Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Shoei Multitec Modular Helmet Review

Thursday, March 12, 2009
Shoei Multitec Helmet
It's about time we got on the modular flip-up helmet bandwagon and the Shoei Multitec Helmet didn't disappoint.
The flip-up helmet, often referred to as a modular helmet, is all the rage these days. So imagine our dismay at having never sampled the design. This was all remedied upon reception of the Shoei Multitec Modular Helmet.

A 2009 model, the Shoei Multitec delivers the Japanese brand’s high-end reputation for comfort, fit and finish. The modular abilities of the Multitec only enhance the Shoei riding experience – melding full-face safety benefits with open-face convenience.

Having experienced the Multitec for the past half-year, we can vouch for the convenience factor. The modular design allows riders to perform tasks that would normally require the tedium of a full face helmet’s removal. Pulling off the gloves, unhooking the D-ring straps, pulling off the helmet, and taking out the earplugs... Even reading the process is tedious.

Going from full to open-face on the Multitec is a snap, with the large single button release easy to operate with either hand – even on the fly if desired. The list of tasks performed by us wearing the modular design is surprisingly long: Filling up a gas tank, taking a quick roadside photo, making a purchase at a convenience store, or even, how shall we say it… “making water” out behind the bushes.

Riding is so much more convenient with a modular design. Don’t believe me? Go take a long-distance spin with a riding buddy who uses one. You’ll be jealous every time you go through, then reverse, the monotonous full-face helmet process.

Convenience isn’t enough, the full-face design must deliver as well. Shoei comes through with the Multitec, as its aerodynamic structure is quiet with minimal buffeting. The Advanced Integrated Matrix (AIM) shell delivers exterior protection and the Multitec complies with DOT standards.

Fit is quite comfortable, with removable cheekpads. The liner is also comfortable, but not removable. A removable chin curtain further enhances the helmet’s cozy feel and the Multitec is optimally suited to touring applications.

Venting works well, with good cooling through the head and chin intakes. Our only gripe came during a particularly wet ride, where the shield wouldn’t defog enough without cracking the visor open. Yet, it is doubtful many designs would have been able to handle the extreme conditions and the integrated breath guard works more often than not.

Shoei Multitec Helmet
There's many reasons to flip-up the modular helmet... Like catching snowflakes on your tongue.
The Shoei shield is quite easy to swap out, with the company’s QRBP (quick release base plate system) simplifying an often frustrating process.

Simple styling lines on the Multitec are sporty enough with solid color schemes available. We got a couple compliments regarding our maroon lid. The clean conservative looks seem to cater to the older, touring crowd.

The only real drawback of the Shoei Multitec is its $495.99 MSRP. Granted, the potential protection of a helmet like the Multitec is beyond measure. Yet… Five C notes is a lot of scratch to drop on a single piece of equipment, and budget-minded riders may opt for a less expensive option. The flip side of that argument is the old maxim that you get what you pay for. Shoei also backs up its product with a five-year warranty from date of purchase, or seven year warranty from manufacture date. After the initial sticker shock, we doubt if any Multitec owner will rue their purchase in the least.

Shoei Multitec Helmet
MSRP: $495.99
Motorcycle Superstore Price: $434.99 to $446.99
www.shoei-helmets.com

Check out more Shoei Helmets and Motorcycle Helmets at Motorcycle Superstore.
Recent Street Bike Product Reviews
Chrome Motor Barrage Backpack Review
Chrome Industries introduces a handful of new items geared to motorcycle riders, one being the Motor Barrage Rolltop Backpack, designed to stand up to abuse and provide plenty of storage space.
Arai Defiant Chopper Helmet Pro Shade Review
After wearing it during the summer riding season, we post our findings on the Arai Defiant Chopper Helmet along with the company's Pro Shade System in this motorcycle helmet review.
Kali Protectives Naza Carbon Helmet Review
The Kali Naza Carbon full-face street helmet features new motorcycle helmet technology alongside up-spec materials such as carbon fiber and Kevlar, all offered at a reasonable price.
 

Login or sign up to comment.

Comments
dratomic -Sorry kenr  September 26, 2010 05:10 PM
NO modular helmet will pass Snell ratings for the same reason that no 3/4 helmet will pass. Cant prove the locking points will not break loose during a wreck and save your face.
Ashveratu -Worth it if you are looking for a flip up  May 25, 2010 08:40 PM
I used a Mutlitec for about 6 months but stopped because it did not quite fit my head shape (I am a long oval, the MT is more for a round head). Aside from it not fitting me, it is a solid, well built helmet and extremely quiet. It also has plenty of room inside the ear wells to accomodate speakers. I am currently using a Nolan N103 which fits me very well but is a much noisier helmet. If Shoei would make the MT for my head shape, I would buy another in a heart beat.
Kenr -2010 Shark Evolne ... Beats Them All  May 4, 2010 08:29 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -2010 Shark Evolne ... Beats Them All  May 4, 2010 08:23 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:22 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:22 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:21 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:20 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:20 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:19 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Kenr -Shark Evoline .... beats them all.  May 4, 2010 08:19 AM
Great Value (not cheap, but less than Shoei) excellent fit, workmanship, materials, comfort. Drop down sun visor, chin bar rotates and locks at back of helmet for a balanced, no-hassle, "open face mode". Most advanced approach to impact dissipation with "finned" 1st layer of foam on top of more dense layer. 5 Year warranty. Meets Snell, DOT and more stringent EC standards. Oakley "over the glasses" goggles will fit, snugly, but fit ... in a pinch it's a dual sport helmet. I've bought LOTS of helmets in my 30+ years of riding and the Evoline has become my New Favorite! Along with my new Fly Carbon dirt bike helmet for pure dirt riding, another helmet that's an exceptional value for the money.
Puma -quality  April 2, 2010 09:46 AM
I just want to inform some folks on my experience with the MT. I've worn the MT for just over two years logging about 20k miles. I worn the helmet year round from 25 to 105 degree days, including rain. The helmet works well from sound to venting to durability. My only negative thing to comment would be about securing the chin bar. On occasion I need to pull down with a little extra force to ensure both locks engage. As for the price I've owned many different helmets including, Bell, Shoei, Suomy, and Simpson. I've done the research and I know you get what you pay for. In my opinion the Shoei MT is worth the investment.
rodrigo gomes -shoei multitec helmet black matte xxl ( 63-64)  September 1, 2009 06:42 PM
Hi , I need to buy this helmet to take to Brazil. I'll come back to Brazil on thursday night and I would like to know if you have this helmet in stock to pick up in your store until thursday? If you don't have in stock could be possible order and I pick it up until thursday?

