Bike Week Tips - Florida Motorcycle Laws
Monday, February 23, 2009
Bad Boys, Bad Boys, whatcha gonna do - play it smart at Bike Week and don't end up behind bars. Or worse.
For motorcycle riders heading to Daytona Beach for the 68th Annual Bike Week, here's a list of Florida Motorcycle Laws to help everyone out.
We're all adults here, but some of you might need to be reminded - show some courtesy while you're down there. You don't have to rev your pipes every time you get on your bike. Motorcycle sound ordinances haven't been a big issue - yet!! Let's not give 'em reason to make it one.
Keep your wheels on the ground. If you've got to rip off a wheelie, consider this - you get caught, it could cost you up to $1000 for the first offense. So is two seconds of trying to be cool really worth it??
Finally, don't drink and drive. I don't want to have to help scrape anyone off the ground. And there will be checkpoints, so play it smart. If you know you're going to be throwin' down, get a cab or designate a driver.
Hope everyone keeps a cool head and has fun. Let's kick off the 2009 motorcycle rally season with the best Bike Week yet.
Florida Motorcycle Laws
Helmets – not required if you’re over 21, but rider should have a minimum of $10,000 in medical insurance.
Eye Protection is required by law though.
Helmet Speakers – no earphones allowed. Helmet speakers are allowed.
Wheelies – Popping wheelies is punishable by a stiff fine. $1000 for the first offense. Hooligans and stunters need to resist the urge and keep two wheels on the ground or face the long arm of the law. Repeat offenders face the possibility of losing their motorcycle endorsement.
Muffler/Sound Ordinance – No person shall modify the exhaust system in such a manner that the noise emitted is above that created by the original stock pipes. Maximum sound levels (measured at a distance of 50 feet from center line of travel).
Maximum Sound Level –
82 dBA for bikes manufactured before 1/1/79 traveling at 35mph or less. It bumps up to 86 dBA when traveling faster than 35mph.
78 dBA for bikes manufactured after 1/1/79 traveling at 35mph or less and 82 dBA when traveling more than 35mph.
Handlebar Height – Ape Hangers should be no higher than the top of the shoulders of the operator when seated on the motorcycle.
Lane Splitting is a No-No! You can, however, ride two abreast in a single lane.
One motorcycle mirror is required by law.
DUI – Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. Checkpoints will be in place, so if you’re drinking, don’t risk it. Call a cab. A cab ride is much cheaper than a DUI ticket!
Insurance is required!!
Follow Bryan Harley on Google+