f-u-n! Don't like heat or vibration? Find another bike! I did re-tune the engine and put on less-restrictive pipes (and your lawnmower is still louder and more polluting than my bike) and that took care of a lot of the heat and really lets the engine fly. To the guy who got passed by a mini-van: maybe it's time you learned a little about engine speed, torque, and gearing- Harleys leave a little of that up to you the so-called driver.
Mike in WV -GB  January 26, 2011 06:07 AM
I know what you're talking about. I took a new Road Glide Ultra with the 103 out this past Novemeber on a nice cool autumn day. I'm pretty sure I'm sterile due to the vibration at the stops. Once the bike warmed up I had to open the vents on the lowers because I was getting too much heat from the motor...and that was while moving on a cool day! During stops, it was almost unbearable. I wanted to take my mind off of the heat, so I tried to use the stereo...guess what? The stereo didn't work at all...nothing but white noise and static. I pulled over to check the antennae connections but everything seemed connected. I brought the bike back and told my buddy at the dealership the stereo wasn't working...of course he was more than a little embarassed. He asked how I liked the bike overall and I told him very bluntly...there's still way too much heat, even with the deflector, the vibration at stop is annoying, it's almost impossible to find nuetral, and even though the 103 has more power than the 96, I still am accustomed to more. Overall, I was not impressed by the bike...especially at the price. For full sized bikes...you can't beat Victories, Triumphs, GoldWings or BMWs. In all sincerity, I wish HD would just do a total revamp and build a new motor...no pushrods, air/oil cooled if not even liquid cooled. The toughest thing about becoming a legend is living up to the name. Now...all Harley is is just a name. People buy all the merchandise junk...why, because of the name. In today's world, that's not enough.
GB -rented a road glide  January 26, 2011 04:11 AM
last year in Reno. what a great machine. at every stop light i had to literally hold my glasses on from the shaking of the bike. i got passed by a mini van going up a mountain road when i had the throttle wide open. had to slow way down for every curb and baked at every stop light due to the heat. i've road for over 40 years and the new HDs are the worse bikes made. i'm ashamed that american workers actually build these POS bikes. but damn did i look good standing still!!
JFlyer -Mr.  January 24, 2011 03:03 PM
One thing seldom mentioned in these comments is that the Honda Gold Wing is a excellent Touring Bike, so is the Harley RG. I'm not familiar with BMW's , but they also make Touring Bikes. We can't leave the Victory Vision out. Odd looking bike, but well liked and seems to be a good Touring bike also. The point being,in "many" cases these are different touring crowds". Obviously they sometimes intersect, or one owner has multiple bikes, but not usually multiple Touring bikes. My current ride is a Harley Road King,I am very pleased with to date. No oil leak issues with older EVO's or current Twin Cam's. I have also owned Japanese bikes in the past(no touring bikes), that were very good bikes.
adam - motousa -hating on the poor road glide custom  January 23, 2011 10:29 PM
why is everyone hating on the poor road glide custom i really like this bike <<<
Ethan -Wing Troll  January 23, 2011 10:07 PM
Wing_Man - Rented a Road Glide January 20, 2011 01:53 PM My hands and butt were numb from the vibration, the tractor radio was worthless, the engine heat just about ruined any future children and I had to ride behind everyone in our group because they did not want to smell the burnt oil from my Harley. What a load of BS from a Wing Troll. If anything the FLH series is TOO SMOOTH once underway because the engine is rubber mounted. They don't burn oil. The Harmon Kardon stereo has a good rep. Go troll somewhere else...
Slim -Gender Bender  January 23, 2011 07:51 AM
That bike looks like Bender from Futurama.
Zippy -Sloppy you are right  January 22, 2011 08:56 PM
I sold my Royal for that reason, and bought a Roadstar. It always bugged me.
sloppy -fake fins  January 21, 2011 03:51 PM
Zippy, you are real hung up on the fake fins. Who cares? I could care less if they are fake any more than I care that the gas gauge on the Fat Bob is a fake gas cap. That really bothers you for some strange reason. That would be the least of reasons for me to buy or not buy a bike. I agree the Strat was a sales disaster. I like the art deco looks but I am in the minority on that. However I do see a lot of Raiders. Several that I have talked to had H-Ds before. I don't think either bike has significantly hurt H-Ds sales, not like the Road Star. However the 113 engine has certainly made them stand up and take notice.
