450 Motocross

450 Motocross

The 450 motocross division is the premier form of motocross racing competition around the world. The AMA Motocross Championship features 450cc dirt bikes from manufacturers with bikes like the Honda CRF450R, Kawasaki

2012 Kawasaki KX450F2012 Suzuki RM-Z450

KX450F, Suzuki RM-Z450, Yamaha YZ450F and KTM 450 SX-F. Since it is the most important MX division, all the manufacturers put the most research and development into their 450 motocross bikes. Fuel injection is the newest technology starting to emerge in 450 Motocross. It is an ever-increasing effort to produce the best motocross results and supercross results possible.

2012 Honda CRF450R2012 KTM 450 SX-F

Racers will contest 12 rounds of the AMA Outdoor Nationals. Each round uses a two-moto format and the combined score will determine which 450 rider is the overall winner. AMA Supercross also uses the 450 class as the main draw for motorcycle racers, enthusiasts and race fans. As riders move up through the amateur ranks and into the professional motocross circuits, the ultimate goal is a 450cc title.

2012 Yamaha YZ450F2012 KTM 350 SX-F

In Europe the FIM Motocross World Championship calls the 450 motocross division MX1. Grand Prix racers contest aboard similar 450cc machines with other brands like Husqvarna motorcycles, TM Racing motorcycles and Aprilia more common. Aprilia motorcycles are the only ones to use a twin-cylinder engine for its motocross bikes.

2012 Husqvarna TC449

Every year the largest and most important dirt bike motorcycle review that MotorcycleUSA does is the 450 Motocross shootout. Some people argue that these bikes are too much for the regular rider, but sales don’t lie and 450 motocross bikes are the most popular models in motorcycle dealers. Many consumers don’t even take them to the motocross track, but there’s nothing else available that produces the same amount of power in such a lightweight package. That’s why 450 motocross bikes will continue to rule the dirt bike roost for a long time.

Motorcycle USA 450 Motocross Shootouts
Motorcycle USA 450 Motocross Shootout Winners

2012 – Kawasaki KX450F
2011 – Honda CRF450R
2010 – KTM 450 SX-F
2009 – Kawasaki KX450F
2008 – Honda CRF450R
2007 – Yamaha YZ450F
2006 – Kawasaki KX450F
2005 – Honda CRF450R
2003 – Honda CRF450R

AMA 450 Motocross Champions

2011 – Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki KX450F
2010 – Ryan Dungey – Suzuki RM-Z450
2009 – Chad Reed – Suzuki RM-Z450
2008 – James Stewart – Kawasaki KX450F
2007 – Grant Langston – Yamaha YZ450F
2006 – Ricky Carmichael – Suzuki RM-Z450
2005 – Ricky Carmichael – Suzuki RM-Z450
2004 – Ricky Carmichael – Honda CRF450

AMA 450 Supercross Champions

2011 – Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki KX450F
2010 – Ryan Dungey – Suzuki RM-Z450
2009 – James Stewart – Yamaha YZ450F
2008 – Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
2007 – James Stewart – Kawasaki KX450F
2006 – Ricky Carmichael – Suzuki RM-Z450