Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

450 Motocross

The 450 motocross division is the premier form of motocross racing competition around the world. The AMA Motocross Championship features 450cc dirt bikes from manufacturers with bikes like the Honda CRF450R, Kawasaki
2012 Kawasaki KX450F2012 Suzuki RM-Z450
KX450F, Suzuki RM-Z450, Yamaha YZ450F and KTM 450 SX-F. Since it is the most important MX division, all the manufacturers put the most research and development into their 450 motocross bikes. Fuel injection is the newest technology starting to emerge in 450 Motocross. It is an ever-increasing effort to produce the best motocross results and supercross results possible.

2012 Honda CRF450R2012 KTM 450 SX-F
Racers will contest 12 rounds of the AMA Outdoor Nationals. Each round uses a two-moto format and the combined score will determine which 450 rider is the overall winner. AMA Supercross also uses the 450 class as the main draw for motorcycle racers, enthusiasts and race fans. As riders move up through the amateur ranks and into the professional motocross circuits, the ultimate goal is a 450cc title.
2012 Yamaha YZ450F2012 KTM 350 SX-F

In Europe the FIM Motocross World Championship calls the 450 motocross division MX1. Grand Prix racers contest aboard similar 450cc machines with other brands like Husqvarna motorcycles, TM Racing motorcycles and Aprilia more common. Aprilia motorcycles are the only ones to use a twin-cylinder engine for its motocross bikes.
2012 Husqvarna TC449

Every year the largest and most important dirt bike motorcycle review that MotorcycleUSA does is the 450 Motocross shootout. Some people argue that these bikes are too much for the regular rider, but sales don’t lie and 450 motocross bikes are the most popular models in motorcycle dealers. Many consumers don’t even take them to the motocross track, but there’s nothing else available that produces the same amount of power in such a lightweight package. That’s why 450 motocross bikes will continue to rule the dirt bike roost for a long time.

Motorcycle USA 450 Motocross Shootouts
2012 450 Motocross Shootout
Wednesday, January 04, 2012
The best Japanese and European 450cc motocross dirt bikes square off in MotoUSA’s annual 450 MX comparison.
2011 450 Motocross Shootout
Wednesday, December 22, 2010
We pack together the largest group of open-class motocross bikes in MotoUSA history to see where each one shines and which is the best in the 2011 450 Motocross Shootout.
2010 450 Motocross Shootout
Friday, January 01, 2010
MotoUSA rounds up four of the best open-class motocross bikes on the planet from Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki and KTM for our 2010 450 Motocross Comparison.
2009 450 Motocross Comparison
Monday, November 24, 2008
It's that time again where the metal meets the flesh in our 450 Motocross Comparison. With three EFI machines in the mix, this is one of the most high-tech shootouts in motocross history.
2008 450 Motocross Shootout
Wednesday, April 09, 2008
It took a long time to get dialed in, but the wait was worthwhile after sampling the amazing motorcycles offered in MotoUSA's 2008 450 Motocross Shootout.
2007 450 MX Shootout
Sunday, February 11, 2007
We set out to discover what another 365 days of Darwinian Theory has done to the latest crop of 450 motocross bikes.
2006 450F MX Shootout
Sunday, March 05, 2006
It was a rollercoaster test, but somehow we managed to scrape together the latest 450F offerings and uncover the truth about these monsters.
2005 4-Stroke MX Shootout
Sunday, June 12, 2005
Honda and Yamaha have been on top in the big-bore 4-stroke MX wars of late, but Suzuki joins the party in 2005 with the RM-Z450
2003 4-Stroke Open MX
Friday, February 28, 2003
The 2003 crop of 4-strokes is by far the best set of performance thumpers we've ever test...maybe even the best bikes?
Motorcycle USA 450 Motocross Shootout Winners
2012 - Kawasaki KX450F
2011 - Honda CRF450R
2010 - KTM 450 SX-F
2009 - Kawasaki KX450F
2008 - Honda CRF450R
2007 - Yamaha YZ450F
2006 - Kawasaki KX450F
2005 - Honda CRF450R
2003 - Honda CRF450R

AMA 450 Motocross Champions
2011 - Ryan Villopoto - Kawasaki KX450F
2010 - Ryan Dungey - Suzuki RM-Z450
2009 - Chad Reed - Suzuki RM-Z450
2008 - James Stewart - Kawasaki KX450F
2007 - Grant Langston - Yamaha YZ450F
2006 - Ricky Carmichael - Suzuki RM-Z450
2005 - Ricky Carmichael - Suzuki RM-Z450
2004 - Ricky Carmichael - Honda CRF450

AMA 450 Supercross Champions
2011 - Ryan Villopoto - Kawasaki KX450F
2010 - Ryan Dungey - Suzuki RM-Z450
2009 - James Stewart - Yamaha YZ450F
2008 - Chad Reed - Yamaha YZ450F
2007 - James Stewart - Kawasaki KX450F
2006 - Ricky Carmichael - Suzuki RM-Z450

Dirt Bike Dealerships