I'm waiting your answer .
thanks !!! Rodrigo
Snake -Hydro  August 26, 2009 06:35 AM
I'm sorry, Hydro can't reply to your comment as he has not come out of the coma yet. For what it is worth, I have a brother who was taken of his bike at 70 MPH by a truck retread. Thanks to a really high dollar Arai, lived to tell about it. I’d like to see Hydro jump off at that speed. I wonder how much he would be willing to pay for a "piece of crap" between the time he is airborne and the time his skull hits the pavement. I'm guessing it increases exponentially.
anti moron -hydro  June 27, 2009 10:18 AM
what a stupid comment to make hydro. it is your brains you are protecting. you are an idiot.
Omonigho -Foldable Helmets  March 29, 2009 02:02 AM
Is it possible to have a foldable helmet that meets very high safety standards that I can easily fold and stow away in my back-pack? Sure would be nice to have some space and convenience of carrying my helmet about!
Hogtied -Big Punkin'  March 23, 2009 08:34 AM
I bought a Multi-Tec last summer as a replacement for my HJC CL Max. The difference in price is noticable, as is the quality and fit. I have a big punkin', so finding a full-face or modular helmet that fits comfortably is sometimes a challenge. The chin-bar on the MT does make contact w/ my chin, but not so much that it's unsettling. The CL Max actually gave me a bit more chin room. I've recently tried on a Nolan 103, which fits well, but I'm not in financial shape to chase the perfect helmet. For what I paid for the MT, I'll continue to use it for years to come.
HydroMan02 -your kidding me !!  March 21, 2009 01:50 PM
You pay this amount for this piece of crap helmet?? Let me sell you some ocean front property in Arizona,your a fool to spend this kind of money for what your getting here !!!
Smrf and the Smrfmobile -love mine  March 21, 2009 03:17 AM
I love my Multitec helmet and consider the money worth it for the protection and features. To deal with fogging I changed out the stock shield w/a factory one w/pinlocks and added a FogCity Antifog shield (it is also photo sensitive so it slightly darkens to help on a sunny day if I forgot to throw on sunglasses).
Cindy -Shoei Helmet Modular  March 20, 2009 09:49 PM
I got this helmet last year and love it. It is convient to use, like when stoped at at light you can flip the lip up and get more air. You can talk to people with out having to take off the helmet. The air vents are great. It is very comfortable not heavy at all. Pricey yes but its your brains that you are protecting instead of lying in a hospital the rest of your life not being able to ride.....
Bob McDuff -Comparison to an older model  March 20, 2009 03:25 PM
I just upgraded to this helmet from a Nolan N100 flip-face. The shoei is MUCH quieter and the quality of construction seems to be much more solid then the nolan. Managed to get mine for just under 400 with a coupon i had to a vendor, but absolutely worth it. I think the most under-stated convenience is the ability to open the face when in traffic on a hot day, cooling yourself off.
Mr Zog -How well does it hold up in a crash?  March 20, 2009 11:18 AM
Many crashes involve hitting the chin and lower face. How well do modulars hold up in a face first fall? Are they as good as a full face helmet?
Bruciando -Major flaw in the review  March 20, 2009 11:07 AM
You fail to mention what kind of locking system [metal to metal, plastic on metal, plastic on plastic] the chin bar uses. You also fail to mention what kind of chin room is available; most modular helmets seem to unnecessarily compromise the chin space, forcing the wearer to deal with pressure on the chin while riding [& corresponding reduction in face protection in the event of a crash. And I'm no Jay Leno...] Shoei constantly updates their model line, so that they can never achieve the economies of scale that would enable them to sell the helmet at a lower price if they were in production longer, and spread out the development costs over a longer run. C'est la vie, but it means that I'm never going to have the scratch to spend on this helmet. Oh well...
Socal Moe -Multitec  March 13, 2009 11:43 AM
I am glad it does not have an integrated visor. I have a helmet that does and I never use it, the visor has a tendency to scratch the shield. I love my black MT Shoei!!
Desmolicious -No inner visor  March 12, 2009 10:57 AM
Problem with the Multitec is that it does not have an inner flip down sun visor. It seems that all of it's competitors offer this, and almost all of them are much much cheaper.