Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Bryan's Blog

New Year, New Motorcycle Laws for Oregon

Wednesday, January 2, 2013
Allstate Watch for Motorcycles
A new year means new laws. In Oregon, it means all new riders 50 years old and under are required to take an approved motorcycle training course.
A new year brings new laws. For new riders or motorcyclists in Oregon who are thinking about climbing back in the saddle after a lengthy absence, this means taking an approved motorcycle training course if you’re under the age of 51. This is the continuation of a tiered process enacted by the Oregon Legislature back in 2009 that will eventually lead to all motorcycle riders being required to take a training course. If you already have a motorcycle endorsement on your license, fret not, you’re safe. You don’t have to take a refresher course, even though it is encouraged.

The first tier of the rider safety initiative started January 1, 2011, requiring all new riders 30 and under to take a training course. Last year, the age was bumped up to 40 before being pushed up to 50 in 2013. It will reach 60 years of age and under in 2014 before becoming a requisite for all new riders in 2015. 

Team Oregon is the only approved motorcycle rider education provider in the state. Their program consists of both a knowledge test and an on-cycle skills test. Motorcycle riders without a state endorsement face a fine up to $720. If the rider completes training and gets an endorsement within 120 days of his sentencing, the court should reduce the fine. If you pass Team Oregon’s Basic Rider Training, the DMW waives both the on-cycle skills test and the written general knowledge exam. I highly recommend the course because my wife took it to earn her motorcycle license and it provides a strong foundation for beginning riders.

Here’s more info on obtaining your motorcycle endorsement in Oregon, courtesy of Team Oregon.

To ride legally in Oregon, you must have a valid driver license and motorcycle endorsement or instruction permit. The penalty for riding without a motorcycle endorsement can be as much as $720 plus court costs. How do riders earn a motorcycle endorsement in Oregon?

If You Are under 21 Years Old
Oregon law requires you to successfully complete a TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training (BRT) course before you apply for a motorcycle endorsement. Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives both the state knowledge and on-cycle skills tests to earn your license.

If You Are 21-50 Years Old
Oregon law requires you to successfully complete a TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training (BRT) or Intermediate Rider Training (IRT) course before you apply for a motorcycle endorsement. If you take BRT, Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives both the state knowledge and on-cycle skills tests to earn your license. If you take IRT, DMV waives the on-cycle skills test, but you will still be required to take the state knowledge test.

If You Are 51 or Older
You are not required to take a training course. However, if you successfully complete a TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training (BRT) course, Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives both the state knowledge and on-cycle skills tests to earn your motorcycle endorsement. Course graduates are also eligible for insurance discounts.

Applicants 51 or older also have the option of successfully completing the TEAM OREGON Intermediate Rider Training (IRT) course. DMV may waive the on-cycle skills test, but you will still be required to take the state knowledge test to earn your license.
Post Tags: New Motorcycle Laws for Oregon, motorcycle license, Team Oregon
Follow on Google Plus Follow Bryan Harley on Google+
Blog Archive
2008
Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec

Login or sign up to comment.