Zippy -Stratoliner  January 21, 2011 04:15 AM
You can literally still find NEW 06 Strato/Road liners online.Zero miles , never titled.

That bikes was a sales disaster for Star. The styling is a pathetic bundle of horse poopy. Almost as bad as putting fake bolted on cooling fins on your motor! I have no issue with cooling fins on a H2O cooled cruiser, but to bolt them on is just cheesey. Just saying is all.
Big Ron -Re: Sloppy  January 20, 2011 04:18 PM
Sloppy I agree that the Yamaha engine is superior to the HD. I have a street glide that I installed an air cleaner, Vance and Hines pipes, a PC-V and auto tuner. The bike puts out 76-HP and it feels substantially stronger than stock. My big complaint with the Yamaha/Star is handling. The stratoliner does not handle well at all. The HD touring bikes handle suprisingly well, this coming from someone that puts alot of miles on a sport bike.
Cheers
Wing_Man -Rented a Road Glide  January 20, 2011 01:53 PM
I had an accident an totaled my 09 Gold Wing. Not to miss our annual trip to North Carolina I rented a new 09 Harley Road Glide. I can not describe the misery of that trip. My hands and butt were numb from the vibration, the tractor radio was worthless, the engine heat just about ruined any future children and I had to ride behind everyone in our group because they did not want to smell the burnt oil from my Harley. I can not believe I had to pay to use that bike. The air cleaner cover came off twice from vibration and we had to stop and go back and look for it. I really can not believe how HD stays in business. Believe me, there is absolutely no comparison between a Harley touring bike and a Gold Wing. The Gold Wing makes the Harley a joke and a very poor excuse for a touring bike.
Dan K -Venture & Glide senior shootout =)  January 20, 2011 07:46 AM
Zippy makes a couple of good points about the Venture. Yamaha seems to update it's touring line about as often as Harley does. Perhaps these two old timers would make a better pair on the next comparison.
sloppy -zippy  January 20, 2011 06:24 AM
Zippy, You bring up a few good points on the Royal Star. That bike is certainly long in the tooth with an antiquated stereo system and no FI. Star (Yamaha) doesn't seem to have an answer quite yet for Harley Tourers. If you have kept up with the Strat Deluxe, you can see it needs a second OD gear (6th gear), cruise control, much better stereo and more solid saddle bags to keep up with the Street Glide. The problem with Harley is that Yamaha blows away Harley in the Performance Dept. As Mcguire said he bought a low mileage Royal after the seller took the depreciation hit. It has more tq than the TwinCam 103 and more than likely it was the same year model as a comparable Harley that was only available in a 96 ci. The Star 113 engine that is used in the Roadliner/Strat bike and the Raider is a beast. It has significantly more tq and hp than even the H-D Screaming Eagle 110. If Yamaha puts it in the new Royal Star you will see a considerable of buyers wanting the Royal, fake fins and all. That engine is definitely the "snake in the wood pile for Harley". Look how fast they moved from the 88 to the 96. Now they are starting to move to the 103.
Zippy -Mcguire  January 20, 2011 03:10 AM
You bought the RoyalStar? how do you like it? I really like the fake bolt on cooling fins so it will look like a V Twin air cooled HD. Those nice carbs on that 1983 motor and the cassette deck in the touring version. The 5 speed, non abs bike...WOW

High tech stuff that!
Paul -Why  January 19, 2011 05:08 PM
Why would anyone buy any HD new when the used market is saturated with clean low mile 1-3 yr. old HDs, discounted WELL below MSRP with plenty of goodies already added? $23K + dealer fees and taxes…please.
