Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Bell Transitions Photochromatic Visor Review

Tuesday, August 31, 2010
The RSV4R comes with Pirellis excellent Diablo Supercorsa SP tires.
Tired of having to carry an extra helmet visor with you when your day rides go into the night? Bell solves the problem with its $119.95 Transitions photochromatic face shield.
Motorcyclists who ride their street bikes during both the day and night are presented with a unique challenge: Do you run a tinted helmet visor and see comfortably during daylight rides but then have to worry about limited vision at night? Or do you run it the other way around and squint when it’s sunny outside but be able to see clearly at night? Bell Helmets has the answer. They have set out to solve this problem with its Transitions photochromatic face shields for its Star and Vortex line of helmets.
 
This $119.95 visor automatically adjusts to ambient light conditions using technology similar to that of the popular line of Transitions eyeglasses. Based on the intensity of the sun, the visor’s tint becomes progressively darker as it is exposed to more ultraviolet (UV) radiation, which allows the rider to be able to see clearly without needing to squint. Conversely, in low light conditions, say when the sun starts to set or is blocked by clouds, the shield becomes progressively more translucent. This eliminates the need to swap out face shields for changing light conditions.
 
Like the rest of Bell’s visors, the Transitions shield has anti-scratch, UV-blocking, and anti-fog coatings. After over four months of almost daily use the visor still quickly and seamlessly adjusts to light conditions. It has also held up well to normal wear and tear with minimal scratches on the visor. Our only real complaint is the shield is subject to fogging up when used in humid environments.
 
Overall, this visor paired to our Bell Star helmet has become an accessory we won’t ride without. It takes the worry out of having to pack an extra face shield or trying and rush back to your destination before the sun sets. Although it is expensive, if well taken care of it should be the only visor you’ll ever need to purchase.
 
MSRP: $119.95
Buy it Now: Bell Transitions Photochromatic Visor

Check out more Bell Helmets and Motorcycle Helmets at Motorcycle Superstore.
Recent Street Bike Gear Reviews
On Any Sunday: The Next Chapter Review
Dana Brown's "On Any Sunday: The Next Chapter" picks up a theme first introduced by his father, Bruce Brown, more than 40 years ago, profiling current day motorcyclists and the sport they love.

Login or sign up to comment.

Comments
Wr5757   March 15, 2011 08:20 AM
Has anyone compared this to the E-tint visor? Saw it up at the Cleveland Motorcycle show. www.e-tintproducts.com
David Fernandez Sr. -Are they going to make this shield for different brands of helment  November 9, 2010 12:56 PM
I read a artitcal that you were going to start making this shield for other brands of helments. Just wondering if this is going to happen? Cause i would like to buy one for my icon helment
RJ -adam - motousa  September 7, 2010 12:52 PM
Cool, I'll check it out. Thanks for the response.
adam - motousa -RJ - Bell Shield  September 4, 2010 04:17 PM
at night the shield is completely clear no tint whatsoever...adam
Justin Time, NJ -Hell yeah!  September 3, 2010 06:15 AM
I had this same epiphany while I was standing at my local moto haven in north jersey buying my first helmet in 2004 as I walked out with 2 shields. I don't have my own R&D team, nor do I have the resources to pull something like this off and figured someone would have came out with this type of shield years ago. Currently I have a KBC with 3 different shields but love the tinted the best. Usually I ride with it up at night so I can see where Im going but have been peggeg in the eyeball more times than Id care to talk about. Im going to have to check out Bells new lids for sure next time Im over at the shop. Well worth the $120 ticket and I say job well done.
RJ -Bell Shield  September 3, 2010 05:15 AM
I am definately interested in this product as I'm tired of swapping shields all the time. Thanks for the review, however, a little more could have been written about the rider's impressions. Adam, you wrote "the shield becomes progressively more translucent." Sometimes photochromatic glasses still remain slightly tinted even in the lowest light settings. How clear does it become compared to running the clear shield? I really dislike even the slightest tint @ night...
irksome -Bell helmets  September 1, 2010 06:13 PM
I'm with Donkeyman; nothing wrong with sunglasses, esp. with this shield costing $120. I WOULD like to say how impressed I am with the Bell I had to buy 2 weeks ago when my girlfiend's cat decided to pee on my Icon. Bells had always been the best fit for my head since I started riding back in the '70s and I had struggled to find a good fit in the years they were out of business or building crap helmets.
Bob -Fighter pilot shields  August 31, 2010 01:41 PM
I am on my 2nd helmet that has the internal sun shield in it. Hard to live without it in sunny Texas. Being internal, it doesn't get blasted by road grit. So only the relatively inexpensive clear outer shield needs to be changed out.
Donkeyman -Sunglasses?  August 31, 2010 12:15 PM
It seems to me that it is much easier, and cheaper, to wear a clear shield and wear sunglasses when needed. That works fine for me.