Mcguire -sewer rat  January 19, 2011 03:33 PM
I don't own a Harley but I can appreciate where they are comming from. They look great (ya gotta be a cruiser guy) and have reasonable performance (i.e. slow) but they sure have got a lot of mileage out of a design that orginated during the time of the flat head V8. The ones I have ridden are as fast as they need to be, and the motor is just starting to pull and strong at highway speeds....all that being said I bought a Royal Star Tour Deluxe with the v4 8valve liquid cooled platform. You could tow a Harley with it. 15 retail I got mine for 12 with less than 3000 miles and a corbin gunslinger on it. Heated grips rule.
Scooter -Harley is just a Inferior bike.  January 19, 2011 09:29 AM
A far as a touring bike goes the 2010 Gold Wing is dated long on the tooth bike but it is still so far superior to any Harley touring bike that any kind of comparison is not fair to the Harley. BMW has a new touring bike for 2011 and Honda will have a new Gold Wing in 2012. Harley will have a new color for 2012.....and a completely new redesigned chrome layout.
RGR -Papa Bear's Comparison  January 19, 2011 08:56 AM
Papa Bear said: I own a 1989 Honda Goldwing with 150K on it. I love the bike. I also own a 2007 Harley Electra Glide Ultra with 35K on it. Of course you would choose the HD - who wouldn't? Even HD haters would make that same decision. Your HD is 18 years newer with 1/4 of the miles than the Goldwing. There's not even a comparison there. I would take ANY 2007 bike over ANY 1989 bike. LOL! This comparison has no validity. The question is would you take the '07 HD over an '07 Goldwing. That's a much more difficult decision I would guess.
Dan K. -Dejavu  January 19, 2011 06:52 AM
Would have to agree with Niki. The Vision vs. Glides have been done by every online and print magazine since the Vision came out and if you've read any of them you already pretty much know the result. Until H-D does it's next decade update on the Ultra how about mixing things up a little and comparing the Vision and the Wing or something.
wildpig -mr wildpig to you  January 18, 2011 09:04 PM
100 lbs o torque 100 hosspower is so easily doable on the 103 inch motor,, my evo 99 hp 85 lbs o torque 115,000 miles never a problem . so the road glide is a great bike an can be easily modified for kick ass dependable performance at low bucks. i also have a BMW-- over price POS in my opinion an you cant give em away when u try to sell a BMW-- re sale is worse than a jap bike...............
Niki -Ultra-Vision comparisons getting old, Same outcome every time.  January 18, 2011 08:26 PM
Spoiler alert for the next Ultra-Vision comparison. http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/266/998/Motorcycle-Article/2008-Victory-Vision-Comparison.aspx
Ken -I own a 2009 103 Road Glide  January 18, 2011 06:13 PM
I'm very surprised that the dyno chart for your bike is putting you in the 80-pound feet / 60-HP range for a 103 engine, as I had a stage 2 103 kid installed with S&S Stainless Performance Ovals and see around 100-pound feet and over 80-HP through much of the usable range of the engine (1000 to 5000 RPM). I also have a tour-pak installed along with an oil cooler and the bike will run down a curvy road better than most people can ride (I also own several Ducati motorcycles, so I can actually ride just in case you're wondering). BTW, I'm 35 with a Road Glide, my Brother is 40 with a Electra Glide outfitted the same. Much more comfortable than my R1200RT, especially in the hills and with a passenger (don't have to slip the clutch all the time to get rolling).
Papa Bear -Torn between the two  January 18, 2011 06:04 PM
I own a 1989 Honda Goldwing with 150K on it. I love the bike. I also own a 2007 Harley Electra Glide Ultra with 35K on it. I also love that bike. Given a choice of having to own just one of them, I'd take the Ultra. I just enjoy riding it more than the Goldwing. Nuf said.
wildpig -mr wildpig to you  January 18, 2011 04:35 PM
harley man here -- had everthang under the sun,, lousiest bike of all --BMW. now the road glide 103 is a ver ver fine motorcycle with very good performance-- dont think that 103 inch motor wonr perform? then u dont know squat bout h-d in 2011. one helluva fine motorcycle and bullet proof as well. got a bmw i's sell anyone here --mint cont an will sell cheap-- 2008 r1200r.
Bob -What a Bunch of Misinformation  January 18, 2011 03:04 PM
likely due to some posters just being HD haters or based on their friends who own them that are mechanical idiots. I've got a bunch of bikes at the moment and maintain and mod them all myself...a few HDs, Buells, Hondas and BMWs. Had the other Jap stuff and a few more Euro models too. Touring, standards sport and dirt... No pirate gear on me...only Rukka.

Yes, HD is over priced and underpowered. Make no mistake though, it does what it is designed to do very well and very comfortably. I can attest to a couple hundred thousand accumulated miles on them...from Houston, TX to Alaska/Panama/Newfoundland and everywhere in between. 49 US states, 7 Mexican states and 7 Canadian provinced under my belt. And the only HDs I ever had that leaked were Shovelheads. My Evos and Twin Cams have never leaked. Puked a couple times out the breather because of sustained high rpms but that was remedied. Build quality has been real good the last 15 years. The stories of problems always tends to be from people who modify their bikes improperly. Don't get me wrong. I've doubled the HP on a couple and taken them to Bonneville and the Texas Mile. Do it right and there won't be any problems.

I like the Wing for what it is. It's an excellent machine and hopefully the 2012 will be phenomenal. I'm excited about the BMW K1600LT too. I like the Kawasaki Voyager over the HD too. But the HD tour bikes are definitely a very good bike for it's intended purpose.
Chiefusn -Chief  January 18, 2011 02:28 PM
Anyone who thinks a Goldwing="geezer" never owned/rode one. Its fast, nimble, comfortable and reliable. Having always ridden HD, I am partial to them - but dislike being a brand slave. Getting used to the GW took time and treasure to make it comfortable for a cruiser rider. My wife will only ride the GW nowadays. There were 3 bikes in my garage... the RG has been sold, the GW and the drifter remains. Room now for a bobber!!!
Scooter -Don't compare with a Wing  January 18, 2011 01:19 PM
It really isn't fair to compare a Road Glide with a Gold Wing. The Wing is light years ahead of any Harley and Honda will have an all new Gold Wing for 2012 which will put the nail on the Harley coffin. I can't believe people will actually pay 23K or more for an outdated Harley. I guess some people will buy a Harley because they think it is an American motorcycle and they also get to be in the "lets dress like a pirate" club if they own a Harley. As for me I do not like the vibration, oil leaks poor quality and way over priced. If you absolutely have to have a Road Glide then check the newspapers as they are full of used ones real cheap. People who bought one and realized what they got when it was too late.
Murf -Mr.  January 18, 2011 12:29 PM
It's nice to see Harley has started to finally get some power.It now has as much as my garden tractor anyway. Put on a passenger,load it down with full bags and load the trunk,get it on a fourteen percent grade up a mountain and then let us know how it goes. Had two of them,four in my family,Nice cruser bikes,bit doesn't come close to the power,comfort and capacity of the Goldwing I traded my last Harley for.I still like a Harley for what it is. But I could not ride my Harley 10,247 miles in 21 days like my wife and I did on our trip to Alaska and back. Wing ageeze ? Go ride one,then try to catch it with a Harley.Good luck.
adam - motousa -my bad...  January 18, 2011 11:58 AM
yes all three hard cases are lockable--my bad, my bad. but yes i would like a 7 speed transmission. the bike is so heavy already why not add another cog in to reduce engine speed when you're flying down the road. the engine has enough torque to turn another gear on straight and level road.
RGH -Road Glide Ultra  January 18, 2011 11:09 AM
Adam, the new bikes don't have locking saddlebags anymore? That's seems an outrage. My '06 Ultra didn't have the rear passenger grab rails or top box luggage rack that the older versons did. And what this, you want a seven speed...dude, c'mon.
Just a Dude -HD doing better?  January 15, 2011 03:22 AM
Nice to hear some good news about this particular bike without the usual HD apologetic ramblings. Seems to function well as a real motorcycle and THAT piques my interest (with, maybe, my wallet to follow). Would like to know your thoughts comparing the RGU to the Goldwing in terms of both function and, yes, emotion. Both bikes have their negative connotations: Wing = geezer, RGU = geezer in pirate garb. Both seem to hold their value reasonably well. Does the RGU beat the Wing as a touring mount or is that the wrong question, grasshopper?